We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard West Orange

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
8 Rooney Circle, West Orange, NJ 07052
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard West Orange
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    39
    35
    8
    11
See reviews for
39
20
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (128)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Of the Marriott properties, the Courtyard's appear to be the most variable in terms of facilities, amenities and overall experience. While the service was good, this is an older property; the lobby area appeared dark, the floors, elevator and carpeted areas were worn, as was the furniture in the room. Additionally all the linen appeared thin and somewhat worn including... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard S, General Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this review

Dear fitfunfab, I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations and make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in... More 

Battle Ground, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel, while older, really did an phenomenal job of caring for its guests during the recent snow storm. Everyone of the staff that I encountered were friendly, helpful and welcoming. This was especially true of Ana and Josie in the Cafe and Ron in Maintenance. They truly went above and beyond the call of duty on multiple occassions to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard S, General Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this review

Dear LJClose, Thank you so much for your review. Feedback is always welcome and appreciated. Those snow storms were definitely challenging for the hotel and staff. I am glad that we were able to make sure that you and our other guests were taken care of. That's what we are here for. I hope you will be able to visit... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at this Courtyard several times now for business, and I have very mixed feelings about the property. The service is outstanding - front desk, staff at the bistro, everyone I have encountered. They even cleaned the cars in the parking lot after a snow storm! The hotel is also very clean. However, I can't overlook that I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard S, General Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this review

Dear hginphl, Thank you very much for your honest review. Feedback such as yours helps us to improve our service and facilities. I have passed your comments along to my maintenance staff to see if we can get to the cause of the clicking heating units. I hope to have an answer before your next visit. I have also spoken... More 

Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

All in all it was a great stay. Our only issues were that there were no instructions on how to regulate the room temperature. This was the 1st hotel that I stayed in as long as I can remember that did not have 24 x 7 Coffee Service. It seemed like the hotel wanted to make sure people bought The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard S, General Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this review

Dear brusol, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you chose us to stay with while you were in town. My apologies for any inconvenience with our heating system. We are actually installing a wireless system that will help our guets regulate their rooms more efficiently and more easily. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel and initially dreaded the thought of being in a hotel for the next 20 days. Upon my arrival, I knew that this just might be a pleasant experience when I was greeted by and checked in by Valrie. She went above and beyond to deliver exceptional service and truly epitomizes hotel hospitality. Valrie alone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Howard S, General Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this review

Dear AudreyM, Thank you very much for your review. We always appreciate it when guests take the time to let us know how we are doing. Thank you for mentioning the great job Valerie did. I will certainly pass this along to her. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our housekeeping service. I will speak with my... More 

Clarksburg, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Having stayed in many Courtyards over the years, I have to say this is one of the best!! Most Courtyards give you nothing extra for your dollar. No coffee in the lobby or anything else. We stay here when we go to the Lobster Buffet at the Manor and this hotel has been quite different. On both of our stays,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard S, General Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this review

Dear BCM1225, Thank you so much for your review. We always appreciate it when guests take the time to let us know how we are doing. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will again in the future. Have a wonderful holiday season and a very Happy New Year. More 

West Orange
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

I stay at this hotel quite frequently and I would highly recommend this property to weary travelers. It is a very cost effective option even for people traveling into NYC. The staff is always helpful and courteous. They check you in quickly, direct you to your room, offer restaurant suggestions, dry cleaners etc...Mary, a really terrific great Guest Service Agent,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard S, General Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this review

Dear Charles W, Thank you so much for your review! We are glad that you are one of our many regulars. We try our best to make this a home away from home for all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Central PA.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here one night prior to an open house visit at Seton Hall University. We arrived around 8:30 p.m. after a long day of driving and were anxious to rest and relax. Check in was fast and easy and we went up to our room on the 3rd floor. It was an adjoining room and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard S, General Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this review

Dear MaggieMay16801, Thank you so much for your review! I am glad that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay. I was also glad to see that we were quick to resolve the issue you encountered. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Manlius, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I am basing this on the fact that I only stay at Marriott properties because I like consistency and usually don't have any horrible stays - This courtyard is just okay. The walls are so thin, that is what I hate the most about older/cheaper hotels. We could hear the family next to us like they were in our room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard S, General Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this review

Dear Nancy1092, Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We always appreciate it when guests take the time to give us feedback. I apologize that your impressions of the hotel were less than stellar. We pride ourselves on our customer service and it was surprising that our staff was not as responsive as I know they can be.... More 

West Orange, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Mary was working at the front desk alone because it was getting late and the staff was reduced. I needed help with a few documents that were not printing in the business office. I walked up to find Mary being harassed by a potential guest because this woman was on hold for more than a minute. What the person on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard S, General Manager at Courtyard West Orange, responded to this review

Dear Mark A, Thank you so much for your review! I always appreciate it when a guest takes time to let me know how we are doing. Thank you for recognizing Mary. She is one of my stand out associates and your comments were spot on about her. I also want to thank you for comments about what happened during... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question