We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 46 Dayton hotels

Dayton Grand Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 South Ludlow Street, Dayton, OH 45402 (Formerly Doubletree)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Dayton Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Dayton Grand Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
33%
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Dayton
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    48
    50
    32
    52
See reviews for
38
31
27
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (196)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Under renovation? I saw no construction going on.No pool,no gym,no restaurant,room service,no ice machines,no vending machines,Water damaged holes in ceilings,carpets unswept,litter on floors.Furniture worn out and broken.Then to charge a mandatory $12.00 "valet" charge at the end of my stay made up for the discount I got through Expedia.This is not the 4 star hotel it claims to be,Good luck... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron L, Manager at Dayton Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I clearly understand that you are disappointed in your stay. We have renovations in progress through many areas of the hotel. Several areas are not able to be seen at this time by guests. We do not allow guests to go to those areas. While we are under renovations, we... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I reviewed all the other comments and made a reservation in spite of the negativity. The place is not perfect, but the location, price and room was. I would definitely stay there again. $69 for a very nice room with city view, on the executive level...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aaron L, Manager at Dayton Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive response. We greatly appreciate your business. While we are under renovations we strive to provide the best value to our guests! I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations. We hope to see you after renovations are complete! Sincerely, Eric Minshall Hotel Manager More

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Got a pretty good price for this downtown hotel but wouldn't stay again. This place needs some work. The pool is closed, no water on it, fitness center is being worked on and need attention. Treadmill didn't work no TV, dumbbells missing. Ice maker on 7th floor not working, in general it need a makeover. We reservation a room for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron L, Manager at Dayton Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. As you noted, we are under renovation and are currently working on several key areas of the hotel. By this time next year we will have a new pool area, better guest accommodations, an abundance of amenities and a much more pleasant experience. Thank you for bearing with us while we make these changes. We... More

Burlington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here one night! The front desk person was very nice and so was the valet guys, but the room was just alright! The bed was comfortable but the bathroom was kid a scrunched, the toilet was in a small space between the wall and sink and the tub was small as well!! Don't know if I will stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aaron L, General Manager at Dayton Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! We appreciate very bit of feedback that we receive from our guests. I am always pleased to hear that our staff is professional, kind and courteous. I will personally relay your comments to the staff and valet service. We are working very hard to renovate the rooms. Some of the historical rooms are odd shaped... More

ramstein, germany
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I wanted to let all whom are looking to book this hotel, but are unsure due to the bad reviews, this hotel is fine! We stayed last night, for the annual Celtic Fest. This is our third year running using this hotel for the Fest. It is clean, the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable enough, and I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron L, General Manager at Dayton Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are very pleased that you had a pleasant stay at the Dayton Grand. Your continued patronage and appreciation for the Celtic festival are greatly appreciated. Our hotel is changing for the better every day. During that process we strive to make sure our guests receive the best service we... More

Elkridge, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I want to begin this review stating that I am originally from Dayton, OH. When I returned and stayed in this hotel I was quite sad in the state the downtown area has become. Good: The price! I travel quite a bit, so being in the downtown area with this price was outstanding! The view from our window was great!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aaron L, General Manager at Dayton Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking to time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate the positive feedback you gave us. In regards to the age/condition of the building you are correct. Just to let you know we will be starting to renovate and will be converting to a Double Tree over the next several months. This includes... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We recently used this hotel when we were married and had many out of town guests coming in. Although they are set for a renovation, the rooms were clean and not outdated. Staff was very friendly and helpful in getting needed items to guests, giving directions, and answering all our questions! The rooms were clean and they were very accommodating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aaron L, General Manager at Dayton Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback in regards to the recent stay. We appreciate the kind words you said about out hotel and staff. I'm glad we were able to accommodate you and that your stay was enjoyable. Once again, thank you for your feedback and have a great week! More

Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Go somewhere else. The photos of this hotel are beautiful, but I promise that these pictures did not come from this hotel. We searched the entire place to find the angle that could've produced them to no avail. Some of the staff were ok, some downright rude and apathetic. They have no amenities, including working AC. We had to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aaron L, Manager at Dayton Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. As we transition this hotel during our renovation we face many challenges. We have worked very hard to provide amenities and additional comforts to our guests. Our AC units are being replaced and several upgrades are on their way. I feel very confident that when we fully transition you will have an outstanding experience at... More

St. Louis, MO, USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were there in early June for the UD Reunion weekend. This hotel is just kind of old. Almost all the amenities were closed for remodeling, but I didn't see any work actually being done. The rooms were OK, but the furniture was old. Basically, it's an OK place, but nothing special. Some other reviews were very negative, but overall... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aaron L, General Manager at Dayton Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback in regards to the recent stay. You are correct about the aging of the building as well as the limited amenities we currently have. I'm glad our service and location were both to your liking. We will be undergoing a complete renovation by summer's end, converting to a Doubletree.... More

La Crosse, WI
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have stayed here for the last 3 years when in Dayton for Hamvention, there is a definite lack of maintenance and direction for the hotel. The bar and restaurant are boarded up, the pool is drained and being used for furniture storage, the elevators are a scary ride, along with other minor maintenance issues that need attention. We were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aaron L, General Manager at Dayton Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond to give us your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Dayton Grand Hotel. In regards to both the A/C and hot water issues I do apologize. Those matters have been attended to and quickly fixed shortly after your departure. I hope we had compensated you for the last night... More

Do you own or manage Dayton Grand Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Dayton Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton Grand Hotel

Address: 11 South Ludlow Street, Dayton, OH 45402 (Formerly Doubletree)
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dayton Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dayton Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton Grand Hotel Ohio

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay