We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Mammoth Lakes hotels

Alpenhof Lodge

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6080 Minaret Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 Dining Credit
Alpenhof Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Alpenhof Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Xingdelancey1234 Victorville, California
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    74
    27
    17
    10
See reviews for
40
71
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (181)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Victorville, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in October-perfect weather for hiking. The rooms to the right of the lodge have a lovely parking lot view with optional bear viewing at night. (Harley dude left some cookies in his saddle bags on his brand new rented rig right outside our little tiny wooden door. Good thing he had the complete insurance on it.) The rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leicester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stopped for just the one night back in May this year. This as part of a US Road Trip that we'd cobbled together. We wanted to see Death Valley after Vegas / Grand Canyon and travel on to Yosemite before driving on to San Fran etc. Anyone planning something similar should perhaps consider Mammoth Lakes as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Crolles, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We (2 adults & 2 kids) stayed for 1 night and had a great time. We were so happy to enjoy the swimming pool, as we were coming from Death Valley hot temperatures. Our room was very large (so easy to store our 4 pieces of luggage) and our kids had separate beds (which happened only twice during our 1... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I came here on our honeymoon during the off season of October. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean, if a little dated. Great location if you come to ski, located across the street from the lift and shopping but very reasonably priced. I would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
geninfo, Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for writing a wonderful review on The Alpenhof Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed our location that allowed you to walk across the street to some shops and restaurants. Ski season is lots of fun. Especially being able to walk across the street to the gondola, go skiing then come back to complimentary hot cocoa! Hope to... More

Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one night in Oct 2014. Greeted at front desk by employee who wasn't too pleased, as if we had disturbed him upon our arrival, 8:00 p.m. Rooms need major renovations. Bed was not that comfortable. I would not go back to this place. If you like sleeping in a hostel, this place is for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, I'm sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations - we completed our first phase of room renovations in the fall of 2013 and we are currently working on new projects to complete before the 2014/15 ski season, which includes new beds. But what disappoints me most is to hear that you did not feel welcome... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

The Alpenhof Lodge has a fantastic location near restaurants and shops. The property is made up of a number of buildings and has onsite restaurant, bar and outdoor pool. Mammoth has so much to offer for such a compact place, we chose to stay at Alpenhof before venturing into Yosemite. We stayed in the main building on the entrance level.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
geninfo, Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review on The Alpenhof Lodge. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy our newly renovated lobby that brings out the mountain rustic feeling. The bears were out and about this Summer, we're glad that they didn't disrupt your good nights sleep. We hope to see you again... More

Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We were there in September and it was in the high 80's and there was no AC, only a fan in the room. Room was clean but small and nothing special. We had a queen with fireplace - in the summer. 2nd floor, no elevator and couldn't have the drapes open because it was the main outdoor walkway. The entire... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 via mobile

Really friendly staff, made to feel welcome. Room was large and really comfortable, the only down side was that the shower was fixed too low on the wall making it a bit uncomfortable to shower as my boyfriend and I are quite tall!! The bar is great, and useful to have in the summer as a lot of bars and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
geninfo, Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your kind thoughts towards our lodge here in Mammoth Lakes. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Winter is just around the corner. Give us a call anytime! -Alpenhof Lodge More

Bountiful, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way to Yosemite. We booked a king room but when we got there they said the room they put us in had a lot of kitchen noise, so they upgraded us for free to a king room with fireplace. The room had a sitting area with a large couch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
geninfo, Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to write a positive review on our lodge. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and was able to take advantage of our proximity to the Village at Mammoth. We hope to see you again soon, -Alpenhof Lodge More

Santa Ana, California
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hotel failed the #1 priority of all traveler's.... a good bed! The mattress sagged in the middle and we spent the whole night trying not to fall into the middle. We have stayed at this hotel many times in the past and had a great experience. When I told the morning desk clerk about the sagging bed and poor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
geninfo, General Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that had a poor night's sleep - that certainly isn't our intention! The message did come to me and it is a priority of ours to make sure we fix this ASAP. I hope that you will consider staying with us again. Sincerely, Stacy Schaubmayer General Manager Alpenhof Lodge More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Alpenhof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Lodge

Address: 6080 Minaret Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpenhof Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Alpenhof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Mammoth Lakes

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay