We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mammoth Mountain Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
10400 Minaret Road, Box 353, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Offers & Announcements
May Lodging Special
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    202
    123
    78
    45
See reviews for
188
236
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (670)
  • Mar-May only
    (163)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (191)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (143)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (173)
All months
There are newer reviews for Mammoth Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Tampa, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

The location?? Perfect. The Food at the Inn, the worst, especially if you have little children. The Dry Creek Bar, AWSOME, my hats off to Zack!!!! - Hotel Room......, well a rubber was found by one of my kids, thank god it was still in the package....TV was fuzzy, Maintenance Manager, oh ya, he was laid off....General Manager, she couldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jettelarsen, General Manager at Mammoth Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for your stay in April. I can assure you that this is not acceptable and we have corrected the problems that you experienced. I look forward to speaking with you in the future. Please contact me at your convenience at 760-914-3144. Best Regards Jette Larsen General Manager More 

Los Angeles, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

This is the worst hotel/inn I have ever been to. It had the smallest room I have ever stayed at and I paid $150.00 a night including $20.00 resort fee which is a big scam. Also, the room I stayed at had a horrible loud fan noise all night. Would never recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers are raving about these Mammoth Lakes hotels

Thousand Oaks, CA
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

Ok, so approached this hotel with some(alot) of trepidation based on the reviews in Tripadvisor. But I have to tell you, was really, really surprised upon finding a clean, friendly hotel in GREAT location at the base of the mountain. Check In: Was received by a friendly and smiling clerk. She looked at our reservation and said "you asked for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jettelarsen, General Manager at Mammoth Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear kflyco Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Mammoth - we greatly appreciate your business. I apologize that we did not inform you about a couple of our services - we do offer bell service however through the front desk in the summer while it is not busy. Also complimentary wi-fi is included in the $20... More 

Sacramento, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

My friends and I planned a backpacking trip but on the day we were to head out the weather turned bad and we had to look for a place to stay until we could hit the trail the next day. The reception staff at the front desk were very helpful and were able to accomodate the 6 of us on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jettelarsen, General Manager at Mammoth Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear mcurry304 Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I trust you had a nice hiking trip also. Please let me know when you are next in Mammoth so that we can take good care of you. Best Regards Jette Larsen General Manager 760-914-3144 More 

Luxembourg
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We very much enjoyed our staying in this hotel and the negative comments are not justified. The service was great, room perfect and the kids enjoyed the "games-room".

Was this review helpful? Yes
jettelarsen, General Manager at Mammoth Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I will share with our staff and they will be excited to hear from you. I look forward to seeing you here again. If I can ever help with any travel arrangements please let me know. Best Regards Jette Larsen General Manager More 

Sussex, England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We had booked a night at this hotel while traveling from Yosemite to Death Valley. The location was good, but the hotel was very worst for wear, with corridors of painted concrete blocks that had been knocked by many bicycles and pairs of skis. The room was OK - not great, but less awful than the shabby corridors and horrible... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jettelarsen, G at Mammoth Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sue Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I very much agree with you on the hallways - please know that we start renovating these next month. If you ever find yourself this way again please contact me directly so that I can personally oversee the details of your stay. Best Regards Jette Larsen... More 

Wolverhampton, Staffordshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Mammoth Mountain's Charm has had us hooked for years, and we have visited a couple of hotels.... Mammoth mountain Inn is the only place to stay in my opinion, yes its not the most sophisticated or elegant hotel but it has the best location. Walk right outside the doors and you have 3 gondola choices, it also is the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jettelarsen, General Manager at Mammoth Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear GingerPug Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Please rest assured that we have taken drastic measures at the Front Desk - the group is now more upbeat and enthusiastic than ever before. We are also working on renovating the hotel slowly but surely. Please let me know the next time you are... More 

York, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Booked as part of fly drive deal and reading previous reports we considered booking elsewhere..However we were pleasantly suprised..We stayed in a split level room in the main building with a mountain view which was clean and comfortable..Breakfast was a bit pricey for what was on offer and we had a very good evening meal in the bar with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jettelarsen, General Manager at Mammoth Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear abYorkshire Thank you for choosing the Mammoth Mountain Inn for your recent stay. I am happy that you had an enjoyable stay. Please let me know when your travels take you back to Mammoth so that I can personally see to the details of your accommodations. Best Regards Jette Larsen General Manager More 

Colchester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Stayed here for just one night, to break up the journey between Yosemite and Death Valley. I had read previous reviews, so was prepared for the worse. We had only booked a standard room and was put in the Yodler block, which is rather run down and the rooms are a little cramped, but the room was clean, with nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jettelarsen, General Manager at Mammoth Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tinkerbell 101 I am very happy that you chose to stay at the Mammoth Mountain Inn for one night. Please let me know when you return so I can personally upgrade you to a larger room. We aim to always provide a great experience and we have many room configurations for you to enjoy. I look forward to seeing... More 

Windsor, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Better, more affordable lodging options can be found in Mammoth Lakes. You will probably be doing most of your dining there, anyway. Here are the details of our trip: My wife and I have been to Mammoth Lakes before and normally stay at motels in the downtown area to spare our budget. Because this July, 2009 trip was to involve... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

288 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (268)
Viewed
Room/suite (70)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay