We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Ventura hotels

Vagabond Inn Ventura

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Vagabond Inn Ventura to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
63%
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Ventura
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Terrie K Ventura, California
  • Overview
  • Reviews (128)
  • Photos (43)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (21)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    52
    25
    14
    12
See reviews for
25
48
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We recently hosted our children and relatives from San Bernardino at the Vagabond Inn in Ventura during the Ventura County Fair. The rooms are quiet and clean with many extras such as a refrigerator and microwave in every room as well as a free continental breakfast every morning. This saved us a lot of money in not having to eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 3 nights and was really pleased with the cleanliness of our room. Granted, the hotel is a bit antiquated but everything in our room worked perfectly. No leaks, squeaks, or creepy crawlers as I've read in other's reviews. Perfect location to the fairgrounds, beach and downtown Ventura.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! This is undoubtedly one of the best locations in town. The owner plans to continue with upgrades during the winter months when are not as busy. The upgrades are flat screen TV's right now, and new carpet and vanity areas in the winter. Hopefully your comments will get things moving along a bit faster. We... More

swindon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived here not feeling particularly well. we'd driven over nearly three weeks from Chicago "doing Route 66" and fancied a bit of R&R on the beach. The receptionist wasn't very helpful at all and didn't do the hotel any favours with her attitude. We were given a room on the second floor with no elevator and lots of bags. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. We are in the middle of the Ventura County Fair right now. Amtrak adds extra runs to the fair each day during this time. The homeless people congregate by the railroad tracks there because a local church brings a van a couple times a day to take them to the other... More

San Diego, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Chose this hotel from Booking Buddy not knowing the area. Arrived late from San Francisco and rooms were ready and clean, check in was fast, and all in family very pleased with their accommodations . Close to downtown, gas stations, freeway, and eating establishments. Will surely book here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate your comments. We hope you come again soon! More

Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I and our dog stayed at the Vagabond Inn Ventura for 2 nights. There was a small refrigerator and microwave in the room, which was clean and comfortable. We stayed at the Inn on Sunday and Monday, and the Inn seemed full. Considering how many people must stay here, it was very well maintained. The pool was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for the awesome review! We actually have been full almost every night since summer started. It's been so hot everywhere else it seems. We love dogs here and have a dogie area with clean up bags provided. We hope you all come back soon! More

Monrovia, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the Vagabond Inn for two nights, the young lady at the front desk, Alex, was very professional, courteous, and had a big smile, made me feel laugh. Room was nice and clean and quiet at night, within walking distance to beach, restaurants, and downtown Ventura, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. I will be staying at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you! I'm glad that you mentioned Alex by name so I can personally thank her and show your review to her. Please come again soon. More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here during a road trip, the place was nice and clean. The staff was very friendly, and very accommodating. It is walking distance to the beach and downtown Ventura. Downtown had a cute little shops and awesome bars/restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! We hope you come again soon. More

Grover Beach, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We paid $156 for our room at the Vagabond Inn in Ventura, which is more than we would have paid at a Nice Holiday Inn and the room was dirty. There were nasty dark stains in the carpet and the walls were dirty. There was a little table and two chairs in the room where you could sit and eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you had a room that didn't appear to be clean. I will definitely follow up on the hole in the wall not finished properly. We do not offer breakfast at this location, but do have granola bars and fruit available. The hotel you mentioned was selling rooms last weekend for $259.00 and up. Weekends on the coast... More

New Jersey
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
42 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at the Vagabond Inn for 2 nights. The room was very basic and clean. It has the sink outside the bathroom and a refrigerator near the sink. The beds were comfortable and it was fairly quiet at night. The hotel is just a few blocks from the main part of town with all of the restaurants and shops.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. I hope you can come again soon! More

Devon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We weren't sure what we had arrived at when we got here but the staff were very friendly. Our room was clean and very well equipped with coffee maker, good range of toiletries and towels beautifully presented. Room itself was a bit dated looking from the outside and the carpet had definitely seen better days. Heard the train but it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property! All of our rooms have a microwave oven, a small refrigerator and a coffee maker. They also have an iron and ironing board just in case your clothes get wrinkled on the way. We don't offer a breakfast at this location, but we do have an on-site restaurant. We do have complementary breakfast snacks,... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Ventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Vagabond Inn Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ventura

Address: 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ventura 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Ventura Hotel Ventura
Vagabond Hotel Ventura
Ventura Vagabond Hotel

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Ventura with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Historic Downtown Ventura, the Vagabond Inn is walking distance to the shops, restaurants, theaters and more. Just behind the Inn is a footbridge that takes you to the Ventura Pier and Promenade to the right and to San BuenaVentura State Beach to the left (where you will find the famous Jolly Oyster!) ... more   less 
Number of rooms
82

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vagabond Inn Ventura staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer