We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Ventura hotels

Vagabond Inn Ventura

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Hotel amenities
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Vagabond Inn Ventura to your Saves list
64%
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ventura
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
csoman Phelan, California
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    56
    26
    14
    13
See reviews for
25
51
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (134)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Phelan, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband came to town September 1st and stayed next door at the Best Western Inn. We have been a Diamond member of BW for years. He told the lady when he checked in he would be staying maybe a Month or more for work as he works for So Cal Gas. He wanted to pay by the week. First... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have a lot of business guys who stay every week and some stay over weekends too. It's always great to get to meet the families. We never charge any more as long as you stay in the same room. We are always happy to have the families here together. More

Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Arrived at the Vagabond Inn on a Tuesday and checked out that Friday. I didn't plan to stay this long but with a room rate of only $88 and the beach a mere 400 yards away, I felt compelled to do so. Here's my take on the Vagabond Inn. PROS: Very inexpensive (although it was during the week and not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you Gordon for taking the time to post such a thoughtful review. I am going to put 'pressure wash the building' on my to do list for this week. We are slowly replacing the air conditioners with new thermostat controlled heat/air units that are very quiet and can maintain the temperature in the room to your settings. We have... More

Glendale, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We have been staying at this location for several years and find it to be a very nice place. The girls at the front desk are very friendly and helpful. There is a pedestrian bridge over the freeway for easy access to the beach and a full service restaurant right next door. A short walk to downtown Ventura.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We love having guests that come back year after year. We hope to see you again soon. More

Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Good value for money Inn. We had booked here for the convenience of it’s location and value for money. The room was very clean and was on the ground floor which did have its disadvantage of people walking past. There was plenty of coffee/tea in the room together with a fridge. The walls however were a little thin and you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We don't advertise a breakfast, because we really don't have one. The breakfast snacks we offer are what's allowed by the City of Ventura for properties that don't have a commercial kitchen. They don't consider the Restaurant's kitchen to be ours because we are in separate buildings. We may be able to add a commercial kitchen... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Since I paid $150 per night here on Labor Day weekend, I expected something halfway decent. What a disappointment! The queen bed was soft and comfortable, and the hotel is situated very close to the pedestrian viaduct leading to the Ventura Pier. But the room was small, with just one old tattered chair. No A/C! On a 78-degree day, it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We are hunting for the room with the lone chair. I've asked housekeeping to find which room it is. So far, all the A/C's have worked, but I am having them check those too. The A/C is controlled by a thermostat on the guest room wall. We can't serve breakfast here because we don't have a... More

Ventura, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We recently hosted our children and relatives from San Bernardino at the Vagabond Inn in Ventura during the Ventura County Fair. The rooms are quiet and clean with many extras such as a refrigerator and microwave in every room as well as a free continental breakfast every morning. This saved us a lot of money in not having to eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

We are so happy when we get a review like this one! Most of our guests have been coming for several years and have made us their home base. We love the family feeling that you bring to us, and look forward to seeing you again next year! Thanks. More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and was really pleased with the cleanliness of our room. Granted, the hotel is a bit antiquated but everything in our room worked perfectly. No leaks, squeaks, or creepy crawlers as I've read in other's reviews. Perfect location to the fairgrounds, beach and downtown Ventura.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! This is undoubtedly one of the best locations in town. The owner plans to continue with upgrades during the winter months when are not as busy. The upgrades are flat screen TV's right now, and new carpet and vanity areas in the winter. Hopefully your comments will get things moving along a bit faster. We... More

swindon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Arrived here not feeling particularly well. we'd driven over nearly three weeks from Chicago "doing Route 66" and fancied a bit of R&R on the beach. The receptionist wasn't very helpful at all and didn't do the hotel any favours with her attitude. We were given a room on the second floor with no elevator and lots of bags. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. We are in the middle of the Ventura County Fair right now. Amtrak adds extra runs to the fair each day during this time. The homeless people congregate by the railroad tracks there because a local church brings a van a couple times a day to take them to the other... More

San Diego, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Chose this hotel from Booking Buddy not knowing the area. Arrived late from San Francisco and rooms were ready and clean, check in was fast, and all in family very pleased with their accommodations . Close to downtown, gas stations, freeway, and eating establishments. Will surely book here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate your comments. We hope you come again soon! More

Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My husband and I and our dog stayed at the Vagabond Inn Ventura for 2 nights. There was a small refrigerator and microwave in the room, which was clean and comfortable. We stayed at the Inn on Sunday and Monday, and the Inn seemed full. Considering how many people must stay here, it was very well maintained. The pool was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for the awesome review! We actually have been full almost every night since summer started. It's been so hot everywhere else it seems. We love dogs here and have a dogie area with clean up bags provided. We hope you all come back soon! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Vagabond Inn Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ventura

Address: 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ventura 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Ventura Hotel Ventura
Vagabond Hotel Ventura
Ventura Vagabond Hotel

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay