We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
221 North Gay Street, Baltimore, MD 21202
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown
Professional photosView all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown
Add Photo Write a Review

286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    110
    90
    56
    9
    21
See reviews for
65
64
35
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (286)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (99)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My room was nice and Ready early so i had a early check in and a early check out the next morning.No issues.They Understood i was deaf and they had a room wheel chair accessible and Deaf compatible as well. they have a 7 eleven next door so you can grab things you might need with out going far and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Avoid room in front of the hotel as there is lot of noise from freeway. I had to ask my room to be changed, which they did (Rixa was awesome, with lot of sense of humor, at frontdesk). Breakfast is good. Shuttle is very convenient to reach nearby places. Wifi was really fast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The main thing is the helpfulness of staff and here they were fantastic. Really enjoyed my all too brief stay!! Clean comfortable room, lovely lobby. A GREAT HOTEL!! And at a very reasonable price, do go!! I left something there and they have posted it to me in the UK with great efficiency.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would like to take a second and say that it was cool that I randomly got the same room that I did on my last stay. First off, I would like to thank Rixa for being very ougoing, funny, courteous and a great asset to the HIE hotel. She took the time to do a few extra things to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denham Springs, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was a late add to a live Sports Production crew, and could not book at their chosen hotel. So I booked here at the last minute. There is a 7-11 next door for quick-grab stuff, and a daylight-only cafe across the street. There is no restaurant onsite. But who goes to Crabtown to eat in the hotel? I must... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEBaltimoreDtwn, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Baltimore Downtown for your recent stay in Baltimore and thank you sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time staying with us. Our staff does their best to provide the best comfort for our guests and it is truly happy that... More 

Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a very nice experience staying at this unique hotel. I found it by chance and by chance alone. From the outside it is quite difficult to see. Very few and very little signs is the one and only complaint I could find. The staff was great, especially Bill and Dominic made sure to answer all my questions and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HIEBaltimoreDtwn, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review

Dear holiday64637, We'd like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay! Furthermore, thank you for choosing to stay with us, we are very excited to have had the opportunity for you to find us! Your comments are appreciated and we welcome you back in on your next trip to Baltimore! More 

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room: Clean and Comfortable. Parking: Hotel parking was full - not a problem for us. We parked on the street in front of the hotel (no fee). Building: Beautiful facility. The historical aspect of the hotel was interesting. Some upper, interior rooms face the downstairs lobby. Complimentary shuttle service: Convenient. I'm glad we chose not to drive around. Driving/parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEBaltimoreDtwn, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ty797, Thank you very much for taking the opportunity to share your experience with us and for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Baltimore! We're thrilled to hear you were able to enjoy our complimentary shuttle service and that Dominic was so helpful to you! We sincerely appreciate your comments and will share them with the... More 

Tecumseh, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

My dad made reservations with this hotel confirming we would have a room with double beds as there were 3 of us traveling. After checking in we went to our room to discover there was one bed, and they had made the couch pull out up to resemble a bed. My father is terminally ill with cancer and he was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HIEBaltimoreDtwn, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review

Dear meganwilliams928, We'd like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. On behalf of our entire team, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We hope you will be able to contact us, at your earliest convenience, as we would like to be able... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

I booked this hotel as one of the suggestions for one of the major hospitals in Baltimore as they offer a discount if you are visiting one of the hospitals in Baltimore. When I booked the room, the hotel told me I would have to show proof that I was going to the hospital. Upon check in, the German front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HIEBaltimoreDtwn, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Latexan2, We'd like to thank you for taking the opportunity to share your feedback with us, as this is what gives us the opportunity to enhance our service and build our team. First and foremost, we'd like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experience during your stay and assure you we are taking your comments into serious consideration.... More 

tampa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Ive seen some reviews about location and breakfast. Yeah the location is not great, but it is only a few blocks walk from the harbor. We walked it several times and were never bothered by anyone. The breakfast is fine. Egg, Sausage, pancakes, cinnamon rolls, biscuits and gravy, cereal, fruit, etc.... Not sure why complaints about this, unless you were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review

Dear tampafl813, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are pleased to read that you have regarded our hotel, rooms and breakfast to be nice. However, please accept our sincere apology for the staff's service that fell below your expectations. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Inner Harbor
Days Inn Inner Harbor
Days Inn Inner Harbor
#25 of 61 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#24 of 61 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Downtown
Baltimore Harbor Hotel
Baltimore Harbor Hotel
#37 of 61 in Baltimore
3.5 of 5 stars 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay