We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Yorktown hotels

Duke of York Motel

508 Water Street, Yorktown, VA 23690
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Duke of York Motel to your Saves list
Duke of York Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
51%
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Yorktown
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Crystal I Sumner, United States
  • Overview
  • Reviews (83)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (25)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (22)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    8
    15
    18
See reviews for
27
25
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sumner, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel upon recommendation from one of the staff members at the Victory Center. We had stayed in Williamsburg for two nights and wanted to stay a third night. However, there was no availability at any hotels in Williamsburg. We didn't know where we were going to stay so we were glad that this hotel was recommended... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

By far the rudest, meanest person on the planet. NO people skills or empathy in this poor excuse of a woman or human being. Refused to give me her boss' name or phone number. Flat out lied to me on the phone stating she took my reservation and told me about cancellation policy. When I told her who I talked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Mechanicsville, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My family recently drove by the cutest beach on the York River in the heart of Yorktown & noticed this hotel. A week later, I booked an overnight getaway for us. Based on reviews, I was skeptical. Unjustly so. This hotel was perfect for our needs. The front desk was more than friendly when I booked over the phone. When... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Had a 2 night stay over Memorial Day weekend and felt I got what I paid for. The room was a motel room - no fancy frills but quite clean and acceptable. The views were wonderful! The food options from the Duke of York were exceptional. Breakfast at the Island Café was fantastic. The staff were accommodating and friendly. No... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Let me first start off by saying that this review will not speak of an actual stay at the hotel. If you are asking yourself why, it is because of the RUDE, RUDE, behavior of the staff upon calling to inquire about a stay. I called to ask about rooms rates for a stay I wanted to book for my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
duchessofyork508, General Manager at Duke of York Motel, responded to this review

I would like to apologize to you for this issue you say happened when calling our hotel. I can't imagine anyone relaying this type of information to a potential guest, but we are going to address this issue. Again, our sincerest apologies. More

Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

When you stay at the Duke of York, you get a reasonably priced motel and GREAT food in the hotel restaurant. On Fridays and Saturdays, the chef is the one from the former renowned Nick's Seafood, the waterfront legend that had to be torn down following the 2003 hurricane. The French toast with cooked apples was the best I've ever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Howell, New Jersey
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had the opoortunity to stay here the night of September 12th 2013. I decided to call and make reservations the night before for a motorcycle trip. I spoke to a gentleman who was friendly and set me up with a king room with a view of the river. Upon my arrival, I met the manager, a very friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Richmond,Va
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

As you open the door to the lobby you realize this hotel has a lot of possibilities. The rooms are clean, nice and fairly modern looking. We choose the jacuzzi room. IT WAS AWESOME.The staff is helpful and attentive. The outdoor pool has a beautiful view of the York River and it might be the best part of this hotel.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was my second time in The Duke Of York motel. The last visit was really fantastic. This visit was ruined by the unprofessional behaviour of the manager. The hotel itself was the same and the cleaning staff were still as great as ever. Unfortunately I had to have dealings with the manager who was rude just like the other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
duchessofyork508, General Manager at Duke of York Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. More

Riva, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Sunday morning, we had no water pressure in our room -- no toilet flushes, no shower, etc. I mentioned this to the manager at check-out. The manager said "that's because he is filling the pool." Apparently filling the swimming pool requires shutting off the water to the entire hotel. I asked the manager if she considered this acceptable customer service.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
duchessofyork508, General Manager at Duke of York Motel, responded to this review

Water to the rooms is never shut off. When adding water to the pool, it does take some pressure away from a few rooms on our 5th floor, but there is never no water to the rooms. Ever. There is never a good time to add needed water to the pool, but this has to be done. In the past,... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Duke of York Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorktown
Free Parking, M...
Show More
8.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Newport News Yorktown
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
9.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newport News
Free Breakfast...
Show More
9.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newport News-Yorktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
15.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
8.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Newport News Yorktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of York Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of York Motel

Address: 508 Water Street, Yorktown, VA 23690
Location: United States > Virginia > Yorktown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Duke of York Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of York Hotel Yorktown
Duke York Yorktown
Duke York Hotel Yorktown
Duke Of York Yorktown

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned Hotel located in the center of Colonial Yorktown, Virginia. All rooms have a great view of the York River, from either private balconies or wide open verandas. Large courtyard area with shade trees overlooking the river.All rooms have refrigerators and microwaves. 20 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gradens, and 30 minutes to Jamestown. Locally famous restaurant on premises with many other dining choices within walking distance. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
57

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer