We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

2.5 of 5 100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 20%!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    114
    41
    23
    8
See reviews for
83
78
10
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (279)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (97)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Ottawa, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Luke warm water in the shower. Noisy, unfortunately our floor (7th) was the same as the interstate and it was loud. Breakfast was fill of choices. Room was smaller than most $120 rooms. The $25 parking was worth while as after we checked out we were able to walk and sightsee without more parking charges, good location for that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had a pretty average experience at the hotel. During check-in the woman was talking to several people at once and apologized and said they'd only charge me for one parking pass. I thought that was great- I hadn't asked or complained in any way. Get my credit card bill- they charged me for both parking passes. I call to complain... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelly R, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review

Dear sc79226, Thank you very much for telling us about your stay. I apologize for the customer service you experienced. This is not how our employees are trained and not how we pride ourselves. To investigate this further, please contact me at the hotel directly 215-627-7900. I would like some more information. Hope to hear from you soon! Kelly Ryder... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Tasha Davis is a great person. I will like to thank her for all her service's and taking care of my family and I. The hotel is nice and clean. The first night with all the great staff was awesome. They made us feel welcomed and ensured that we were getting the best service that they could offer. The next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelly R, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review

Dear Kjefferson04, Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Also, thank you for recognizing Tosha! She is such a great asset to our team. I really appreciate you mentioning the staff. They honestly always try to do their very best. I apologize for the issues you had with the smoking on the floor. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel... More

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

upon arriving to the parking lot we was hit with a $25 fee for overnight parking which I thought was excessive. My room was spacious and was very neat until my girlfriend found hair in the bathtub. The bus shuttle did not work for us so we had to pay for parking everywhere we went in the historic district. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelly R, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review

Dear MyJourney1234, Thank you very much for posting a review! We apologize for the parking fees and any inconvenience it may have caused you. I will relay your concerns to the housekeeping manager. We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast! Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope you come back and give us another chance... More

East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband had to have surgery in Philly, which is why we were there. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for 3 days and 3 nights. Our experience was AMAZING! I had to change our reservation to check-in the night before my husbands surgery. When I called, I spoke with Kim, who was more than willing to accommodate my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelly R, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review

Dear slmslf, We cannot thank you enough for leaving such a heartfelt review. We are thrilled that we were able to accommodate your request. I am absolutely speechless. I am so happy that the staff took such good care of you! Our shuttle service is such a great thing that we offer, especially for people who are not from the... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ken did such a good job driving us wherever we wanted to go around the city. He truly made staying at the hotel worthwhile! Thank you Ken. We stayed at the hotel this year for my graduation. All other hotels were booked, but Ken made it easy to get around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelly R, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review

Dear bree_zpeezy, Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience. We are so happy that the staff made things easier for you! We cannot wait to welcome you back in the future. Kelly Ryder Front Desk Supervisor More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family of 5 booked two rooms at the Holiday Inn Express at Penn's Landing Philadelphia on November 6, 2014. The hotel and rooms were nice but at 11 PM I found a bed bug crawling on me while I was laying in bed. We called the front desk and they sent the maintenance man, Alex, who confirmed that it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kelly R, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review

Dear jennifer p, On behalf of the entire team I would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. To investigate this further, we would like some more information from you. I invite you to call the hotel directly and speak to our assistant general manager Andrew Harris. Our number is 215-627-7900 we look forward to... More

Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is well located 10 minutes walk from centre of the historic area. However, rear rooms overlook I-95 and are noisy. Although room was spacious and well presented, the air conditioner/heating unit in our room was very noisy when starting and stopping. Had to turn it off at night in order to sleep, but then the traffic noise took over!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelly R, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review

Dear TravellerTerry66, Thank you very much for staying with us and providing feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you. I will be sure to relay all information to the proper departments so the issues do not happen in the future. We are very happy to hear that you were able to use the shuttle, it is... More

Morris County, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our stay was very pleasant from the beginning. The staff was extremely accommodating. The room was clean, the coffemaker made great coffee. We were there only for one night and to see some of the historical places, the lady staff at the front desk suggested us to take this tour bus company which turned out to be a great idea,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelly R, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review

Dear KarenM C, Thank you so much for such a great review! We appreciate you for mentioning the staff, they are what make this hotel operate. They try so hard each day to make sure everyone is comfortable and satisfied. The sightseeing tour is such a great value and I am very happy you were able to experience it. I... More

Atlanta
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel itself is nice, the rooms are clean, breakfast in the morning was convenient. When I checked in, I was waiting at the desk for almost a minute while Sheday (not sure of the spelling) finished her text message or facebook post on her phone and greeted me as I was interrupting her. I was issued my room and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kelly R, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing, responded to this review

Dear fashnmodl, Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. On behalf of the entire team I would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you. Our goal is to provide exceptional customer service and we are deeply saddened when it is not provided. We appreciate your honest feedback and this incident will be followed... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing

Address: 100 North Christopher Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown/Historic Area Hotel Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Philadelphia
Comfort Inn Hotel Downtown Philadelphia
Philadelphia Comfort Inn

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay