We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Dayton

#15 of 47 Hotels in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
33 E. 5th Street, Dayton, OH 45402
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Dayton
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After a long day of traveling, I checked into the hotel only to find out that someone else was in my room. I called using the courtesy phone off the 11th floor. A lady named Blessing quickly fixed the problem and had another key run up to me immediately for another room. She also included a free breakfast voucher for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee C
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First the Pros: Good location, Friendly front desk staff, Great Wi-Fi service. The Cons: Very Small fitness room, Very Small restaurant menu, Very Dirty guest room! The layer of dust on the carpet and the amount of muck under and behind the furniture gave me a horrible allergy attack. I don't mind if a hotel is up for a renovation... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lilirey
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Dear Lilirey, Thank you for your review on the Crowne Plaza Dayton. We appreciate the time you've taken to give us feedback on our property. We are so sorry that we fell short with your experience. This is not the norm, and stands against everything we want for your stay. We are, however, pleased that you found our location to... More 

Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything from the entrance lobby, the hallways, rooms, bathrooms and restaurant were seriously outdated. The price was much more than other nearby hotels and not worth it. My room and bathroom were extremely small. There is a lack of professionalism with the service at the front desk and the restaurant/bar. I suggest you stay elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank wildfin
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Dear wildfin, Thank you for your review on the Crowne Plaza Dayton. We apologize that you did not have the stay that you deserved. Please let us make this situation right. Call us directly at 937-228-0800. Thanks again for the time you have taken to give us your feedback. Sincerely, Mark Pongonis General Manager | Crowne Plaza Dayton More 

Etna 430
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

Location for us was pretty good. However, I did experience some things that I thought that those who do read these may want to have clarified before the book with this particular Hotel. First of all, I was promised transportation to my event (shuttle service) be prepared for a UBER card with promo code that you have to give your... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rory G
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Dear Rory G, Thank you for taking time to write your review about our hotel. I am glad you found our location to be good. However, it is regrettable that issues with the shuttle service and parking issues were a let down during your stay. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to... More 

Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

Great location, I'd recommend it for short business travels. When I say short, I mean 2 days. I pulled up to the valet and sat in my car for about 5 mins. No one showed up! Finally, I just left my car up front and walked in. Valet people were no where to be found, but the gentlemen at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank xcuricax
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Dear xcuricax, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We appreciate your positive comment about the great service received from the front desk and regarded the rooms clean. However, we... More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

The rooms are okay and standard. The guest services were okay but the persons responsible for making our stay more enjoyable were Dennis and Tony. Dennis was working in the morning for our breakfast and was here all day when we showed up for a late night cap in the lounge. He was very professional and accommodating. Super great employee!!!... More 

Helpful?
Thank VanHeulens
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Dear VanHuelens, We are thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with our employees. Your happiness is our main goal! We love that our kind and knowledgable staff was able to assist you during your stay in Dayton. Please come back and see us again soon! Sincerely, Mark Pongonis General Manager | Crowne Plaza Dayton More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

LaShea, Michael and Taylor went over and above to make sure we had a terrific expeerience at The Crowne Plaza Dayton. I had to travel to Dayton for a family memoirial. My bank was denying my card because I was out of town. Michael drove me to the ATM for my bank even though it was practically across the street.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Noel S
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Dear Noel S, Wow! Thank you for your five star review. We are pleased to hear that our staff was helpful and wonderful to you. We take serious pride in helping guests in any way we can. We can't wait to host you again in the near future! Sincerely, Mark Pongonis General Manager | Crowne Plaza Dayton More 

Willoughby Hills, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015 via mobile

This hotel while meets your needs is very dated and dingy looking. We stayed due to the location of the family function and the hotel was in walking distance. The bed was very firm, like a rock. The bathroom was very small, but clean. This hotel is in need of some updating and color. Parking is covered and free with... More 

Helpful?
Thank RunnerGirl03
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Dear RunnerGirl03, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation because of being dated. We will look into this concern. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously,... More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

We stayed here while attending a family function in the area. This hotel was within walking distance so the location was a big plus. The rooms was clean and as quiet as can be given it's downtown location. However, we got the same dated and dingy feeling I have seen in other reviews. The bed in our room was extremely... More 

Helpful?
Thank James E
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Dear James E, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We rely on guest feedback as this will allow us to improve wherever possible. Thank you for noting our good location and the cleanliness level of our property. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities and I... More 

Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a family wedding. My mother-in-law made the reservations for our branch of the family tree...I'm not sure I would have picked this location but it was close to the wedding festivities. Parking was easy to access and there is a covered walkway to the hotel. There are a lot of steps, though, so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marti E
Hotel M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review

Dear Marti E, Your review on the Crowne Plaza Dayton is greatly appreciated. We love to hear from our guests so that our service and facilities are consistently improving. We are happy that your hotel needs are met, but we would have liked to have exceeded your expectations. Please give us another chance to impress you! Again, thank you for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dayton hotels
1.4 mi away
Marriott at the University of Dayton
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South
6.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay