We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Management photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

525 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    221
    217
    51
    18
    18
See reviews for
209
183
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (525)
  • Mar-May only
    (91)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (232)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (147)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Santa Maria, Ca, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Hotel was clean and quiet. Staff was very helpful suggesting places to dine and shop. This was my first stay at a motel without any outdoor areas to sit and relax as this is mainly a winter destination and I missed being able to sit outside and enjoy the fine summer afternoons reading a book in a lawn chair. The... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Tom H Thank you for staying with us for a nice 3 day weekend hiking and biking. Thank you also for your feedback regarding having an outdoor seating area. We have recently spoken with a Best Western design expert to do just that. Hopefully, if you visit us again next summer, we'll have that lounger ready and waiting for... More 

Littlestown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Very friendly atmosphere whose employees go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The hotel is located near many great places to visit (Mono Lake, Mammoth Lake, Yosemite). Breakfast was the best we have had at any hotels that include it with the stay. Breakfast included real eggs, pancakes, sausage, ham, bacon,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Beth B All that I can say is a big thank you for your fabulous review. I hope your travels were fantastic. More 

Los Angeles, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

We went to Mammoth Best Western for a wedding. We chose this hotel because it had air conditioning and it can get hot and stuffy there in the summer. The staff was pleasant; the hotel was clean; the room was clean. There was free parking. The breakfast included was just ok, but at least you could just eat and run.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lynn W Thank you for your review and for staying with us. The dramatic scenery in the area certainly makes for a beautiful wedding venue; I'm glad that you were able to have that experience. Being one of only a few hotels in town with air conditioning, many guests choose to book with us for that exact reason. I'm... More 

Tustin, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

We were very tired after hiking, check in was quick, had a nice hot shower and the bed was comfy. Check out was quick and the breakfast buffet was very good with a large selection of hot and cold items.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Marsha L Thank you for your review. Indeed, after a day of hiking in the Sierras, a hot shower, a comfy bed, followed by a filling breakfast will put a smile on your face. I'm happy that we were able to do just that. Hope to see you the next time you're in the mood for more of the... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Friendly check in. Self serve as far as bringing your luggage to your room but you can use one of their luggage carrier carts for that. No problem. Nice rooms, clean, and friendly staff. Good breakfast included with price of rooms. Its not a continental breakfast....as it included scramble eggs, cereal, coffee etc. Staff at the hotel restaurant very nice.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Wareta Thank you for your detailed review! I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, our nice friendly staff and our hot buffet breakfast. You are correct about the wireless. Being a small town in the middle of the mountains there are limitations...particularly when there are 3 devices being used for any 1 person. This year the... More 

Torrance, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Good place to stay in Mammoth. Close to lots of restaurants in town. Not here for skiing, but good place for the non-skiing season. Outstanding breakfast provided next door. Will be back if in Mammoth Lakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

Spent one night here, sight unseen. They warned us that there was no refund if we tried to cancel so we were committed. For two queen beds we paid $250. It was a very average room, on the small side. The air conditioner never dropped the room below about 75 degrees and somehow kept the room unpleasantly moist-- like it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review

Hello jd1091, Thank you for giving us a try and for giving us kuddos on our customer service and covered parking. It sounds like you stayed in one of our two queen suites with jetted tub or kitchenette as our standard rooms are not that highly priced or perhaps you had four adults in your party as we do charge... More 

Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

We stayed here unexpectedly in 2011 as the roads into Bodie had us snowed out. We drove 6 hours to get here. Spent 2 nights while waiting for the snow to melt to allow us access into Bodie. We had a great time even though we don't ski. Road in the gondola up the mountain, watched skiers and snowboarders having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Didn't actually get to stay there as we had to cancel out trip as our son was sick. Even though we had a doctor's note, and it was within his authority, the general manager, Brent, refused to refund our cancellation fees. All the other hotels on our trip waived any cancellation fees and received positive reviews to show our appreciation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Cordelia H I'm sorry to hear that you couldn't make it to town as it is truly a wonderful time to be here. While we hold our guests to their cancellation policy commitments that they select when booking their reservation, we do have understanding when things don't turn out the way that they would like. The problem, as we... More 

Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

The hotel was clean, bright and we heard little noise although they seemed to be full. They had nice options at the free breakfast: everything from eggs and pancakes to cereal and toast. There was always fresh fruit (both whole and cut up) and muffins.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Vickiestravels2013 for writing such a great review. I hope that your western travels were fantastic. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay