We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stars Rest Inn

510 Lane Avenue South, Jacksonville, FL 32254 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Jacksonville)
Hotel amenities
Stars Rest Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #116 of 130 Hotels in Jacksonville
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    5
    2
    5
    20
See reviews for
2
6
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 via mobile

This MOTEL was horrible. I will never stay there again. Sheets were itchy the whole place smelt like mildew. Burn holes on the comforter no ceiling fan or any additional lighting. The shower was nasty and dirty and showered with sandals on. An absolutely horrible experience. At least there was decent cable channels.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dev S, General Manager at Stars Rest Inn, responded to this review

Hello Xoo_honestly, Thank you for your review. We apologize that your stay was not more pleasurable. We have been working to complete extensive renovations to our rooms and provisions for a more comfortable stay. Our commitment to our guests is that we will do the best of our ability to provide a nice, clean, and worry-free environment. We hope you... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

Sorry is ready send a lot of people have died there you may get a room with somebody had died cockroaches all over the place hotel is terrible I would never stay there again not a prostitution a lot of drugs

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dev S, General Manager at Stars Rest Inn, responded to this review

Hello Warren190, We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We strive to do everything in our power to provide a safe and inviting environment for all of our guests, and we do provide on-site security. Additionally, to the best of our knowledge, no one has passed away under our management at our facility, and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Jacksonville hotels

Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Don't stay here! The room have a very dirty odors smell. It's like a run down motel at the most. There're ways too much to be mention and not enough time to describe. I would not stay here ever again. Double thumbs down!! It really is a truck stop. It better if stay next door in Knights Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dev S, General Manager at Stars Rest Inn, responded to this review

Hello Anh V, We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. While we do provide amenities to trucker drivers, safety is our top priority. Also, we have been doing renovations to our rooms and facilities and hope this will provide a more inviting atmosphere to our guests. Given these positive changes, please allow us the... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

This should be called Truckers Rest Inn. Its basically a truck stop. They have a cafe but there's tables, chairs and no staff or food. Coffee pot? No. Iron? No. Mini fridge? Yes with 4 inches of ice. It must be horrible weather in Florida because my tv is full of snow/static. Internet? I can't find any signal. Towels? 3... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dev S, General Manager at Stars Rest Inn, responded to this review

Hello blurose64, Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that your stay was not more pleasurable. While we do provide amenities to trucker drivers, we are family oriented and do everything in our power to provide a safe environment for all of our patrons. We have also been upgrading and renovating our facilities and provisions for... More 

Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014 via mobile

the room was terrible, except for the fridge the room was not clean at all. The ceiling was falling down, marks all over the walls, broken bed, nasty comforter, stinky, terrible a/c and heat, tv broken. I won't make this mistake again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dev S, General Manager at Stars Rest Inn, responded to this review

Hello drivitlkustoleit, We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. As part of our commitment to our patrons, we have been undergoing many positive changes to address issues such as you mentioned. We want all of our guests to enjoy the utmost comfort during their stay, and hope you will revisit us so we may provide... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014 via mobile

My family and myself house burnt and we couldn't find any help because we don't have children. So we had to find something kinda cheap for 2 weeks. The outside looks great but I come in and there is a big slash on the wall with bugs coming in and out . the room smells of mildew and cat piss.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Dev S, General Manager at Stars Rest Inn, responded to this review

Hello Rayne G, We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not more positive, especially due to your circumstances. Our rooms have been undergoing many upgrades and repairs to provide a more inviting setting. We strive for a safe and friendly atmosphere, and do have security on site to enforce this. We hope you will give us... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Booked room online, arrived Friday night, room requested not available, the king room was not cleaned properly, empty bottle on nightstand, used soap in shower, staff tried to put me in smaller room, refused it, went out to dinner while room being cleaned, card key not working after several reissue, middle of night they rent my room to someone else... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Dev S, Manager at Stars Rest Inn, responded to this review

Hello miikel32210, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not more pleasurable. We have been updating our key system to prevent access issues such as the ones you encountered. Our focus is to provide a safe and secure environment for all of our guests. We take pride in our staff and... More 

Stone Mountain, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

This place is worse than a dump! There is mold, mildew and bugs all over the rooms! The first room I was given room 321 had a man in his boxers laying on the bed when I opened the door! The second room, room 324, had mold, mildew, roaches alive and dead in the refrigerator! The bathtub faucet could not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dev S, Manager at Stars Rest Inn, responded to this review

Hello treeday55555, We are sorry to hear of your negative experience. We take pride in our staff and will address the miscommunications you encountered as well as the housekeeping issues you mentioned. We have been doing many repairs and upgrades and welcome you to give us another opportunity to serve you. More 

Loxahatchee, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Unfriendly staff. Scary area. Scary people living there. Roaches. Uncomfortable beds. Pillows? Run down. Musty stench. Paid for 2 nights online; left after 1 night. Refused to refund the 2nd night even though we checked out first thing in the morning around 8am. Told me since I paid online I would have to go thru them to be refunded, even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dev S, General Manager at Stars Rest Inn, responded to this review

Hi Ladora C, I am very sorry to hear of your negative experience. We take great pride in our staff and our service dedicated to the customer. We will investigate these issues and make the neccessary amends. Thank you for your reiew. Dev S. More 

Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Non smoking room was smokey, bathroom was dirty, shady characters out in front. Cheap, but maybe not worth the 10-15 bucks you save. I'd keep driving a little further and go to a more recognizable place. Breakfast was said to be 'included', but in fact it's 2.99, not that it's a big deal, but advertising is a bit off.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dev S, Manager at Stars Rest Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jake, Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear of your negative experience. We greatly apologize for the smoky feeling in your room. I want you to know we are very strict on our patrons to respect and maintain the smoking or non smoking status of the room as well as inspect and correct possible damages... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
12.8 mi away
Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites - Jacksonville
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Jacksonville I-295
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
#13 of 130 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
10.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Jacksonville - Southpoint
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn I-10 West Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay