We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Yorktown hotels

Duke of York Motel

508 Water Street, Yorktown, VA 23690
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Duke of York Motel to your Saves list
Duke of York Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
51%
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Yorktown
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013
Mbwesq2000 Alexandria, Virginia
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    7
    15
    17
See reviews for
23
25
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Let me first start off by saying that this review will not speak of an actual stay at the hotel. If you are asking yourself why, it is because of the RUDE, RUDE, behavior of the staff upon calling to inquire about a stay. I called to ask about rooms rates for a stay I wanted to book for my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
duchessofyork508, General Manager at Duke of York Motel, responded to this review

I would like to apologize to you for this issue you say happened when calling our hotel. I can't imagine anyone relaying this type of information to a potential guest, but we are going to address this issue. Again, our sincerest apologies. More

Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

When you stay at the Duke of York, you get a reasonably priced motel and GREAT food in the hotel restaurant. On Fridays and Saturdays, the chef is the one from the former renowned Nick's Seafood, the waterfront legend that had to be torn down following the 2003 hurricane. The French toast with cooked apples was the best I've ever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Howell, New Jersey
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had the opoortunity to stay here the night of September 12th 2013. I decided to call and make reservations the night before for a motorcycle trip. I spoke to a gentleman who was friendly and set me up with a king room with a view of the river. Upon my arrival, I met the manager, a very friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Richmond,Va
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

As you open the door to the lobby you realize this hotel has a lot of possibilities. The rooms are clean, nice and fairly modern looking. We choose the jacuzzi room. IT WAS AWESOME.The staff is helpful and attentive. The outdoor pool has a beautiful view of the York River and it might be the best part of this hotel.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was my second time in The Duke Of York motel. The last visit was really fantastic. This visit was ruined by the unprofessional behaviour of the manager. The hotel itself was the same and the cleaning staff were still as great as ever. Unfortunately I had to have dealings with the manager who was rude just like the other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
duchessofyork508, General Manager at Duke of York Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. More

Riva, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Sunday morning, we had no water pressure in our room -- no toilet flushes, no shower, etc. I mentioned this to the manager at check-out. The manager said "that's because he is filling the pool." Apparently filling the swimming pool requires shutting off the water to the entire hotel. I asked the manager if she considered this acceptable customer service.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
duchessofyork508, General Manager at Duke of York Motel, responded to this review

Water to the rooms is never shut off. When adding water to the pool, it does take some pressure away from a few rooms on our 5th floor, but there is never no water to the rooms. Ever. There is never a good time to add needed water to the pool, but this has to be done. In the past,... More

Bassett, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

With all the bad reviews I felt I need to post another one on our second stay. We stayed the 11th-14th. The 2 times I have stayed here there has been wedding parties and every one seemed to be enjoying themselves so I don't understand the complaints. Both trips here we have been treated great by all staff. The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
duchessofyork508, General Manager at Duke of York Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Tina for your support! More

Hawley, Pennsylvania
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have no problem sharing my name b/c i have nothing to hide or be ashamed of.But what i and all of the guess for my sister wedding ran into some type of problem.The first thing i would like to address is when, Vivian asked my sister's in-laws, "why would the bride's sister be making the reservation when the she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
duchessofyork508, General Manager at Duke of York Motel, responded to this review

Group blocks are for specified dates, and the reduced rates only apply for the specified dates in the block, then all additional night stays are at our regular rate. This is the purpose of setting them up. Sorry that your stay was not what you intended. More

Duluth, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed in this motel for one night while attending a wedding. Our party consisted of 3 women. Check in was fine with no problems. The hotel was full and therefore had limited parking. The room had a nice view of the water but the bathroom had hair in the shower and did not feel as clean as it should... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
duchessofyork508, General Manager at Duke of York Motel, responded to this review

We apologize for not meeting your needs while staying with us. More

Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Her name is Vivian Harris and she loves nothing more than causing trouble. Booked a wedding party and she had the nerve to say we didn't have reservations. This is after waving a confirmation in her face. Since she didn't like what we were saying, she decided to call the police. 22 rooms reserved for this wedding and several trips... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
duchessofyork508, General Manager at Duke of York Motel, responded to this review

Everyone has to blame someone for THEIR behavior, and I do not mind being BASHED publicly. But, come on...tell the truth. When you block a group of rooms for a wedding, reunion, or whatever, that is what you get. When you come in a week to ten days before arrival and want to change days and rooms, unfortunately this is... More

Been to Duke of York Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of York Motel

Also Known As:
Duke Of York Hotel Yorktown
Duke Of York Hotel
Duke York Yorktown
Duke York Hotel Yorktown
Duke Of York Yorktown
Address: 508 Water Street, Yorktown, VA 23690
Location: United States > Virginia > Yorktown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Yorktown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned Hotel located in the center of Colonial Yorktown, Virginia. All rooms have a great view of the York River, from either private balconies or wide open verandas. Large courtyard area with shade trees overlooking the river.All rooms have refrigerators and microwaves. 20 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gradens, and 30 minutes to Jamestown. Locally famous restaurant on premises with many other dining choices within walking distance. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Duke of York Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of York Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.