We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Camino Real El Paso

Hotel website
101 South El Paso Street, El Paso, TX 79912
Special Offer
Package Deal
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Camino Real El Paso to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Camino Real El Paso
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Camino Real El Paso
See the most recent reviews
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

The Camino Real has been around for a very long time..as the 6 generations of my family there in El Paso..i enjoyed my stay there and had no problems. Was clean, everything worked well, the front desk was really nice and polite..have nothing bad to say about it..to all those naysayers..I dont drive when i am on vacation so..i didnt... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marta E
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you have a positive view on the hotel and we will continue to work to be the best in El Paaso More 

Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I checked in to the hotel on March 16, and the room was very hot. They sent maintenance and then sent me to another room. It was also hot! After moving me five times, I recommended that they just let me stay in the first room. It was hot as heck, but I did not move all night to try... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank John G
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't have a positive experience at our hotel. We have made some changes to the hotel and to our air conditioning. Unfortunately it was after you had stayed with us. If you would please contact me at jrrodriguez@crelpaso.com so we can arrange for you to stay with us and show you some of our changes More 

El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

In one word: outdated. And that bad kid of outdated, too. Old fixtures that hadn't been taken care of very well. That's overlookable, especially for the price. What I can't overlook is that I paid for a king size bed, and the gave me a room with a queen without telling me. Then, they told me that it was because... More 

Helpful?
Thank CoolSosa
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review

First off thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hotel. It is through these comments we can better the overall experience of our guests. We are currently doing some updates on the hotel in general and we will be going into the rooms in the future, as far as a refund on the different room... More 

El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed the night here with my wife we were downtown for streetfest last year (2011) anyways the bed was as hard as a rock that a caveman would sleep on, the service was terrible they charged my card 2 times & had to wait for over a month to be reinversed but worst of all a spider or something... More 

Helpful?
Thank mike l
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review

Thank yo ufor taking the time to review our hotel. We have made some updates since last year in some areas, we are also always working on the customer service aspect of the hotel. I am sorry you were displeased with your stay and ask to please give us another opportunity to provide the best service and to see for... More 

Philly
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Yes, the rooms are a bit quirky, but we had a great stay nonetheless. The Dome Bar is amazing! The surrounding neighborhood was shady, but stay inside! Our rooms were spotless and the beds were fantastic. The corner rooms were huge!

Helpful?
Thank UncadooPhilly
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review

We appreciate and welcome all comments, thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. More 

Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Staff at this hotel is amazing but other than that, I was underwhelmed. The rooms were dirty and lacked basics such as sufficient electrical outlets. The provided hair blow dryer I swear came from the 70's. The beds were old and uncomfortable and the bathrooms were seriously outdated and I did not feel comfortable even taking a bath. Location wise,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tuanadaisy
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review. First off we appreciate the compliments to our staff as we strive to be one of the best hotels in El Paso. We are currently updating parts of the hotel in order to better service our clients. I hope that this experience won't... More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This hotel is an enigma. The location is terrific. The hotel look & feel is fantastic. And there HAS been some improvement from the last time I visited. The security is MUCH better. HOWEVER, and this is a big however, the rooms are so so so bad. I even asked the clerk to please give me a room where everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShaunAjani
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review

We are sorry that we missed the opportunity to change your image of our hotel. We are however constantly working on improvements to the hotel , either servicewise or updates to the property. If you would like to give us another chance we can show you the changes we have made. I would like to personally take care of your... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Impressive old style hotel! The bar has Tiffany domed glass ceilings, a gorgeous banquet room and restaurant. The mezzanine level was beautiful, a good place to relax. The rooms were comfortable, older tvs though. The only bad thing about the room was that our tub would not drain. The roof top pool was freezing cold and did not get much... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RMarieMpls
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Although we can't do much for the location I can assure you we take all the precations in order to make the property safe. We hope this doesn't discourage you into not staying with us in the future. Thank you again for your review More 

El Paso, Texas, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My husband and I spent last night at the Camino Real and have to say we were very disappointed and upset for wasting our money. The hotel itself is beautiful, lobby area, bar worth checking out. The rooms however are a different story. The decor is very dated and minimalist. The white curtains only accentuate how boring the whole decor... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katerina T
Ismael R, Manager at Camino Real El Paso, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write comment about your stay. I'm sorry that we didn't quite met your expectations. We are in the process of making some changes in our rooms and upgrading to flat screen TV's. As well as general updates to the property. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show the changes we... More 

Yokohama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel because of Expedia's bargain deal (USD54+tax). I did not know which hotel I would stay until the booking became final. Usually, I try to avoid an old, historic hotel like Camino Real. I was not excited about going to the hotel at all. It turned out that the room was surprisingly clean, spacious and modern.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BGO7
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (95)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Paso hotels
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites El Paso Airport Area
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, El Paso Sunland Park
0.3 mi away
The Gardner Hotel
The Gardner Hotel
#66 of 81 in El Paso
3.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay