We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vagabond Inn Ventura

2.0 of 5 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    59
    29
    15
    15
See reviews for
28
53
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Parking was good outside of my room as I have a 20-foot van. Because of the restaurant parking, sometimes I had to find other parking, which was very difficult. The room was nice and the location was good. The staff were very helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palmdale, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good price, close to pier, old town, museums, mission. Great breakfast in the restaurant. Spencer McKenzies fish across the street has the best fish ever. The Alhoa Grill by the pier has a good happy hour with $2.75 draft beers and well priced appetizers. Erics's on the pier also has a great happy hour with $2.50 premium drafts and wonderful... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were looking for a family friendly place to stay and the Vagabond was decently priced for a 3 star rated hotel. We had no problems during check in and the gal behind the desk was very friendly. We booked two rooms and which were located on separate floors. We were there barely a half hour when we noticed a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Santa Maria, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed here a few times now, and really like the fact that its located within walking distance of the pier, and also downtown where the clubs are clustered. The location makes it desirable. They are also pet friendly and don't charge a ridiculous pet fee either. With that said, though, the property itself is aging, the clientele can get... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Taunton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is where I normally stay when visiting Ventura 3-4 times annually. This time staff absence meant clean rooms were't available until 4:15. TV in room had no signal - not a big deal for me. Motel location is excellent - walking distance to both downtown and beach promenade. Restaurant next door serves great breakfasts. Overall a good deal for... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I just booked my 3rd visit for tomorrow's quick overnight getaway. I am always pleased with this motel. Can't wait for me and my pup to check in and relax. We really love it here and recommend the Vagabond to all our friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shell Beach, California, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

Overall the hotel was OK. It has a good location to pier/beach and downtown Ventura. Staff was friendly. The cons were the room smelled heavily like smoke (even though it was a non-smoking room), and the cable TV was not working initially (receiver was tucked behind dresser).

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. Charter Cable TV made us get receivers for each TV. This is kind of a hassle, because people move them, or they slip from the spot they were mounted. I'm glad that you realized the receiver just needed to be moved, rather that thinking the TV cable didn't work. If you were in a non-smoking room,... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed the Dec 19th-21st 2014 The hotel was in a convenient location easy freeway access. The restaurant next to made it convenient to find something good to. The overall experience was ok the only major problem was the floors stains in room 214. The bathroom as in a lot places look like it was a quick cleaning couple hairs here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. The location is convenient to the downtown shops and restaurants as well as to the beach. The stain on the carpet is from bleach and it won't come out. That room is scheduled for new carpet this winter. As far as planned right now, approx. 32 rooms will be re-carpeted. Thanks for letting me know about... More 

Minneapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

got really good service checking in from female weekend desk clerk. pool was a great comfortably warm pool for a cool evening swim and jacuzzi not too hot. room was ok, a bit small, and bed a tad too firm for me but overall ok experience. quiet enough because some minor car traffic. very convenient walking to old town ventura... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thanks you for writing a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We only have 4 smoking rooms, but once in a while. people smoke in non smoking rooms. I'm thinking of making the entire hotel non-smoking, with a designated smoking area away from the rooms. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 via mobile

I got jacked by people who stayed in the room and acted as me and signed my name for extended stay on my credit card, talked to mngr and they said they would have the police call me but never heard from anyone! $500 was removed from my account and could not pay rent in full and had to borrow.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

I don't think that happened at this hotel. I have not heard anything about this. The staff is not aware of it either. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Vagabond Inn Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ventura

Address: 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ventura 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Groupon, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Ventura Hotel Ventura
Vagabond Hotel Ventura
Ventura Vagabond Hotel

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay