We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vagabond Inn Ventura

Hotel website
756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    62
    33
    15
    15
See reviews for
31
55
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (154)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Thankfully found this place while frantically seeking a last minute hotel in either Ventura or Santa Barbara. Seriously, this was the only place that had any rooms! So in that sense, I am and will forever be grateful for the Vagabond Inn. The man who checked us in was also awesome, funny, and super nice. The room itself was just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Every time I went to the office the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was clean but a bit shabby. Much of the furniture was older, not real clean chairs. The ocean is just a short walk away. :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We have some new furniture going into rooms this spring, and most rooms are getting new chairs. We are replacing some carpet too. The sooner the better! More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Clean, quiet, comfortable beds. The cost was reasonable. Short easy walk to the pier. Dogs welcome, but a few were barking, didn't hear any at night. The people at check in were friendly and quick. We planned on one night but stayed two. Nice little tourist town to explore within blocks. Quite a few hhomeless, so secure your valuables. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I think the town was built around the train in the beginning because it does run right through the downtown area. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon. More 

salt lake city, Utah
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

I was looking for a hotel with access to the beach and pier at a reasonable price. This hotel fits the bill. I booked on Expedia and unbeknownst to me (because exact location of hotel was unbeknownst) I inadvertently booked in Oxnard Vagabond just down the road. But I didn't want Oxnard (beware of Exoedia and similar who can be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thanks for letting us know about your stay. I have a list half a page long of things to check just from your comments. I will have someone check every refrigerator. I will have each one set at the same temperature when the room is cleaned as a check-out. I will also have every bathtub checked to make sure the... More 

Fullerton, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Room okay. This is a waste of my time which I was willing to submit without a bunch of words. 200 words is a waste of my time, time time time, time time time time time time time time time t a a a a a a

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

I has no idea that you had to write 200 words! I'll have to check that out, maybe it meant 200 characters. Otherwise, it's a small essay! Thanks for taking the time anyway, we appriciate it. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Stopped in Ventura on the way to Disneyland, we got a family suite and was very happy with the room and the kind front desk staff. We had a swim in the heated pool and ate dinner at the adjoining restaurant! It was a great beginning to a wonderful vacation!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! The family room is a big hit with families with kids, because the kids get their own TV and bunk beds. It sure beats sharing a bed with your brother or sister! We hope to see you again. More 

VANCOUVER
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

We have stayed here a few times before but things are going downhill. The local police took one of the homeless down in the parking lot. We love the VagaBond Restaurant on site. Great staff but the Motel needs help. NO WIFI

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

We are putting a fence up around the back parking lot to keep people from using it as a shortcut to the beach and pier. We do have WiFi, but the password has been changed. More 

Monrovia, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Nice clean room, short walk to beach and pier, and restaurants. JUANITA, in customer service has a cheerful personality, professional, very helpful, and a nice smile. Pool is heated. Great prices. I''ll be back real soon

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! I will surely pass them on to Juanita. We hope to see you soon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Ive stayed here for two weeks and liked it a lot. The pool is heated , rooms are all remodeled with flat screens and pillow-top beds and brand new carpet.I had no problem with parking at all either.what I think would be better if they put more lights where it is dark it the parking lot area and lots of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We put in extra parking lot lighting last year, and we do have security cameras. No one has had their car broken into, but a couple of construction guys had some things lifted from the back of their truck. The things in the back of the truck were not secured. We do have maps with... More 

Prescott, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Parking was good outside of my room as I have a 20-foot van. Because of the restaurant parking, sometimes I had to find other parking, which was very difficult. The room was nice and the location was good. The staff were very helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! We have parking in the back of the hotel for larger vehicles. If you have a room along the back side of the hotel, you can see the back parking lot from the window in the bathroom. (You can also see the Ocean from there too.) We hope that next time you're in the area you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question