We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 453 New York City hotels

Chelsea Inn - 17th Street

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 West 17th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Flatiron District)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Christmas Shopping Rate
Save Saved
You added Chelsea Inn - 17th Street to your Saves list
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
56%
Ranked #366 of 453 Hotels in New York City
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014
Cigarlover_69 Melbourne, Australia
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    118
    68
    45
    42
See reviews for
26
107
45
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Horrible experience at the Chelsea Inn August-September 2014. I strongly recommend against staying at this Inn if you have a fear of cockroaches or mice. The Inn was a pleasant place to stay three years ago, but it's changed for the (MUCH) worse. Although we booked and paid for a private room/ensuite bathroom, they got our reservation wrong and downgraded... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Do not stay at the Chelsea Inn. We had an absolutely terrible experience in Aug/Sept 2014. The first room we were assigned (which was of lesser value than we paid for due to their error) had a MOUSE running around in it. While we complained to the front desk agent, a dead cockroach was on the carpet beside the front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have never written a review in my life time for the good or bad. However, it was beyond a nightmare. It was a creepy place as soon as we entered the door. It was like a dirty old haunted castle. We checked in, paid and walked into a room that was not cleaned yet and the staff didnt know... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sweden
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cute little place with nice staff and perfect location on Manhattan. But there are some serious problems with this place. 1. THE BEDBUGS!! Me and my friend got totally demolished by them.. 2. The shower. Every time we flushed the toilet it started bubbel up hair and dirt in the bathtub.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
A_Skowera, Manager at Chelsea Inn - 17th Street, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Of course you can imagine how disappointing it is for us to hear that you were not able to enjoy our establishment. We wish you would talk to us about the problems while staying over, not after checking out. Especially we appreciate your information about “bedbugs” (if they were bedbugs). You left and never said anything about them.... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

this place is desperate need of a full refurb, I auctually think the building is unsafe on 1 side as it slants to one side, there is not much in the area, Apart from people pushing trolleys of rubbish up and down town, the bed room was just Vile not fit for a pig, was not worth the cheap price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

It is cheap as far as NYC goes but badly needs renovation and a good cleaning. First night we had a clogged shower drain; our neighbors (we shared a bathroom) clogged the toilet a few nights later. There was also lots of early morning street noise from trucks unloading and construction. Seriously, I at least want to sleep in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

A pretty damn great place. The lobby is easy to navigate and the front door secure. This is a consistently nice and affordable New York hotel. We were able to walk to Manhattan in 15-20 minutes without breaking a sweat. If walking isn't your style, there is a Citibike stand less than a block away. The rooms were clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

While very clean and good location near subway, there is no place to sit other than two chairs in the main area, which were taken up most of the time. I prefer somewhere where I can 'escape' for a quiet cup of coffee out of my room. That, they do not have. Wish it had a yard or patio! That... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed at this bargain New York hotel in May as part of a self planned trip taking in NY, Washington DC and Chicago. I paid £318 for 5 nights including taxes, which was by far one of My partner and I were impressed with check in, which was quick and friendly and allowed us to get our room an hour... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for ten nights recently and enjoyed our stay. Location great and the old world charm of the hotel was lovely. But when I had a problem with my credit card it took five days to finally sort out. The main problem is the staff change almost daily and aren t equiped to deal with such... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Chelsea Inn - 17th Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Chelsea Inn - 17th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Inn - 17th Street

Address: 46 West 17th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Flatiron District , Manhattan , Midtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Chelsea Inn - 17th Street 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Budget Places, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chelsea Inn - 17th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hotel 17th Street
Chelsea Hotel New York City

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in New York City with
any amenities