We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hotel Limpia

101 Memorial Square, Fort Davis, TX 79734
The Hotel Limpia
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    28
    21
    12
    6
See reviews for
30
42
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (110)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Austin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Limpia for one night on a motorcycle trip through the Davis Mountains. The staff was very friendly and welcoming, and the hotel was very clean, comfortable, and felt like a visit to a time gone by, but with the comforts of today. We highly recommend it and will never stay anywhere else in Fort Davis.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coppell, Texas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a nice spacious room on the back side of the first floor with a private entrance off the back porch. It had a nice clean bathroom and a dated but clean & thoughtful kitchenette. I considered giving them a 5 for the wall mounted wine corkscrew alone. Bars open late around 5:00 and close around 10:00 so if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we stayed three nights in the Limpia and had a very nice room (#20) on the second floor. The bathroom was a bit cramped but ok. There are rocking chairs on both the first and second floor which are great for people watching. We enjoyed our stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
39 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you're en route to the Big Bend or the MacDonald Observatory, the Hotel Limpia is a good place to spend the night. But, if you do, make sure you get a room in the original hotel or in the suites. The annex above some retail stores across the street just doesn't cut it -- squeaky floors, marginal plumbing, upstairs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nacogdoches, TX
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Over Spring Break we took our son and his family to Fort Davis and the Big Bend area. They were completely charmed by the Hotel Limpia and we, again enjoyed being there. We stayed in the suites adjacent to the hotel because of my wife's mobility problems. Our room was elegant, although the bathroom was small and a bit cramped.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

We booked a double room as a family of 5. When we arrived all they had was a single and that was what they gave us. Shower did not work. There are other options in Fort Davis. Take them as the Limpia thinks it's the only game in town and they charge you for it. We complained and they could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Upon arriving, we found out we were across the street at "Limpia West". Old, without being quaint, dirty and terrible service. Our room had not been vacuumed prior to our arrival and if it weren't midnight, would have insisted on it being cleaned. Carpets very dirty and stained. We wore our shoes the whole time we were there. Our last... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David S, Owner at The Hotel Limpia, responded to this review

I apologize for your unsatisfactory stay. Limpia West rooms are our “budget conscious” rooms, but there is no excuse for dirty carpet. Unfortunately, a guest had apparently spilled coffee on the carpet prior to your stay. Because you were here during the busy Spring Break season, we had no opportunity to clean the carpets prior to your stay. They have... More 

San Marcos, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The hotel was recommended by a friend, so we booked a room for 3 nights.. If there had been any nearby vacancies, we would have left after one night. We were in Limpia West, so that might be the problem. Room was tiny with no sitting area or vanity wide enough to use. "Maid service" was awful. Bed covers were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
David S, Owner at The Hotel Limpia, responded to this review

I apologize for your unsatisfactory stay. Limpia West rooms are our “budget conscious” rooms and are what one would expect in a budget motel. We do provide accurate pictures on our website. We provide daily service to your room, but if a “do not disturb” sign is out, we will not enter your room. I am glad that the front... More 

Nijmegen
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We were glad to have a room here (the last one), booked on the spot (lots of bikers here) because we decided at the last moment to go to the star party at the McDonald observatory. The building is a historic marker, turned into a charming historic hotel with lovely rooms, all different furnished (the rooms we could see) in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
el paso, texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Though this the hotel has been updated a couple times since I first visited about 20 yrs ago, it retains historic charm. Beautiful old bldg with a sun porch full of games and comfortable chairs. It's adjoined by a good restaurant (it didn't used to be very good but the new owners seem to take food a lot more seriously... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities