We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Ventura hotels

Vagabond Inn Ventura

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Vagabond Inn Ventura to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
63%
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Ventura
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
geraldscard San Diego, California
  • Overview
  • Reviews (125)
  • Photos (43)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (19)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    52
    24
    13
    12
See reviews for
24
46
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Chose this hotel from Booking Buddy not knowing the area. Arrived late from San Francisco and rooms were ready and clean, check in was fast, and all in family very pleased with their accommodations . Close to downtown, gas stations, freeway, and eating establishments. Will surely book here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I and our dog stayed at the Vagabond Inn Ventura for 2 nights. There was a small refrigerator and microwave in the room, which was clean and comfortable. We stayed at the Inn on Sunday and Monday, and the Inn seemed full. Considering how many people must stay here, it was very well maintained. The pool was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monrovia, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Vagabond Inn for two nights, the young lady at the front desk, Alex, was very professional, courteous, and had a big smile, made me feel laugh. Room was nice and clean and quiet at night, within walking distance to beach, restaurants, and downtown Ventura, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. I will be staying at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here during a road trip, the place was nice and clean. The staff was very friendly, and very accommodating. It is walking distance to the beach and downtown Ventura. Downtown had a cute little shops and awesome bars/restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grover Beach, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We paid $156 for our room at the Vagabond Inn in Ventura, which is more than we would have paid at a Nice Holiday Inn and the room was dirty. There were nasty dark stains in the carpet and the walls were dirty. There was a little table and two chairs in the room where you could sit and eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you had a room that didn't appear to be clean. I will definitely follow up on the hole in the wall not finished properly. We do not offer breakfast at this location, but do have granola bars and fruit available. The hotel you mentioned was selling rooms last weekend for $259.00 and up. Weekends on the coast... More

New Jersey
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Vagabond Inn for 2 nights. The room was very basic and clean. It has the sink outside the bathroom and a refrigerator near the sink. The beds were comfortable and it was fairly quiet at night. The hotel is just a few blocks from the main part of town with all of the restaurants and shops.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. I hope you can come again soon! More

Devon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We weren't sure what we had arrived at when we got here but the staff were very friendly. Our room was clean and very well equipped with coffee maker, good range of toiletries and towels beautifully presented. Room itself was a bit dated looking from the outside and the carpet had definitely seen better days. Heard the train but it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property! All of our rooms have a microwave oven, a small refrigerator and a coffee maker. They also have an iron and ironing board just in case your clothes get wrinkled on the way. We don't offer a breakfast at this location, but we do have an on-site restaurant. We do have complementary breakfast snacks,... More

gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Basic room. Lovely shower. Lots of banging and trains noise. Rubbish WIFI. No breakfast. You pay for what you get. Very close to the beach, in walking distance. The pool is nothing like as big as it looks in the picture. Ok for one night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a review. Our location is one of the best in town. We had some problems with the WIFI for a couple of days. We needed to replace a transmitter. It is running good now. I'm sorry that we didn't catch it right away. We do not offer a breakfast at this location because the County of Ventura... More

Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have driven by this motel over the years but had not stayed there until this visit. Has an overall vintage 70's look but our room was updated and very comfortable. The Amtrax train runs right behind the back building which and it is both loud and you can feel the rumble...thankfully it only came by a couple of times during... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! I will make sure that Juanita sees this. Thank you. More

Merced, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at this motel on two different occasions its very close to the ocean and easy to get there from the inn. The staff in the evening is very helpful very nice friendly they tell you where you can go and sight see the rooms are older but ours was remodeled and they were remodeling others while our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

With our Loyalty program, a few more stays and you will earn a free night. Be sure to mention it next time you check in. Thank you for taking the time to review our property. This is a great location if you want to walk to the Fairgrounds, the Beach, or Downtown. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Ventura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Vagabond Inn Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ventura

Address: 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ventura 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Ventura Hotel Ventura
Vagabond Hotel Ventura
Ventura Vagabond Hotel

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Historic Downtown Ventura, the Vagabond Inn is walking distance to the shops, restaurants, theaters and more. Just behind the Inn is a footbridge that takes you to the Ventura Pier and Promenade to the right and to San BuenaVentura State Beach to the left (where you will find the famous Jolly Oyster!) ... more   less 
Number of rooms
82

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer