We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 82 Philadelphia hotels

Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3549 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
55%
Ranked #55 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Gus_Sanchez Milford, CT
  • Reviews (393)
  • Photos (76)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (68)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    127
    121
    41
    28
See reviews for
96
61
57
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very Bad Hotel: 1-WiFi is Dial up speed 2- The Furniture is not well maintained and dirty 3-Dead insects in my Bathroom 4- A big Cockroach in the hallway enjoying itself 5- Staff are so unprofessional 6-Charged my credit card without giving me a bill to sign on; he charged 15 extra dollars that when I asked him about he... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tamer A, Thank you for the great feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences. In the meantime, please allow us to address a couple of your concerns. Please know that we are working with our internet service provider to resolve the slow internet... More

Milford, CT
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I plus another couple went to "check out" Philadelphia this weekend. As such, we spent most of our time walking around the city and very little at the hotel itself. We stayed two nights. We had one, minor, incident where the power went out on the wall with the TV. Unfortunately, that wall also had the communication... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gus_Sanchez: Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for the power outage in your room and appreciate you giving us the opportunity to resolve the issue. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future! Sincerely, More

Westport, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been to philly a number of times but this was the first time staying in the Penn/Drexel area. Hotel was great and the area had a great feel with two schools near bye. It was very close to 30th street station and those traveling by train were able to just walk over. Will stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bryan d: We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your experience with us! The University City area is a great part of the city and we are thrilled you gave us an opportunty to welcome you. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Sincerely, More

Thoiry, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This cockroach-infested hotel is an utter disgrace with rude, confrontational staff. Manager unapologetic about the cockroach in our bathroom. Caught staff making fun of us after we complained. Also very dirty under beds and kept awake by loud humming from vending machines.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew P, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We truly apologize for the issue of the pest that you found in your room. This is certainly not acceptable. We offered compensation for your incovenience and explained that the credit would need to go through the tour operator, as discussed with you and the tour leader. If you have any... More

Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here twice for two days each while I had treatment at nearby Penn Presbyterian Hospital. We used Penn Tower in the past during family hospital stays, but sadly it is now closed. We stayed in a club room each time for the hospital rate of $199 (plus taxes), which is very competitive for Philadelphia. Front desk staff were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James R. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, More

Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here off and on over the past 5 years when making trips to Philly. This hotel is my first choice b/c of location to the hospital and how nice the room is, but there are 2 other hotels not much farther away, so we stay there instead b/c they're nice as well. The price difference is usually... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Franksville, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton University City while attending to business at Penn. The hotel is within walking distance of all of Penn and Drexel. On a nice day we walked to the Liberty Bell. The room was clean, comfortable and roomy. Included free Wifi (occasionally slow) and coffee. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Noise was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear johnrw52, We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your experience with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, More

Smithfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For the last 5 years I've worked on the 4th of July. This year I wanted to see some fireworks. Locally, Tropical Storm Arthur was on his way. At the last minute my husband and I decided to travel to the home of Brotherly love. Yes, Philadelphia Freedom and the home of Rocky Balboa. My husband did an internet search... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear katzret: We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your experience with us! Comments and feedback are most often shared when in the negative form, so it is a pleasure to share these motivating statements with our staff whenever we have the opportunity. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms are nice and clean, decent size. However, the rooms do not have a mini fridge and you are charged to have one in your room even if it is for medical purposes. I have to be away from my infant daughter for several nights and have to have a fridge to store pumped milk. It's disgraceful that a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pam0509: Thank you for sharing your comments. We do regret that you were initially charged for a refrigerator for infant milk. A management team member did remove the charge after being notified of your needs. We do understand the importance and necessity of refrigerators for medical needs and do apologize for the mistake. We are reviewing the policy with... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

3rd stay at hotel since 2010. Hasn't changed much. Given a room on the club floor with great views. Air conditioning still a little noisy. Unfortunately there was no fridge. Located near UPenn and the hospitals. Great chinese restaurant Sang Kee within the hotel. Good restaurants can be found along nearby Sansome Street too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Address: 3549 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Philadelphia Sheraton

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
3:23
Videos (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by Philadelphia's famed education and medical centers, the Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel is a great choice when visiting Philadelphia for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
316

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel and other travelers.
1 question
22 days ago

See all questions (1)

See which rooms travelers prefer