We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West

3.5 of 5 4010 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    152
    87
    36
    24
See reviews for
111
68
51
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (399)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (144)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (110)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Jersey City, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my second visit here for business. Very convenient, well-located, and worth the price. Front desk staff is very friendly and welcoming. Rooms are very clean and beds are super comfortable. Almost certain to revisit this location as I have another few meetings in the area in 2015.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Addy M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us during your business trip. Our team is eager to give every guest a warm and comfortable experience. We are looking forward to having you back with us next year. Have an enjoyable holiday! More 

Pa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well filthy room. Bathtub so dirty I ran hot water to sterilize it. Sink so slow to drain, my husband had to wait 10 minutes for it to drain. The bed was comfortable, but there was no way to direct the air away from our heads. And no way to shut fan off. After moving the couch to block it,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Addy M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time for letting us know about your stay. We were distressed to hear about your experience. Such a situation is unacceptable, and is not typical of the service we provide at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West. Our Director of Housekeeping is addressing the issue of the room cleanliness with those involved, and our Director... More 

Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First off, let me say I did not actually stay at this hotel, however I had an excellent experience with this property. I travel on business frequently. This past week, I was going to Philadelphia. When I booked my travel, I selected this property for a discounted, non-refundable rate. Low and behold, I found out the day before I traveled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Addy M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Bryan, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience. Brian and the rest of our team strive to ensure our guests' satisfaction in every interaction. We are glad that we were able to be of service, and we hope that you do have the opportunity to visit us in the future. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

City line and Schuylkill location excellent at this dated hotel. Staff is helpful and rooms are functional. We had heater and elevator problems as were there for a wedding block one night. Suggest wait until the hotel is renovated in 2015 before booking as it is in sad shape.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Addy M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Joseph, Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Philadelphia. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel convenient, and our staff is always eager to be of service. I would like to apologize for the difficulties you experienced with the heat and the elevator. We keep a maintenance staff on duty, and they are... More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed on the Executive Floor to get the frig and microwave at an additional cost. In addition, room with full hot breakfast was pricey ($293) for one Saturday night (11/22/14). There are state, city and local fees. They did allow early and late check-in/out. The room was very nice, spacious with king bed and bed and pillows very comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Addy M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay. I would like to apologize for your experience with the hot water. We did have a mechanical issue with one of our boilers the weekend that you were with us. . We understand how difficult this was for our guests. It was an unexpected outage,... More 

PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Because we ere in Philly for an intense weekend workshop, we never left the hotel. The staff is very, very helpful and warm. The restaurant is exceptionally good with very reasonable prices. If on business, I would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CPCA4100, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Philadelphia. We are so happy to be of service and will be sharing your kind comments with our team. We certainly hope you will have the opportunity to come see us again in the future. More 

Oreland, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

They are just awful..... do not waste your time trying to work with them on your wedding room block. I am an event planner in the Philadelphia area and have given plenty of business to this hotel, especially during the busy wedding seasons. Then it came time for my own sister to get married and I suggested that she block... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CPCA4100, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, As with most hotels, our discount and group rates are based upon availability and typically are not available during periods of high occupancy. Our room block contracts have a clearly stated cut-off date that guests must make reservations by. After that cut-off date, any future reservations are based on hotel availability. Since your sister's wedding is taking place... More 

Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

I was in town for my mother's funeral and booked two rooms for 3 nights from Hotwire. They were both clean and comfortable. The mattresses were good. I needed an additional pull out which was a nominal additional charge, but because they initially couldn't find my already booked 2nd room, they didn't charge for the pull out. The pull out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CPCA4100, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We are pleased to be of service during such a hard time. I have alerted my Director of Housekeeping to your concern regarding the mattresses on the sofa bed, and he will be reviewing the product. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope we can be of... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The Staff at the Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Our room was clean and well appointed, located on the women's only section. Housekeeping was hit and miss during my recent visit and was the only "service" to let down this hotel. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of options and great fresh omelettes, evening dinner was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CPCA4100, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Linda, Thank you for your recommendation. It is always a pleasure having guests return to stay with us. Our staff is always eager to assist our guests, and we are pleased that we were able to give you a warm and comfortable experience. I have shared your comments regarding housekeeping with our Director of Housekeeping, and he will be... More 

Millersville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 days while in Philadelphia on a personal matter. The room was clean and spacious. The bed was super comfortable. The staff were helpful and courteous. I thought the restaurant was very good and I had one of the best Philly cheese steak sandwiches ever. They have a Happy Hour from 4:30 PM to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CPCA4100, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Miller, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Our team is always pleased to be of assistance, and I have shared your comments regarding the food with your chef. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our city's signature sandwich and sincerely thank you for staying with us during your trip... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West

Address: 4010 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay