We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 84 Philadelphia hotels

Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3549 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
54%
Ranked #56 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
A recent review
  • Reviews (371)
  • Photos (77)
  • Prices
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (62)
  • Back to top
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    118
    120
    39
    26
See reviews for
90
55
54
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Fantastic location for anyone visiting Penn. Although the Lobby smelled a bit like stale smoke and furniture seemed old, but once upstairs, al was well with wonderful beds and bedding, outlets, bathroom etc. Staff super nice and helpful vis a vis storing luggage, giving directions, remembering us when we came to check out, etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Seattle98102, Thank you for posting your review. We truly appreciate your comments. We pride ourselves on making every guest experience an enjoyable one and are thrilled when we receive feedback that enables us to know we have succeeded. We have refreshed the guest rooms recently and are continuing to make changes to the hotel. We hope you will be... More

new jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for recent visit to Upenn. Conveniently located 3 blocks north of the center of the campus.For a few $$'s more stayed on the Club level which entitles you to hors d' oeuvres in the afternoon and breakfast in the Am..$25.00 parking for 24 hours gets you unlimited ins and outs.Great room amenities..Who puts things like mouth wash,sewing kit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear awayforawhile: Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had an opporunity to experience one of our club level rooms. The club lounge is a great place to relax outside of your guest room and to enjoy continental breakfast at your leisure. We hope welcome... More

Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hospital (CHOP) arranged for us to stay here for 4 nights... I'm sure glad I didn't have to pay the almost $300/nt for such a mediocre hotel experience! First off, no free breakfast. REALLY? Also no free parking (it's $25/nt). Finally, the elevator situation is completely annoying. You park on 'X' level, then have to take one elevator down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vlad5380: Thank you for the great feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences. In the meantime, please allow us to address a couple of your concerns. Please know that the garage elevator is separate from our guest room elevators for security purposes. Our... More

Robbinsville, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights for family member's surgery at nearby hospital. Desk clerk who checked us in was not very friendly, and did not adequately explain what floor we were on, parking procedure, or anything else for that matter. I did hear another clerk explain things to another guest at a later time, however, so I know it can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tprwife: Thank you for the great feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences. We truly apologize that your experience with us did not meet the high level of service we strive to maintain and of which you have every right to expect. You... More

Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great location for visit yo Penn or Drexel etc. relatively easy to get to and parking in the garage us a plus. Walking distance to university. Comfortable , clean and loved their linens. Not a cheap stay but after a busy and tiring day nice place to relax. Would be nice to have Starbucks coffee onsite or available all day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susie A, We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your experience with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had to travel to Philadelphia to check out a school and booked one night at The Sheraton University Center Philadelphia. No greeter at the door, had to pull up in front and run in to register. Asked about Valet parking and they told me none was available.On a Friday night in the middle of the city? Desk clerk then gave... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donna B, We want to sincerely apologize for the parking issue that you encountered during your stay with us. We truly failed to meet our levels of service and standards, as well as your expectations when the garage elevator failed to arrive and then, the stairwell door was difficult to open. Our parking garage is a self-park facility at... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've never written a review like this and I'm generally pretty easy to please, but this stay was bad from beginning to end. Our room adjoined another with a locked door between -- a frequent occurance. However, we could hear even a quiet conversation next door and it interfered with our sleep. It was a single, not a double door,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sjs1776, Please accept our sincerest apologies for the experience you had with us. This is truly unacceptable and your experience is contrary to the high level of service we strive to maintain and of which you have every right to expect. Thank you for the great feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so... More

México
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's seems that Sheraton brand is a little bit relaxed with this franchise. Rooms are ok, but of course, a little noisy because lot of students spend time here. The day that saving time shifting, they wake me up "by system mistake" at 1:15, again at 7, because a general alarm. False alarm, and then at the correct time at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TimeTravellerMX, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. While we appreciate your feedback, we are disturbed to learn of your disappointment. Your comments are being shared with managers of our hotel departments involved so corrective action may be taken. We certainly hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the accommodations and service... More

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are going to visit Penn or Drexel, stay here! It's super convenient (there is parking - $25/day in the abutting garage) and the rooms are clean (but the bed could have been a little more comfy.) The lobby is also inviting. Would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Megan L: We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your experience with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, More

Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The worst customer service experience-I was hung up on by an associate. I was traveling for work with a colleague and requested that all expenses be split evenly between our business credit cards. We were told this would be no problem. At the end of the trip, my colleague was charged for all expenses. I called the number listed on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amanda1212812, There is truly no excuse for the incident you relay in your posting. We would appreciate you connecting with us directly so that we may address the issue. Our Guest Services Managers can be reached at 215-387-8000, ext. 627. Sincerely, More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton
Address: 3549 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Philadelphia's famed education and medical centers, the Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel is a great choice when visiting Philadelphia for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
3:23
Videos (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Best prices for your stay

Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com Sheraton.com
and 9 more sites!

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by Philadelphia's famed education and medical centers, the Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel is a great choice when visiting Philadelphia for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
316

See which rooms travelers prefer

Sorry, our search service is down. Displaying the most recent room tips below.