We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlewood Suites Newport News

Hotel website
Hotel deals
329 Commonwealth Dr, Yorktown, VA 23693
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Newport News
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Candlewood Suites Newport News
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    19
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
11
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Was advised that for one night it would be $50 to have our pet with us. That also covered a week long stay for the same fee. It is getting increasingly difficult to find a pet friendly location on the east coast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Newport News, responded to this review

Dear Thomas R, We are pleased you chose to stay with us during your visit to our area. The pet fee is for mandatory cleaning purposes after the guest checks out. Those rooms have to be treated with special chemicals. All pet friendly hotels unfortunately must charge a fee. Some actually have a daily charge; where as you mentioned we... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Came in town for a friend's wedding. Reservation was set. Staff was attentive to our needs. To our surprise was chosen guest of the week! Room was great. Hotel in a great location relative to a lot of places to go. Overall stay was very good. Will definitely stay again when back in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Newport News, responded to this review

Dear FKirb, We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us while you were visiting your friend for their wedding. Our staff truly goes above and beyond to make every guest feel we are a home away from home. Feel free to contact us as soon as you know you are planning another visit. Thanks again for choosing Candlewood Suites... More 

York, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

I stayed here on my business trip.Staff at hotel was wonderful. Manager Chris was awesome. Nice,clean and new facility. The amenities here really made me feel like I was at home.Ask for room on back side very beautiful view. I would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Newport News, responded to this review

Dear rkharris70, We appreciate your feedback. Our General Manager, Chris is quite awesome and we are lucky to have him on the team. Niceness and cleanliness are definitely words we want our guests to think when they enter our brand new facility. Many guests such as yourself say the lake behind us is very tranquil and a great way to... More 

Miami, FL
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

I wrote a review after staying here last summer. The "marketing director" replied, saying that I should specifically request a third-room floor facing the lake on my next visit. I did just that. I arrived very late on 12/25/14 (after midnight). The front desk attendant checked me in quickly, giving me a room on the third floor that faced the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Scott C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Newport News, responded to this review

Dear Timbolester, We are happy you have been so loyal to us. With a remodel does come change. We still have the same great bells and whistles we had before. The wonderful staff has remained the same. The new look is what our long term loyal guests like yourself, have been impressed with. Now that the renovation is over we... More 

Wooster, Ohio, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Candlewood Suites have an excellant staff, the rooms are very clean and newly remodeled, It is easy access and close to whatever you want to do in the area. The only problem we had was a slow check out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Newport News, responded to this review

Dear wolveringchef, Thank you for acknowledging our renovation. It definitely is in the final stages of being complete. We have brand new remodeled rooms and are still in the best location in the area no matter what brings you to town. We look forward to your return and thanks again for choosing the Candlewood Suites Newport News-Yorktown. More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Came down to Yorktown and had a friend recommend this place. I am incredibly pleased with my stay. The stay were friendly and very knowledgeable about the area, I never even needed to use my gps! Everything was so clean and inviting, it felt like I was at home. The room was gorgeous and the price was amazing! I will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Newport News, responded to this review

Dear abv22, We are pleased that you have enjoyed yourself. We are very competitively priced compared to other extended stays in our market on the upper scale. We strive to give the best service along with that. We are glad your gps was able to find us easily because we are in a convenient location. Happy you are now part... More 

Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My Finance and I came to area for a Hiring event sponsored by Orion and we decided to come to town a few days earlier to have some downtime before the event and we could not get a room booked at Holiday Inn Express in Hampton a day sooner so they pointed to this place and we are very thankful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Newport News, responded to this review

Dear MareSnare, We appreciate you being loyal to IHG and staying with us, rather than the Holiday Inn Express when you could not get a reservation there. Feel free to contact us directly anytime and we will make sure you have a great experience with us each chance you get to stay with us. We are your home away from... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We loved it. My wife picked this place out for our pre honeymoon cruise. Great location by movie theater. Great staff. Scott hooked us up with a great room rate facing the lake. We will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Newport News, responded to this review

Dear WeaponXX, Thank you for such kind words. Your wife was very pleasant when I spoke with her! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and please don't hesitate to reach out to us when you plan to return. Thanks again for choosing Candlewood Suites Newport News-Yorktown, Virginia. Your new home away from home. More 

Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. Great room cause it was a two room suite it was big. Only drawback was we had our dogs with us so we had to pay a $50 non refundable fee and we had to stay in a smoking room! The room was nice but I did notice the smell of smoke is still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Newport News, responded to this review

Dear Sherry B, Glad you and you family stayed with us. We are in the final stages of renovation meaning soon we will have very few if any smoking rooms. Our two bedroom suite is definitely like an apartment which is why we also allow pets in that room. The $50 is a standard because of the chemicals we have... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is currently in the process of updating its rooms. The rooms are very nice. The hotel has a fitness center with high quality machines - a treadmill, elliptical, and a bike. There is no free breakfast, but the suite rooms are equipped with adequate kitchens. The staff was very kind and helpful. I only had two complaints. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Newport News, responded to this review

Dear EB0320, The humidity does indeed cause condensation at times. As mentioned, we do in fact have all queen beds or full size beds to make it more comfortable with the full size kitchens that we have in the hotel. We are happy you stayed with us and look forward to having you and your family when you return to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay