We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gardner Hotel

311 E Franklin Ave, El Paso, TX 79901
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Gardner Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

At first this had more of a Hostel vibe (stayed more hostels than I can remember from youth). No working elevator, had to scale 3 floors through darkened hallways, with camera gear and baggage to reach my room, no easy task. Room was dirty, smelly and frankly felt that leaving anything of value, i.e. my photo gear or laptop while... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt H
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matt, Thank you for your review. We're disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, and pride ourselves as a historical hotel but also being clean and safe. I'm sorry to hear the elevator didn't work on your visit and that you were unable to sleep. We do notify people on our website that we don't... More 

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

The Gardner Hotel & Hostel is the oldest continuously operating hotel in El Paso. It may be a bit threadbare, but it's very clean and the staff is friendly and knowledgeable. It's still owned and operated by the same family that has held the property for most of its' existence. The place is obviously still loved by its' owners. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank srsjones825
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it's great to hear you enjoyed the historic experience at Gardner Hotel. We pride ourselves on our great location and history and we're pleased to hear that it was up to your expectations. Many Thanks The Gardner Hotel Team More 

New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015 via mobile

We found it impossible to sleep due to an extremely loud disco on the block. Management refused to move us to a room on the side of the hotel facing away from the music because they said there were no rooms there in the same price category. However, there clearly were other rooms available, and at midnight on a Sunday... More 

Helpful?
Thank CAguiar
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear your experience at our hotel didn't live up to our expectations and regret that your stay was not up to our standards. Unfortunately we can't control noise levels in the neighborhood but we do our best to cater for guest needs. If we were not able to change your room then it would be down to... More 

Travelers are raving about these El Paso hotels

El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

This is the second time I've stayed here at Gardner and again, I really enjoyed my stay! I'd stay again and highly recommend this hotel. Very clean and service was wonderful! I've already recommended to many!

Helpful?
Thank Ryan F
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Ryan and we look forward to seeing you again! Gardner Hotel More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in the hotel (not hostel) on a El Paso visit. The whole experience started with an online attempt to book a room. After giving my credit card and dates no confirmation was ever given. I phoned the hotel and a friendly staff person ( all the staff was friendly) told me that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Apologies for the delay in response, The Gardner Hotel is now under new management and we are taking into account all feedback and reviews from our guests past and present. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, we will be working hard to take on board your comments to make it a better stay for future... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015 via mobile

I think we can find a hotel for the same price as for a dorm here, the price should be 10-16 dollar. But it is a nice place. You get a pritty good value for the money. Breakfast is not included though. It's weard that the bathrooms in the dorm is looked from outside. So you can't look the door... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennie B
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

When I realized that I had an opportunity to come home to El Paso after 17 years, I had an idea of where I wanted to look for an accommodation: downtown being my only priority. I knew of three locations that were thriving when I moved away, and I decided to choose a place from among them when I arrived... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Herbert S
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

This place wasn't exactly clean (at all in any sense of the word) and the staff, except for a young man over the phone, were the worst. We called to make a reservation and they stated you had to do it online but didn't know the website to use outside of the hostelworld.com. When we finally found the website and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Ellie M
Osceola, AR
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Ok.. this review might take a while. I wanted to check out the place because of the negative reviews from a while back.. not that I like problems. Let's see what this place is really all about. Starting off.. Let me say they will know who I am as I am the only hostel visitor they have had in a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BAHnOsceola
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The front desk attendant is very uncooperative and negative. You will have difficulty with getting the wifi password. Breakfast is NOT included but that is a good thing, trust me. The clientele up front when I arrived was very questionable. I could not find a restaurant, library or anything open for miles after 5pm. The streets really do roll up... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Paso hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central
0.3 mi away
Camino Real El Paso
Camino Real El Paso
#59 of 81 in El Paso
3.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
4.1 mi away
The Soluna Hotel
The Soluna Hotel
#9 of 81 in El Paso
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
7.4 mi away
Days Inn El Paso West
Days Inn El Paso West
#45 of 81 in El Paso
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay