We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Ventura hotels

Vagabond Inn Ventura

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Vagabond Inn Ventura to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
63%
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Ventura
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Jessica M
  • Overview
  • Reviews (124)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (43)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (17)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    50
    26
    13
    12
See reviews for
22
45
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed here during a road trip, the place was nice and clean. The staff was very friendly, and very accommodating. It is walking distance to the beach and downtown Ventura. Downtown had a cute little shops and awesome bars/restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grover Beach, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We paid $156 for our room at the Vagabond Inn in Ventura, which is more than we would have paid at a Nice Holiday Inn and the room was dirty. There were nasty dark stains in the carpet and the walls were dirty. There was a little table and two chairs in the room where you could sit and eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you had a room that didn't appear to be clean. I will definitely follow up on the hole in the wall not finished properly. We do not offer breakfast at this location, but do have granola bars and fruit available. The hotel you mentioned was selling rooms last weekend for $259.00 and up. Weekends on the coast... More

New Jersey
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Vagabond Inn for 2 nights. The room was very basic and clean. It has the sink outside the bathroom and a refrigerator near the sink. The beds were comfortable and it was fairly quiet at night. The hotel is just a few blocks from the main part of town with all of the restaurants and shops.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. I hope you can come again soon! More

Devon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We weren't sure what we had arrived at when we got here but the staff were very friendly. Our room was clean and very well equipped with coffee maker, good range of toiletries and towels beautifully presented. Room itself was a bit dated looking from the outside and the carpet had definitely seen better days. Heard the train but it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property! All of our rooms have a microwave oven, a small refrigerator and a coffee maker. They also have an iron and ironing board just in case your clothes get wrinkled on the way. We don't offer a breakfast at this location, but we do have an on-site restaurant. We do have complementary breakfast snacks,... More

gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Basic room. Lovely shower. Lots of banging and trains noise. Rubbish WIFI. No breakfast. You pay for what you get. Very close to the beach, in walking distance. The pool is nothing like as big as it looks in the picture. Ok for one night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a review. Our location is one of the best in town. We had some problems with the WIFI for a couple of days. We needed to replace a transmitter. It is running good now. I'm sorry that we didn't catch it right away. We do not offer a breakfast at this location because the County of Ventura... More

Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have driven by this motel over the years but had not stayed there until this visit. Has an overall vintage 70's look but our room was updated and very comfortable. The Amtrax train runs right behind the back building which and it is both loud and you can feel the rumble...thankfully it only came by a couple of times during... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! I will make sure that Juanita sees this. Thank you. More

Merced, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at this motel on two different occasions its very close to the ocean and easy to get there from the inn. The staff in the evening is very helpful very nice friendly they tell you where you can go and sight see the rooms are older but ours was remodeled and they were remodeling others while our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

With our Loyalty program, a few more stays and you will earn a free night. Be sure to mention it next time you check in. Thank you for taking the time to review our property. This is a great location if you want to walk to the Fairgrounds, the Beach, or Downtown. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was really impressed with Alexandria and Jenny at the front desk. Very helpful. Room was clean especially the bath. Restaurant on location. Least liked -- Slow wifi, noisy at night. My first time staying here though I've driven past it many times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I will pass your comments on to Alexandria and Jenny. The staff really tries hard and it is great when they are recognized by name. We are upgrading our WiFi service to accommodate the high usage at night. We hope you stop by again. More

Oxnard, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I checked in 6/20/2014 with my girlfriend on the way to an event. The front desk was very helpful and the restaurant connected to the hotel was great. The room was a decent size, clean, new flat screen tv, but since it's pet friendly it smelled a bit. Don't know if the person who stood before us had a pet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us your thoughts about your stay with us. The information provided is very helpful to us to see where we need to focus our attention. Today, my attention will be on the doors. I'll have all of them checked and figure out a solution. Thanks again, and please come again soon. More

Torrance
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a good stopover for me when going to Solvang. They have good wifi, there is plenty of food nearby,clean,,breakfast, and near ocean. The one thing I didn't like-they allow pets-and this dog kept barking when the owner was away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thanks for letting us know about the barking dog. We have a policy that the animals are not to be left unattended in the room. We take the cell numbers of a pet owners just in case there is a problem. I'll make sure to revisit these rules with the staff. We hope you stay with us again soon! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Ventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
Quiet, Beach, B...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 20 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Quiet, Re...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#3 of 20 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Budget, Free Br...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Clocktower Inn Hotel
Clocktower Inn Hotel
#14 of 20 in Ventura
3.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Quiet, Beach, M...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ventura

Address: 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ventura 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Ventura Hotel Ventura
Vagabond Hotel Ventura
Ventura Vagabond Hotel

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Historic Downtown Ventura, the Vagabond Inn is walking distance to the shops, restaurants, theaters and more. Just behind the Inn is a footbridge that takes you to the Ventura Pier and Promenade to the right and to San BuenaVentura State Beach to the left (where you will find the famous Jolly Oyster!) ... more   less 
Number of rooms
82

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer