We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 453 New York City hotels

Chelsea Inn - 17th Street

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 West 17th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Flatiron District)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Christmas Shopping Rate
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chelsea Inn - 17th Street to your Saves list
Ranked #367 of 453 Hotels in New York City
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Cris T Forlì
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    121
    69
    45
    42
See reviews for
26
109
46
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (316)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Forlì
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

... if you want the right compromise between costs and comfort. The Chelsea Inn has really confortable room, they clean them every day and they give us breackfast voucher to spend in the near restaurant. If you are a family or just two couple of friends like we were, I advice to book two near room and share the bathroom.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
A_Skowera, Manager at Chelsea Inn - 17th Street, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Chelsea Inn, and for taking the time to post your fabulous review here on Tripadvisor. Much appreciated! I am happy you felt so well taken care of by our team members. Thank you also for your description of the location in the Chelsea area. Nice words and... More

Berkeley, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For us - this was the perfect hotel. We are a couple in our 30's, and prefer to spend our money on gourmet food and drinks, shows, shopping, and other activities in NY. We spend very little time in the room, and basically need a quiet and comfortable place that is close to our favorite parts of NY where we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
A_Skowera, Manager at Chelsea Inn - 17th Street, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, I would like to thank you for a very kind and informative review. It's always a pleasure to read a very frank opinions especially from such an amiable guests like you. I hope that you will grant us the pleasure of having you as our guest soon again and when you want to make a reservation, please don't... More

Woking, England
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in a suite which had 2 beds, a bathroom and a kitchenette. It was located opposite reception so I did not have to negotiate the stairs. However, there are lots of them. This was clear on the website but the stairs are steep and narrow and I can imagine that they would be difficult to negotiate with big... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
A_Skowera, Manager at Chelsea Inn - 17th Street, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam; We are happy that you enjoyed what we have to offer at the Chelsea Inn and we do hope that we can enjoy a future visit from you! In case you will come to visit us next time please mention that you are a return guest. Warm Regards, Alina Skowera, General Manager More

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Horrible experience at the Chelsea Inn August-September 2014. I strongly recommend against staying at this Inn if you have a fear of cockroaches or mice. The Inn was a pleasant place to stay three years ago, but it's changed for the (MUCH) worse. Although we booked and paid for a private room/ensuite bathroom, they got our reservation wrong and downgraded... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Do not stay at the Chelsea Inn. We had an absolutely terrible experience in Aug/Sept 2014. The first room we were assigned (which was of lesser value than we paid for due to their error) had a MOUSE running around in it. While we complained to the front desk agent, a dead cockroach was on the carpet beside the front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I have never written a review in my life time for the good or bad. However, it was beyond a nightmare. It was a creepy place as soon as we entered the door. It was like a dirty old haunted castle. We checked in, paid and walked into a room that was not cleaned yet and the staff didnt know... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sweden
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Cute little place with nice staff and perfect location on Manhattan. But there are some serious problems with this place. 1. THE BEDBUGS!! Me and my friend got totally demolished by them.. 2. The shower. Every time we flushed the toilet it started bubbel up hair and dirt in the bathtub.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
A_Skowera, Manager at Chelsea Inn - 17th Street, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Of course you can imagine how disappointing it is for us to hear that you were not able to enjoy our establishment. We wish you would talk to us about the problems while staying over, not after checking out. Especially we appreciate your information about “bedbugs” (if they were bedbugs). You left and never said anything about them.... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

this place is desperate need of a full refurb, I auctually think the building is unsafe on 1 side as it slants to one side, there is not much in the area, Apart from people pushing trolleys of rubbish up and down town, the bed room was just Vile not fit for a pig, was not worth the cheap price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

It is cheap as far as NYC goes but badly needs renovation and a good cleaning. First night we had a clogged shower drain; our neighbors (we shared a bathroom) clogged the toilet a few nights later. There was also lots of early morning street noise from trucks unloading and construction. Seriously, I at least want to sleep in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

A pretty damn great place. The lobby is easy to navigate and the front door secure. This is a consistently nice and affordable New York hotel. We were able to walk to Manhattan in 15-20 minutes without breaking a sweat. If walking isn't your style, there is a Citibike stand less than a block away. The rooms were clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Do you own or manage Chelsea Inn - 17th Street?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chelsea Inn - 17th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Inn - 17th Street

Address: 46 West 17th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Flatiron District , Manhattan , Midtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Chelsea Inn - 17th Street 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Budget Places, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chelsea Inn - 17th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hotel 17th Street
Chelsea Hotel New York City

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Chelsea Inn - 17th Street

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
aldea
aldea
Portuguese