We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 West 55th Street, Just off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates from $139
Save Saved
You added Shoreham to your Saves list
Shoreham
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
69%
Ranked #298 of 451 hotels in New York City
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (979)
  • Photos (291)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (169)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

979 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    399
    153
    94
    62
See reviews for
136
345
65
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Travelling with our son we booked the Junior Suite for a great extended rate (8 nights) through the hotel direct. At check in, staff were very efficient & room on the 8th floor was ready early. Air-conditioning not working in the room so we reported it to Reception on our way out for the afternoon. Returned at 10pm and air... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pittsford, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Spent two nights at this hotel July 13-14. My room was small but adequate. The pros: The hotel was clean, the staff friendly, and the location decent. The cons: The bathroom is tiny and there is no counter space to set down your beauty products - so I had to keep them on the desk. The first day there were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Long-story-short: there is better value for money in NYC. There has to be. The hallways were so narrow, my shoulders bounced against the walls as I walked to my room. The room itself - and the bathroom, especially - was pretty spacious. But what drove me (us) crazy, was the grinding, burbling, hacking, nauseating sounds that the air conditioner made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review

Dear ironrooster73, Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of The Shoreham on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. Please accept my sincere apologies for our lack of communication; we pride ourselves in giving the best customer service possible. I hope that... More

Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed at this property several times,and recommended it to all our friends. One of the main reasons was the free delicious coffee machine-24 hours.Last 2 times we stayed--they had changed the milk to a disgusting simulated powdered milk(which ruined)the coffee,and the machine is no longer available all day. Really--this was a plus--fabulous coffe--we would pop back into the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review

Dear Moviemom2, I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide our hotel with your feedback. I apologize on behalf of the hotel, for not providing you with the experience you had hoped for; please know our team has been notified of your experience and they hope for your return, so that we may make it up... More

Fort Smith, Arkansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Shoreham in July with husband and 15 year old son. Found the Shoreham by searching internet for one bedroom suite. Shoreham offered a decent price, free internet & breakfast buffett. Room was clean, maybe a bit worn around the edges but the bed was comfortable and the overall space was more than appropriate for the amount of time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review

Dear Alesia S, Thank you for the wonderful review. We’re delighted you chose to stay with us! We always want to make sure all of our guests have a pleasant stay. If you chose to visit us again, check out our special packages for great deals. We’ll also point you towards our favorite places to drink and dine throughout Manhattan.... More

Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in a one bedroomed suite and have only positive views on this hotel. Room was spotless and cleaned every day of our 8 day stay to a very high standard. The location is superb, with easy access to Times square or Central park being just around the corner. My wife , daughter and I would highly recommend this hotel.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review

Dear Tammus, Thank you for taking your time and leaving us a review on trip advisor. I am pleased to learn that you were very happy with the hotel and that out location was convenient for you. The major shops, tourist attractions, subways and restaurants definitely add a finishing touch to the hotel. I would like to invite you and... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a junior suite. The shower drain wouldn't drain,tub jets kept kicking on by itself,and the tv was messed up so moved to a different room same problems.the staff was helpful and gave us free breakfast and a free movie for our troubles and the location was really good we was in between Central Park and time square

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review

Dear Jerese, First and foremost I would like to say thank you for making The Shoreham to be your hotel of choice on your visit to New York. I am pleased you enjoyed our prime location. I would love the opportunity to have you back as our guest and provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations. We look... More

CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What used to be "location, location, location" is now "in need of renovation, renovation, renovation. Once a longtime favorite that I could always count on, this hotel is on the skids with apparently no plans for upgrades in the works per the manager. Areas in need of work: cleaner rooms, fitness room is a joke with broken equipment, etc., etc.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review

Dear Nancanva, Thank you for your candid and thorough review of The Shoreham Hotel. On behalf of my team I would like to thank you for staying. I will be sure to address with the team your constructive feedback in order to help us get better at what we do.We will definitely take your feedback and work to improve our... More

los angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been a loyal Shoreham guest for almost 15 years. To me, it was my home away from home in NYC. When I pulled up in the cab, a smile came to my face. No more. I have watched it go down hill for the last three years. They have clearly changed their business model from wanting Kimpton type... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review

Dear Craig F, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The Shoreham. We are sincerely sorry to hear that the visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem. I welcome the opportunity to... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My mother, teenage daughter and I stayed at The Shoreham while in town for a conference. The location was perfect! We were only a couple of blocks from Central Park, the metro, shops, restaurants, etc. We chose this hotel because of the reviews and for the reasonable prices. We got a weekly rate on a one bedroom suite that was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review

Dear Martha A, Thank you for the wonderful review. We’re delighted you chose to stay with us . We always want to make sure all of our guests have a pleasant stay. If you chose to visit us again, check out our special packages for great deals. We’ll also point you towards our favorite places to drink and dine throughout... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Shoreham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Shoreham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreham

Address: 33 West 55th Street, Just off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shoreham 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Shoreham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shoreham Hotel New York City
Shoreham New York City
Shoreham Hotel New York City

291 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (156)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (55)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (111)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Atrium Loft Penthouse (4)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (6)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (10)
Viewed
Superior Plus Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#40 Spa Hotel in New York City #149 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
SHOREHAM is a fashionable retreat dedicated to the experience of design. Flat-screen monitors throughout the property feature an array of video and interactive art with vibrant images of nature in motion. The hotel offers a variety of accommodations ranging from superior to specialty suites available with king, queen or two queen-sized beds. Signature amenities include invigorating five-head hydro-massage showers in junior suites and select rooms, iJoy massage chairs, Bose Wave® radio CD players, Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. Guest room baths are appointed with high-gloss white marble tile, gray slate vanity tops, brushed stainless steel sinks with satin nickel fixtures and Aveda bath amenities. Guests are treated to a champagne toast upon arrival. SHOREHAM is perfectly positioned just steps away from the top shops of Fifth Avenue, Central Park, Broadway and more! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
177

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Shoreham and other travelers.
1 question

See all questions (1)

See which rooms travelers prefer