We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Staybridge Suites Newport News-Yorktown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
401 Commonwealth Drive, Yorktown, VA 23693
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Newport News-Yorktown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Staybridge Suites Newport News-Yorktown
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    28
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
48
12
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (97)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Raleigh, USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

This is a standard Staybridge Suites but of the six or so I have stayed in this is the least well run.The hotel is in good condition and very clean. It had a good AC unit. It is a little isolated. Nothing major wrong but lots of little things from check in to the sparse evening socials: - asked for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Newport News-Yorktown, responded to this review

Dear neilmj, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It’s nice to know that you liked the overall look and cleanliness of our hotel. However, we apologize that some facilities and amenities fell below your expectations. Please be assured that all your feedback will be acted upon to ensure a more positive experience for your... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Stayed at this location for 3 nights. Had two separate rooms. The king studio seemed cleaner and fresher than the handicap suite. The handicap one bedroom had an odor that just wouldn't go away. The king studio room smelled fine. Hotel was a bit noisy, I would recommend staying above floor 1 and 2 if you can. Manager reception was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 via mobile

Awesome place ..very nice people and excellent breakfast... very clean rooms and grounds very nice pool .. I recommend this place to everyone .. It's in the center of everything...very convenient!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hampton, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Rooms are very clean, area has vast options for food and entertainment options. I didn't try the pool or the fitness room. Friendly staff members, they have DVD's at the front desk that you can rent free of charge which is awesome. Beds are comfortable and the rooms are huge. Loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Looking online for a place to stay over Christmas while visiting family and needed a dog-friendly, convenient location and found this Staybridge...so glad we stayed here! Staff was friendly and welcoming, room was CLEAN, bed comfortable, breakfasts were "ok" (typical fare). High ceilings in room were nice, felt roomy. Minor complaints include no oven (microwave only), bathroom vanity a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I checked in around 5 PM and the lobby looked very nice. I had reserved a king 2 room suite and I was placed on the 3rd level. As soon as I opened the door I was met with the 2 non stop barking dogs above me... I mean non stop barking. 1 Large and 1 small dog... I went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

The Yorktown Staybridge Suites is the WORST IHG branded hotel I've ever stayed in. My line of work requires that I travel about 10 months out of the year so I'm no stranger to hotels. The first issue I came into contact with was the absolutely AWFUL smell of body odor while walking to the elevator after I checked in.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Newport News-Yorktown, responded to this review

Dear Timothy N, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret the issues you had... More 

Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

My wife and I transferred to VA from PA. During this transition our place would not be ready to occupy until the first week of June. So, from May 1 thru June 1, 2014 Staybridge Suites became our temporary home. There, we were catered to for our every need. The staff, and facility are impeccable. Especially, Mary-Anne, George, and Kelly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
owings mills, md
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel during the Labor Day weekend. Very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was very helpful. Spacious rooms with kitchen. The complementary hot breakfast was delicious and plenty. A nice small indoor pool. One thing we did not like is pets are allowed in the hotel. Otherwise a nice place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I had to travel to Yorktown for a business conference and was put up in the Staybridge Suites. I have never seen a more immaculate hotel. I was upgraded to a two bedroom suite which was larger than most apartments. There was always someone to greet you at the front desk with a smile. The continental breakfast was amazing and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay