We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
201 North 17th Street, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,951 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed here on two separate occasions in the past few months and both experiences have been great. My room was clean and comfortable both times with a great view of downtown Philadelphia. You can't beat the location of this hotel. There are so many great attractions within walking distance. Only complaint was that we wished the pool area... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
Suwanee, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location is great. I would want to be here during spring to enjoy the traditions closer to this area. A daily visit to the basilica would be awesome. But weather is horrible this month so I am not feeling this is the right time. As far as the hotel goes, in tune with my title, what more can you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike N
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown hotel for a conference in early December 2015. My room (#905) had bedbugs, and the staff were very accommodating at the time and moved me to another room (#1524). They offered to have my belongings cleaned and sent to me, and they did do that. I followed up with them after my stay,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melanie H
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Unfortunately I have stayed here many times in the last couple years and each time has been the same experience, but this time I decided to take pictures. Carpets are stained and buckling, holes all over walls, stained mattresses (which are NOT Sheraton's Sweet Sleeper beds as you can see in the photo), dust balls hanging off the smoke detector.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
MarshaRay, General Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathy O, We appreciate you taking the time to answer our survey. Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you suffered during your recent visits to our hotel. The situations you have mentioned are disturbing and very disappointing. The Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown has discussed these incidents and have taken distinct measures resolve these deficiencies. Thank you for bringing these issues... More 

Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I was recently at the hotel staying with another chaperone and 40 students. We were there for the Model UN convention. The place was packed! While my patience ran very thin dealing with tons of teenagers, I was shocked at how patient the staff was with the teens. And beyond that, they were absolutely wonderful to the chaperones. There are... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarbear1443
MarshaRay, General Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff provided you with exceptional service. I will share your wonderful comments with our staff members you mentioned. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to having you as our guests again in the near future! Marsha Ray,... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Before I arrived, I contacted the hotel to express the purpose of this family trip. The representative in the front desk kindly arranged a 2-bed room in higher floor with a wonderful view in the central area of Philadelphia. The concierge, John, was enthusiastic to prepare cakes and a bottle of white wine to give us surprises. So impressive were... More 

Helpful?
Thank 凱文羅
MarshaRay, General Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, and I am so glad to hear that John took great care of you, he truly is a star! We look forward to welcoming you back More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We only stayed for 1 night but I would stay at this hotel again. Staff was nice, beds were comfortable, and bathroom was clean. There was no mini fridge though so we couldn't keep our drinks cold. Parking garage was a little expensive I thought ($20) for a guest of the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Jillian D
MarshaRay, General Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a great review, yes, our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds are exquisite. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is within walking distance to some good shopping and fair eats. It's very much a convention hotel, though, without a lot of plush perks. The room I stayed in on the 5th floor felt like an upgraded motel room. Decent place without any frills. Checking in took 3 hours, because the management was overwhelmed by the conference. Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heathwake
MarshaRay, General Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of our Hotel, but very disappointed that you had such a poor check in experience, as well as an unpleasant visit in our Restaurant. The check-in process should be a seamless one, and we do often receive great comments for our breakfast buffet, so I am so sorry to... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ridiculous. Tons of floors just had all their room keys be deactivated and stop working. Everybody was just sitting in the hallway waiting and waiting. The lobby was flooded with hundreds upon hundreds of people seeking new keys.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rylan M
MarshaRay, General Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for posting your review. I am so sorry to hear that you encountered such significant key issues while our guest. We did have a power issue which likely caused the keys to de-activate, as this is certainly not the norm. I do hope that you will give us another chance to win back your loyalty, and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

409 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (399)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (117)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (117)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#12 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay