We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    826
    394
    129
    71
See reviews for
318
360
118
840
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1937)
  • Mar-May only
    (502)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (489)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (576)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (370)
All months
Baltimore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed over Memorial Day Weekend with my family. First, I am not sure where others booked - however when I made the reservation on Marriott.com, it clearly stated during the reservation process that valet parking at the hotel was $48 / night. There is a garage across the street, however having 5 kids to pack for meant that Dad didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Upon arrival we had to wait 20 minutes to drive up to the front. We saw friends who warned us not to valet because they had already been waitin an hour for their car. So we parked in lot across street. Later that night we tried to valet again and after waiting again were told the valet lot was full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randy A, Manager at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. We are only sorry to hear that your parking experience was not as good; and for that we are sorry. Your feedback has been shared with our parking partners, TownePark, so that corrective actions can be taken for the future. We appreciate your business and look forward to the... More 

Pennington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Arrived after 9-hour flight to Marriott downtown Philly. Went directly to Elite check in where there was one person ahead of me. The receptionist finished that person and engaged in a discussion with a colleague ignoring completely my presence. Then he came back and asked me how was my trip. I answered that it was long handling him my ID... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Was the worst stay or all time. The service sucked and the valet should simple be fired it took 1 hour to get my car. This is the worst stay of all time never go to this hotel. Also much money and you get nothing out of it. This is very unacceptable....!!🔫

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randy A, Manager at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay and our great location. We are only sorry to hear that your parking experience was not as good; and for that we are sorry. Your feedback has been shared with our parking partners, TownePark, so that corrective actions can be taken for the future. We appreciate your business and... More 

Ballston Lake, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel is challenged with the awkward entrance and lack of space for guest to enter and exit. You are in line every single time you enter or exit and need to plan an extra hour on both sides. Once you finally make it through the line to enter you are given a valet ticket for your car. It's important... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randy A, Manager at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent experience, I appreciate the opportunity to benefit from your feedback. I would like to apologize for the overall poor experience you had while visiting our historic city. We will be utilizing your feedback in our quest to improve the service we offer. Thank you again for your time and... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

sooooo everything was going well until my hubby was coming back from a friends house and the security followed him to the room.. I opened the door and there were two security behind him.. We are a black couple and my husband felt ashamed that other people were walking in the hallway but the security followed him instead of anyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Randy A, Manager at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. We are only too sorry to hear we were not able to make a more positive impression of our hotel during your stay. We will be utilizing your feedback in our quest to improve the service we offer. Thank you again for your time and consideration, we look forward... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I just got home from a family reunion at the Marriott Downtown Philadelphia. The rooms were fine and the check-in/out was easy. A room service meal of salad and a cheesesteak sandwich was reasonably priced and good quality. There is a Starbucks in the lobby and Reading Market across the street for easy breakfast or lunch. My main problem with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Randy A, Manager at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay and our great location. We are only sorry to hear that your parking experience was not as good; and for that we are sorry. Your feedback has been shared with our parking partners, TownePark, so that corrective actions can be taken for the future. We appreciate your business and... More 

london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for two nights. Easy to get to from airport, we went by taxi, a thirty dollar flat rate. Driver knew back routes and it took approx. thirty mins. Staff efficient but not particularly friendly. Free wifi only in hotel lobby but very poor, my Ipad would not log in at all and my wife's Android kept cutting out.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randy A, Manager at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay, our great location and the positive recommendation. I would like to apologize for the unfriendly staff and spotty internet service you had to endure. Your feedback is important and will be used in our pursuit to continuously improve or services. We appreciate your business and look forward to the... More 

Poughkeepsie, New York
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
27 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

From the valet to the concierge the service was top notch. Couple that with the beautiful one bedroom suite and the hotel's location, I was very, very happy staying in Philadelphia. The only negative was the view even from the high floor I was on, however, that often happens when staying in the heart of a city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I stay here quite often for work and each stay is above average. The rooms are always clean and the staff go out of their way to make every stay comfortable. The location is perfectly centered in the city and allows walking to most attractions, providing the weather is conducive. We've never had to even wait for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

433 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (276)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
View from room (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
2:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (136)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
King Guest Room (70)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay