We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Newport News Yorktown

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
105 Cybernetics Way, Yorktown, VA 23693
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Newport News Yorktown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard by Marriott Newport News Yorktown
Courtyard by Marriott Newport News Yorktown
Courtyard by Marriott Newport News Yorktown
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    51
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
44
20
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (139)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
South Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Needed a hotel fairly close to the Hampton Convention Center. This one is about 6 miles away via I64. There are hotels closer but the folks we traveled with stayed here so we followed suit. The hotel is clean and the staff friendly. The free breakfast is good. The free WiFi worked well. Our room had two queen sized beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angela N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newport News Yorktown, responded to this review

Dear gwevans, Thank you for letting us know about your stay over the weekend! I am glad to know that our service met your expectations, in addition to the food and beverage options for your sports group. Please accept my apologies for the condition of your mattress and your thermostat. Rest assured that I have brought your feedback to the... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I don't stay in hotels often because they tend to get my reservation messed up or something. The staff here were all very curtious and the manager made sure everything was prefect. I've never felt more as home at a hotel. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angela N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newport News Yorktown, responded to this review

Dear Greg P, I am delighted to hear that your recent stay at our hotel was an enjoyable one! Travel can certainly be stressful and your destination can always carry those "what-if's" as far as your accommodations, service, etc. It is wonderful to know that we exceeded your expectations and that we get the chance to see you once more... More 

North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Let me first say thank you for the great customer service in the Bistro and the front desk. I really appreciated the effort to get my husband and I checked in before check-in time. We had a funeral to attend at 11am and needed to get changed. We were also very thankful for the great service in the Bistro. Now... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angela N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newport News Yorktown, responded to this review

Dear Neekeesha, Thank you so much for taking a moment to tell us about your experience, and please accept my apologies for the insects you discovered in your rooms. I can't thank you enough for taking the time to post photographic evidence of you what you encountered - not only does it help us to improve our service to all... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We are not having a good start so far the room was dirty the bed had stains in it and hair and the pillows we saw had sweat stains one at least one of them. We are here for week let's hope it gets better. Joseph J

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angela N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newport News Yorktown, responded to this review

Dear Joe J, Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience thus far and allowing us the opportunity to make things right for you while you are still with us. I look forward to meeting you soon and connecting with you in person to find out more about your stay at our hotel and what else... More 

Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

I can't say enough about this hotel. I accompanied my husband on a business trip last week and we stayed at this property for just a couple of days. Everyone, I mean *everyone* was friendly, courteous, and helpful. Special kudos to the kind bartender--she was exceptional! The hotel was clean to include our room and all public areas. The entire... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angela N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newport News Yorktown, responded to this review

Hello Sparkopotomus, Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience at our hotel! It is great to hear that the team here at the Courtyard by Marriott Newport News/Yorktown exceeded your expectations and I can't wait to share your feedback with everyone, especially Cameo our bartender! We look forward to having you back soon - hopefully you... More 

USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Last month for business I stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott in Yorktown but had to change my future reservations to another hotel due to lower per night cost elsewhere. When I brought this to Angela's attention, she informed me that she was able to match the lower rate. In addition, she asked where I was working and told me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott in Yorktown is a wonderful place to stay for your visits to the area. The hotel itself is about 5 minutes from I-64 and is located across the street from a shopping area with numerous restaurants, a grocery and other stores. The hotel itself is attractive, with easy, spacious free parking and a welcoming, pretty lobby. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angela N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newport News Yorktown, responded to this review

Hi SophiaSpeaks, Thank you so much for your kind words and wonderful feedback! It is delightful to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience at our hotel. I can't wait to celebrate your comments with our team here and thank them for a job well-done. You are correct about the shuttle, as it does go to the Newport News/Williamsburg... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

If you are okay with no one at the front desks, questionable visitors (not guests), staff that goes out to cars (that are not guests) and just a horrible stay, this is your hotel. As a Gold Elite member, i now question if I should try other chains. I travel 40 weeks out of the year for almost 10 years... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angela N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newport News Yorktown, responded to this review

Dear Mr. B, I will be reaching out to you personally to discuss your stay further, but in the meantime I would like to express my sincerest apologies for the experience you had at our hotel. Please know that your feedback has been taken very seriously, and I assure you that several steps have already been taken to ensure that... More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Overall we were satisfied with our stay. The staff was welcoming and pleasant, the room appeared to be clean. However there was a bad odor in the hall and the room. It smelled like animal. I think it might be in the carpet. I researched several hotels in the area and I don't remember this one being pet friendly but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angela N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newport News Yorktown, responded to this review

Dear karentl2012, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at our hotel. It's great to hear that you were pleased with the level of service you were provided, in addition to our location. There certainly is a lot to do and see in Newport News! Please accept my apologies for the odor you encountered; you... More 

Fort Washington, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

This hotel is a great deal. The room rate is low but the accommodations were above what I expected. The room looks as nice as the pictures and I also noted that it was very quiet which was surprising because the parking lot was almost completely full. The room and bathroom was clean and all the appliances worked pretty good.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities