We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 26 Philadelphia B&Bs / inns

Silverstone Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Silverstone Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
8840 Stenton Avenue, Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA 19118
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (70)
  • Photos (12)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Silverstone Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 26 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    5
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
26
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We did not stay at this place. We booked 2 days in advance for 2 nights and needed to cancel our stay only 12 hours later. The owner insisted in charging one night on the credit card, arguing she is a family-run business that needs to survive. In general I understand that if we were blocking a room, which she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aldek, Owner at Silverstone Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Our automatic reaction to charge a person who canceled reservation two days before the arrival date was not right in this particular case. Even though our written policy states that we charge for late cancelation, this time we agree with the author of the complain that because she called to reserve the room five days prior to the arrival, iit... More

Napa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I found the Silverstone "by accident" due to our procrastination in finding accommodations for a recent convention. How fortunate for us! The Silverstone is as lovely and gracious as it's owners, Rom and Yolanta. The home is spacious, clean and comfortable with wonderful architectural details. The guest rooms are quite large and the Tempurpedic bed in our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ottawa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed at this property while on a workshop for 6 nights. I found the accommodation to be clean, well appointed and the overall ambiance to be like stepping back into time. The four poster bed in the room was just perfect. The owners were very welcoming and did their best to ensure that it felt like to to myself... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We give five stars to the Silverstone. The inn keepers are gracious and fascinating. They're from Poland (30 years ago) and are passionate experts on the history of Poland and Ukraine. They are great conversationalists. Huge rooms, very elegant, up to date on all modern amenities in a 175 year old mansion. Delicious breakfast. Easy walk to Septa train into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Having been to so many similar places all over the world, I can state with conviction that the place has a unique ambience and the friendliness of the hosts is unparalleled. Rom's breakfast omelettes are legendary. Andrew

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pennington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great victorian home tastefully decorated. All the amenities in a beautiful setting. We slept in a room which has a tempurpedic mattress which first felt weird but turned out to be very comfortable. Rooms are full of antiques and old family portraits. Hosts were very nice, it felt as if staying with family. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Staying at the Silverstone B and B is a treat which we were lucky enough to enjoy this past week. Located in the historic and beautiful Chestnut Hill area of Philadelphia, the home is a great blend of Victorian charm and modern comforts. We arrived on a snowy evening and had no trouble reaching it; all was shoveled clear. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I and my brother recently visited family in Chestnut Hill, PA and had the pleasure of staying at the Silverstone B & B. The accommodations were outstanding and the owners very friendly and very attentive. The home itself was something out of history and the breakfast was made to order and delicious. I felt as if we were staying with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

It's a beautiful place, very nice looking house and quite nice rooms too. Location is good, easy to find, ample parking. The room we had was ok, with our own bathroom, it was all clean and ready for us when we arrived except that it was probably 10° C inside... (nobody actually met us, we were given the outside door... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I had a two day stay at the Silverstone Bed & Breakfast and were disappointed by the experience after reading the bulk of the reviews here. I will start with the positive. We were allowed to pick out our room as the Silverstone was not fully booked. Though the room and bath were not overly inviting, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Yolantaroman, Owner at Silverstone Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Because our guests were not happy with our service, we credited them for one night stay. However, we would like to add some explanation: Our guests have their own, fully-equiped kitchen. We usually ask them to clean this kitchen after their use, and most of them do it. If they do not clean after cooking – and sometimes they cook... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Silverstone Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Silverstone Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverstone Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8840 Stenton Avenue, Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, PA 19118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Philadelphia with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Silverstone Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer