We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Round Top Campground

180 Knight Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Round Top Campground
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    16
    20
    18
See reviews for
44
15
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

The staff was really nice when we checked in and the cable tv was good. However that is about all of the positives. Our experience was very disappointing, especially after reading all the other good reviews. The majority of the campers were semi/permanent stay and it felt more like a mobile home park than a campground. Unfortunately, some of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centerburg, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

We rented the "Park Model" unit for our family after looking at photos on the website. This is a total sham for $200 per night. It is a very small unit, the heater was like a jet engine and the water was out half the night. The toilet is a travel trailer toilet (the unit appears to be a small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RTCM, General Manager at Round Top Campground, responded to this review

Dear Mark, it is truly unfortunate that this is the selected forum to vent an understandable frustration at the issues you list above. Furthermore it so disappointing for us to have only learned of these claims after both your forms of credit to satisfy your account balance were declined. We certainly can imagine how uncomfortable this must have been. More 

Travelers are raving about these Gettysburg hotels

Smithsburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We recently purchased our first travel trailer and wanted to get in a weekend trip before winter. Called Round Top and they got us right into a great spot in a quiet part of the park, Devils Den or something like that. Check-In was easy, staff was really friendly, site was clean. Even though it rained a bit, the canopy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RTCM, Manager at Round Top Campground, responded to this review

Hi BlickBrats-We're so glad to see that you had such a good experience at one of our Halloween Weekends! We hope you have an opportunity to return! We have planned activities, crafts and events each week throughout our main season April through October. Have Happy Thanksgiving! Hope to see you in 2015. More 

Mount Forest, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We just returned from 6 nights staying at a loft/cottage and it was great. Everything is clean, staff are friendly. We stayed here 3 years ago and I was reading some negative reviews on here before we went. We enjoyed it and was a great time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

So my wife read all sorts of negative reviews of Round Top Campground - especially about site 52 - which is where we were slated for the 4th of July weekend. I called a few times and spoke to the manager, and she assured me that everything would be okay. I chose not to dwell on the negative reviews -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RTCM, Manager at Round Top Campground, responded to this review

Dear Bob- thank you for taking time to post comments on your recent stay with us. Our Devils Den area is beautiful but as noted a few of the sites are more difficult to get into. So glad we were able to make an adjustment and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that future visits to Gettysburg... More 

Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
22 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Spouse heard the campground stopped allowing "Re Enactors" to camp here, so we foolishly booked without confirming this with the office. July 4 weekend - today is July 5 was plagued with the sound of gunfire several times each day. Naps were interrupted, baby cried and the pets were terrified. Unsure why a campground believes it is appropriate to permit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RTCM, Manager at Round Top Campground, responded to this review

Thank you, for taking time to reflect on your experience over our July 4th weekend. I see this is your third review of our location, each during the July anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg. We certainly regret that you did not experience the tranquility of a rural campground. Our location on Round Top which is part of the battlefield... More 

Neversink, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in Cottage 15. I have to be fair and say that I did not complain and give them a chance to correct, but this is what we experienced: the cottage had a terrible mildew smell the cottage was not properly cleaned the oven was dirty and smoked profusely when turned on (requiring us to scrap... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RTCM, Manager at Round Top Campground, responded to this review

Thank you Amy for taking time to comment on your recent stay. We did receive your comments at the time of your departure. As addressed in email letter to you on July 2nd we were very disappointed and sorry to hear about the spill that was not addressed in the oven as well as the candy strips under the platform... More 

Alliance, OH
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed in a cottage (#6) June 15 -18, 2014. I found the cottage to be clean and well equipped, though I do have to agree with a previous review that stated that the double mattress in the back bedroom needs to be replaced -- it is bowed in the middle and pretty uncomfortable if you have 2 sleeping. For... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

All in all it was a pleasant trip. Aside from the super tight turn at site 52. That's were they placed us. 30ft slide with a excursion tv. Super tight. No room for awning. Above ground septic created a challenge to get camper to drain. Saw 4 TT rip there sides off on the tree in front of our spot.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RTCM, Manager at Round Top Campground, responded to this review

Thank you Matt for taking time to alert us to your experience. Apart from the tight fit into our campsite I'm glad to hear overall that you did enjoy our sellout Memorial Weekend. I'm at a loss regarding accidents or damage to vehicles and/or campers. In the rare occasion a camper has an accident on property we are always notified.... More 

Littlestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

In 2013 we returned to Roundtop after not camping there in 5 years. We were pleasantly surprised so much that we camped three more times there that summer. The staff are very nice and you are treated like part of the family. Even the seasonal campers are friendly and treat you as one of them. Positives include close to Route... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities