We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Flash75 SF Bay Area
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    180
    54
    27
    17
See reviews for
293
241
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (646)
  • Mar-May only
    (115)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (238)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (177)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (116)
All months
SF Bay Area
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Westin Monache Resort in Mammoth Lakes, California is an excellent choice for an Eastern Sierra summer vacation. The hotel is centrally located in the Owens Valley to use as a base for exploring the region; the hotel itself is very nice with a welcoming staff. I've only stayed in the studio room, but it has a full mini-kitchen set... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying at this Westin mid March. It is a nice hotel with very nice staff. The views are beautiful and the location is nice. There are some good restaurants within walking distance but if you have a child with you, you will want to check the menu before you go. I do wish the hotel offered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 5 days at the beginning of April. The hotel is in a very good position, 5 minutes from the village Gondala; down stairs from the back of the hotel. You can leave your skis at lockers by the lift for free - this is very useful as I wouldn't want to walk up the stairs to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hi Pat, I don't know where to begin in writing this thank you letter to you. I guess I could start by telling you that after 14 years as a platinum Starwood member, a platinum preferred plan for corporate events and a senior contributor for Trip Advisor, I've done my share of the reviews of properties. My experience of coming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review

Mitch, as I expressed during our final conversation, we really appreciated you and William giving us a chance to provide you a true Mammoth Lakes and Westin branded experience. As a 14 year Platinum member, you are a discerning traveler, it was a special opportunity for my team to show you their passion and dedication. As a first time Westin... More 

Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Be very careful when making reservations here: my experience with their cancellation policy and management follow-up was frustrating. When I had to cancel my stay 5 days before arrival date, I was informed the deposit would not be refunded as it required a week's notice to cancel. I had never received an email stating this cancellation policy. The only confirmation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. As we stated on the phone when you called. We pulled your original reservation and it was a prepaid, non-cancellable reservation. You made a decision this was the appropriate reservation for you at the time you booked. We, as hospitality industry leaders broke our policy and allowed you to change your dates, not once but... More 

Newtown, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

We stayed at this property from March 7th - March 11th and had a wonderful time. We reserved a 2 bedroom suite and it was extremely comfortable. We did have a minor issue with one of the sliding closet doors not working upon arrival, but a call to maintenance had the problem resolved in less than 30 minutes. Also, there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review

Thank you for the time you spent providing this review, we appreciate the business and the great scores. The steps are definitely an issue in the winter. We provide a shuttle service to and from the gondola throughout the day. In addition, all Westin guests receive free ski/board storage below the gondola. If you ever need us to pick you... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

Pricey but incredibly lovely, we landed an upgraded suite at a discount due to hotel points. Gas fireplace, handy modern kitchenette, balcony, mountain and forest view, and a mattress from heaven. The restaurants were top of the line, and the staff was impeccably trained, friendly, solicitous and gracious. A+.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review

Thank you for the opportunity! I am happy to read you enjoyed your experience. Our staff is very dedicated to the Brand and to our customers. We all look forward to your next visit! Be Well! Patrick More 

Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

The Westin Monarche was an excellent choice for our ski vacation at Mammouth. We had a one bedroom suite that was spacious, with a well supplied kitchen. Garage parking, resort fees, and ski storage at the Canyon Lodge gondola was included with our quite expensive package. Very convenient to not have to carry skis across the street to the hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Westin Monache, and thank you for the additional star! We are centrally located across from the Village, but if you ever wanted to go to town we would provide the shuttle!. See you soon! Be Well! Patrick More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

First time visit to Mammoth Ski area. We booked our stay at the Westin due tompast experiences with the brand. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. From the moment we arrived everyone we spoke with went out of their way to ensure our stay was enjoyable. We will diffinitely return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review! I am happy to read you have had very good experiences with the Westin Brand. We all look forward to your next stay. Be Well! Patrick More 

Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is top rate. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Beds comfortable. Location is excellent, directly across from the gondola to Canyon Lodge. You can take the stairs from the hotel right to the gondola or the very accommodating bell staff will drop you off since navigating the stairs with all your ski gear can be daunting.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Westin Monache! I appreciate the time you spent writing this review. The staff takes great pride in their service and always enjoys interacting with our guests. Hope to see you again; remember the summer months are great as well! Be Well! Patrick More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

171 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (161)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (52)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question