We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Ventura hotels

Vagabond Inn Ventura

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Vagabond Inn Ventura to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
64%
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Ventura
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
GOWEREXPLORERS R Swansea, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (130)
  • Photos (41)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (22)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    52
    26
    14
    13
See reviews for
25
49
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good value for money Inn. We had booked here for the convenience of it’s location and value for money. The room was very clean and was on the ground floor which did have its disadvantage of people walking past. There was plenty of coffee/tea in the room together with a fridge. The walls however were a little thin and you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Since I paid $150 per night here on Labor Day weekend, I expected something halfway decent. What a disappointment! The queen bed was soft and comfortable, and the hotel is situated very close to the pedestrian viaduct leading to the Ventura Pier. But the room was small, with just one old tattered chair. No A/C! On a 78-degree day, it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ventura, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently hosted our children and relatives from San Bernardino at the Vagabond Inn in Ventura during the Ventura County Fair. The rooms are quiet and clean with many extras such as a refrigerator and microwave in every room as well as a free continental breakfast every morning. This saved us a lot of money in not having to eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

We are so happy when we get a review like this one! Most of our guests have been coming for several years and have made us their home base. We love the family feeling that you bring to us, and look forward to seeing you again next year! Thanks. More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights and was really pleased with the cleanliness of our room. Granted, the hotel is a bit antiquated but everything in our room worked perfectly. No leaks, squeaks, or creepy crawlers as I've read in other's reviews. Perfect location to the fairgrounds, beach and downtown Ventura.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! This is undoubtedly one of the best locations in town. The owner plans to continue with upgrades during the winter months when are not as busy. The upgrades are flat screen TV's right now, and new carpet and vanity areas in the winter. Hopefully your comments will get things moving along a bit faster. We... More

swindon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived here not feeling particularly well. we'd driven over nearly three weeks from Chicago "doing Route 66" and fancied a bit of R&R on the beach. The receptionist wasn't very helpful at all and didn't do the hotel any favours with her attitude. We were given a room on the second floor with no elevator and lots of bags. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. We are in the middle of the Ventura County Fair right now. Amtrak adds extra runs to the fair each day during this time. The homeless people congregate by the railroad tracks there because a local church brings a van a couple times a day to take them to the other... More

San Diego, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Chose this hotel from Booking Buddy not knowing the area. Arrived late from San Francisco and rooms were ready and clean, check in was fast, and all in family very pleased with their accommodations . Close to downtown, gas stations, freeway, and eating establishments. Will surely book here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate your comments. We hope you come again soon! More

Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My husband and I and our dog stayed at the Vagabond Inn Ventura for 2 nights. There was a small refrigerator and microwave in the room, which was clean and comfortable. We stayed at the Inn on Sunday and Monday, and the Inn seemed full. Considering how many people must stay here, it was very well maintained. The pool was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for the awesome review! We actually have been full almost every night since summer started. It's been so hot everywhere else it seems. We love dogs here and have a dogie area with clean up bags provided. We hope you all come back soon! More

Monrovia, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed at the Vagabond Inn for two nights, the young lady at the front desk, Alex, was very professional, courteous, and had a big smile, made me feel laugh. Room was nice and clean and quiet at night, within walking distance to beach, restaurants, and downtown Ventura, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. I will be staying at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you! I'm glad that you mentioned Alex by name so I can personally thank her and show your review to her. Please come again soon. More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during a road trip, the place was nice and clean. The staff was very friendly, and very accommodating. It is walking distance to the beach and downtown Ventura. Downtown had a cute little shops and awesome bars/restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! We hope you come again soon. More

Grover Beach, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We paid $156 for our room at the Vagabond Inn in Ventura, which is more than we would have paid at a Nice Holiday Inn and the room was dirty. There were nasty dark stains in the carpet and the walls were dirty. There was a little table and two chairs in the room where you could sit and eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you had a room that didn't appear to be clean. I will definitely follow up on the hole in the wall not finished properly. We do not offer breakfast at this location, but do have granola bars and fruit available. The hotel you mentioned was selling rooms last weekend for $259.00 and up. Weekends on the coast... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Ventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Vagabond Inn Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ventura

Address: 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ventura 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Ventura Hotel Ventura
Vagabond Hotel Ventura
Ventura Vagabond Hotel

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Ventura with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Historic Downtown Ventura, the Vagabond Inn is walking distance to the shops, restaurants, theaters and more. Just behind the Inn is a footbridge that takes you to the Ventura Pier and Promenade to the right and to San BuenaVentura State Beach to the left (where you will find the famous Jolly Oyster!) ... more   less 
Number of rooms
82

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vagabond Inn Ventura staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer