We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vagabond Inn Ventura

2.0 of 5 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    57
    28
    15
    14
See reviews for
26
52
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (139)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Shell Beach, California, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Overall the hotel was OK. It has a good location to pier/beach and downtown Ventura. Staff was friendly. The cons were the room smelled heavily like smoke (even though it was a non-smoking room), and the cable TV was not working initially (receiver was tucked behind dresser).

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed the Dec 19th-21st 2014 The hotel was in a convenient location easy freeway access. The restaurant next to made it convenient to find something good to. The overall experience was ok the only major problem was the floors stains in room 214. The bathroom as in a lot places look like it was a quick cleaning couple hairs here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

got really good service checking in from female weekend desk clerk. pool was a great comfortably warm pool for a cool evening swim and jacuzzi not too hot. room was ok, a bit small, and bed a tad too firm for me but overall ok experience. quiet enough because some minor car traffic. very convenient walking to old town ventura... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thanks you for writing a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We only have 4 smoking rooms, but once in a while. people smoke in non smoking rooms. I'm thinking of making the entire hotel non-smoking, with a designated smoking area away from the rooms. More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 via mobile

I got jacked by people who stayed in the room and acted as me and signed my name for extended stay on my credit card, talked to mngr and they said they would have the police call me but never heard from anyone! $500 was removed from my account and could not pay rent in full and had to borrow.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

I don't think that happened at this hotel. I have not heard anything about this. The staff is not aware of it either. More 

Manhattan Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

My two teen daughters and I were traveling to Santa Barbara for a sports tournament recently. I was late booking a room for the tournament so I ended up having to look for a motel for one night in Ventura, CA which was about 20 minutes from the tournament venue. I considered several options recommended by the tournament organizers in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay will us. The guys that you saw outside work in the oil fields on and off shore in Ventura. They look dirty, but they are paid on average close to $100K per year. They are good people who work hard. They usually go to bed very early because they have to be at... More 

Phelan, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

My husband came to town September 1st and stayed next door at the Best Western Inn. We have been a Diamond member of BW for years. He told the lady when he checked in he would be staying maybe a Month or more for work as he works for So Cal Gas. He wanted to pay by the week. First... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have a lot of business guys who stay every week and some stay over weekends too. It's always great to get to meet the families. We never charge any more as long as you stay in the same room. We are always happy to have the families here together. More 

Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Arrived at the Vagabond Inn on a Tuesday and checked out that Friday. I didn't plan to stay this long but with a room rate of only $88 and the beach a mere 400 yards away, I felt compelled to do so. Here's my take on the Vagabond Inn. PROS: Very inexpensive (although it was during the week and not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you Gordon for taking the time to post such a thoughtful review. I am going to put 'pressure wash the building' on my to do list for this week. We are slowly replacing the air conditioners with new thermostat controlled heat/air units that are very quiet and can maintain the temperature in the room to your settings. We have... More 

Glendale, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We have been staying at this location for several years and find it to be a very nice place. The girls at the front desk are very friendly and helpful. There is a pedestrian bridge over the freeway for easy access to the beach and a full service restaurant right next door. A short walk to downtown Ventura.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We love having guests that come back year after year. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Good value for money Inn. We had booked here for the convenience of it’s location and value for money. The room was very clean and was on the ground floor which did have its disadvantage of people walking past. There was plenty of coffee/tea in the room together with a fridge. The walls however were a little thin and you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We don't advertise a breakfast, because we really don't have one. The breakfast snacks we offer are what's allowed by the City of Ventura for properties that don't have a commercial kitchen. They don't consider the Restaurant's kitchen to be ours because we are in separate buildings. We may be able to add a commercial kitchen... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Since I paid $150 per night here on Labor Day weekend, I expected something halfway decent. What a disappointment! The queen bed was soft and comfortable, and the hotel is situated very close to the pedestrian viaduct leading to the Ventura Pier. But the room was small, with just one old tattered chair. No A/C! On a 78-degree day, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We are hunting for the room with the lone chair. I've asked housekeeping to find which room it is. So far, all the A/C's have worked, but I am having them check those too. The A/C is controlled by a thermostat on the guest room wall. We can't serve breakfast here because we don't have a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Vagabond Inn Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ventura

Address: 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ventura 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Ventura Hotel Ventura
Vagabond Hotel Ventura
Ventura Vagabond Hotel

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay