We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West

3.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
4010 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #54 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Stephanie P
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    161
    89
    37
    28
See reviews for
120
71
52
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (418)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (144)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (110)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This location was central for our needs. There were plenty of places to eat in the immediate area. Also a Target to pick up incedentals. The staff was friendly. The rooms were decent as well. Nice stay for the price. Wifi was a little slow but IT was coming in to check on it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Addy M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Philadelphia. Our team is pleased that we were able to provide you with such an enjoyable stay. We hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again! More 

Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is not up to date. Even the phone in the room was outdated. The room was clean and bed was soft. The hotels location is good for families going to the please touch museum but not downtown into philly as you'll have to be in traffic on 76! The pool is a nice bonus here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Addy M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West. We are pleased to share that we are in the planning phase of an entire property renovation. We hope you and your family will be able to join us again to enjoy the new product when it is completed. More 

Williamsville, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were coming to town to celebrate a birthday and needed a place to crash for a few days. This Crowne Plaza was recommended and seeing that I am a IHG member, thought we would give it a shot. We got a very fair price with the senior citizen discount and then were upgraded due to my platinum membership with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Addy M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure having you with us for your birthday celebration. Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay. Our team is always eager to be of service, and Joy and Gary are both valued members of our team who will be recognized for their efforts. We truly appreciate your recommendation, and we hope... More 

Jamestown, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights and had room service dinner once and breakfast twice, because our schedule was crazy. It was wonderful food, and the price was amazing. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly, and we had no complaints whatsoever. It was very easy to get to from DC, and it was easy to head north to NY... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Addy M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Philadelphia. Our staff is always eager to introduce our guests to the city. I have shared your comments about the food with our chef and his team. Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We hope to have you back soon to see more... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family (my sister my kids ages 12 and 3 and myself) stayed at the Crowne Friday and sat night Friday check in went smooth until we reached the room and the bed was blood stained finally we were moved to another room less smelly and no stains on the bed so that was nice. All until my kids wanted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Addy M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay. I would like to apologize that it was not the relaxing experience you had anticipated. At Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West we do not tolerate stains on our linens, and our Director of Housekeeping has already addressed that situation with the staff involved. We hold our... More 

Lititz, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza the night before an early 5K at the nearby Fairmount Park, hoping to get a good night's rest before the race. When we got to our room we were surprised (and disgusted) to find pink silly string on the ceiling. Who knows how long that had been there (?). The bathroom door wouldn't close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Addy M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I would like to personally apologize that it was so disappointing for you. Our team is always eager to listen to the feedback of our guests regardless of that feedback, and we would have appreciated the opportunity to make things right for you. I have... More 

Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A really nice place to stay mid-way between center city and the King of Prussia and Valley Forge areas. Convenient to Manayunk restaurants, too. A clean comfortable roon with friendly staff, all at a very reasonable price. Free WiFi but a VERY heavily chlorinated indoor pool. Not much to look at, but we've stayed here a few times and would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Addy M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for letting us know about your experience with us. Our team was happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. We do monitor the pool chemicals throughout the day, and I have notified our Director of Engineering about your experience in the pool so he can look into what occurred. We truly appreciate having... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently visited a relative at St. Joseph's University & stayed at the Crowne Plaza for one night. Pros: Really good location, close to the university, Philly, shopping & food. Free parking. Keurig in room. Lobby area looked nice and the staff all friendly. We checked in late-ish and left very early, so we never saw the pool or gym, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Addy M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Philadelphia. It is always a pleasure having our Saint Joseph's families with us. I would like to personally apologize for your experience. Our property is 100% non-smoking, and we do have a security team on property 24 hours a day ready to address any smoking concerns. Any... More 

New York
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
34 hotel reviews
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

No, it is not as fancy as the Hilton but the service is much much better and the parking is free and super convenient. You will spend $30 a day to valet park at the Hilton. The gym is smaller, but everything works. You can hotwire the hotel - there are only two choices in this area, Hilton and Crowne... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Addy M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us during you visit to the area. We are so pleased we are able to be of service. Our team is always dedicated to ensure that all of our guests' needs are met, and we hope to have you back with us soon! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

I enjoyed my 2 day personal stay here. The room was clean, the heat was excellent, the staff was extremely helpful and the Room Service was outstanding. Cons: One of the Double Beds Broke (but I was able to just sleep on the other bed) This hotel was a bit pricey (but I snagged it at $109 per night) but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Addy M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Our team is thrilled that you enjoyed your visit with us. We always strive to make each guest's stay special. I have shared your comments about the Room Service with our chef and his team. I would like to apologize that you had difficulties with the bed. We want everything to be comfortable, and our team is here,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question