We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 82 Philadelphia hotels

Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 North 17th Street, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
58%
Ranked #50 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Mark D
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    483
    348
    181
    142
See reviews for
254
294
98
557
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1523)
  • Mar-May only
    (352)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (451)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (439)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (281)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The lobby is huge but feels a bit cold and cavernous , at least you get free wifi there , but alas not in your room without paying extra. Location was good for the historical landmarks and downtown area, Bathroom looked a little tired but bed was very comfortable . What a pity the corridor outside our room was filled... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The wife booked the hotel for us after another hotel raises it prices. The ice machine on our floor was out, but if a staff member was in the hallway they went to another floor to get us ice. Servers in restaurant were super friendly joking around with is and offering suggestions

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer T, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bugman31888, Thank you for your great review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and extremely nice staff. We look forward to hosting you in your future travels to Philadelphia. Safe travels, Jennifer Tang Assistant Front Office Manager Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had an absolutely terrible experience at the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel which not only makes me question whether to stay in a Sheraton again but makes me want to avoid Starwood hotels altogether. The first room that I was given had neighbors that stayed up until 4 in the morning blasting loud music. The problem is that the walls... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've been visiting Philadelphia for the weekend and didn't want to spend too much but to stay in the center. The Sheraton has been a perfect compromise. The stuff was very friendly and the 70ies look (even aglfter renovation) very... fancy! The only thing I missed was a complimentary shower gel in the bathroom (which should be almost standard now,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer T, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MarchAdvisor, Thank you for your great review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We are glad you had a pleasant experience and hope to host you again in the near future. Safe travels, Jennifer Tang Assistant Front Office Manager Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at this Sheraton for a night only. It is located near the city center and landmarks (10 minutes walk). Very near from the bus station too (we arrived at JFK and took a bus to Philly). The room is nice. There is a Starbucks at the lobby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer T, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CEF-Bra, Thank you for the FIVE STAR review! We are glad that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel and our beautiful rooms. We hope to see you back in Philadelphia again soon! Safe travels, Jennifer Tang Assistant Front Office Manager Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Came for a conference. Location is good - 10 minutes walk from Philly convention center. Every other piece of the experience here was not what I'd expect from a hotel at this price. -Staff were rude on the phone in the week before when I called to ask questions. -they told us the shuttle was supposed to leave on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer T, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris B, Thank you for your review on our hotel. Please accept our apologies for what you have experienced during your recent stay; we certainly hold ourselves to a higher standard than what you have mentioned. We will share your comments with our team and make sure to make necessary improvements. We hope you give us another chance when... More

West Orange, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A word of warning: if you're going to Philly and expect to actually have a room when you get to your hotel, stay away from this place. I was scheduled to participate in the Rock n Roll Half Marathon on Sept. 21. When I saw a Living Social deal in February that was valid for that weekend, I booked my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer T, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Traci1025, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize agian for the inconvenience you suffered upon your arrival to our hotel. The fact that we were unable to accommodate you in-house as you prepare for the Rock & Roll Marathon the next day was extremely unfortunate. Please know that... More

Pocono Mt., PA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First, I screwed up. I booked the room for the wrong month -- right day, but wrong month -- and didn't bother to read my email confirmation until I was charged for a no-show. When I called them, they credited my account and managed to find a room for me during the correct month and date. They were much more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer T, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JBro, Thank you for your wonderful review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We can't wait to share your great comments with our entire team. We hope to see you back in Philadelphia again soon! Safe travels, Jennifer Tang Assistant Front Office Manager Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here during a MUN conference in January. Hotel looks old from the outside but the building is big and it's an impressive addition to the Philly Skyline. The rooms and amenities are standard Sheraton - to be honest Sheratons are almost the same now everywhere, it's really not different from any old Sheraton in DC or Boston. The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer T, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fzwa1964, We are glad you enjoyed your stay and will certainly consider your feedback regarding the wait time for the elevators. The hotel will finish renovations of our guest rooms and corridors in the next few weeks and are very excited to have a vibrant new product for all of our guests to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They offered a good deal for conference attendees, but then tried to squeeze our money at every single detail. It was the first time I did not find a fridge in the room, and they wanted to charge us $20 for it. Parking was half-priced on weekends, but they automatically charge you a full fare if you do not check... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer T, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Thiago S, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations during your latest visit. Many of the issues mentioned are certainly manageable on our end, and we look forward to using your feedback to address any deficiencies. We hope that you give us another chance if you return... More

Do you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Address: 201 North 17th Street, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel
Sheraton City Center Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

214 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (210)
Viewed
Room/suite (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
View from room (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel