We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chelsea Inn - 17th Street

46 West 17th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Budgetplaces to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I came to visit my son and the lady at the front desk ask me for my identification when I arrived and I was a lol shocked so already I knew she was on some bias acts but I gave it to her and she made a copy of it and I was like why are you making a copy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meiyow
Sammy R, FD Supervisor at Chelsea Inn - 17th Street, responded to this review

It is mandatory for all visitor and guest show and have id copied. Please contact the hotel general manager so we can further discuss and look into the events that took place. Deeply apologize if this situation did occur. Please contact the property as soon as possible. Thank you , Sammy Ramos. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed in room number 103, where the hot water pipe would make abnormally loud noises, waking us up three nights in a row in the early hours of the morning. I wouldn't recommend the room we stayed in, which made a bad experience for our first time in New York.

Helpful?
Thank Max C

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night when we arrived in New York. We got the hotel very late at night/early morning so nobody was actually there to let us in, but somebody called the owner and after 15 minutes he arrived and was very helpful, gave us our room key and we were all set. Very friendly atmosphere and in... More 

Helpful?
Thank matthart1
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel for 5 days early this month. As soon as I got there, I was surprised by the state of the building. There is no reception just a small desk in the corner. Later I found out that was because the hotel was under renovation. Fortunately, the room was clean and nice it was very small,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hedia S
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent there a night on 29.12.2015 with our children in a family suite. The room in the back without window! The hotel is for the moment in renovation, the rooms and bathroom do have a nice and modern style. Unfortunately our room wasn't finished renovated, but they rented it. The window was leaky and cold air was streaming in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katharina E
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Heat was out in my apt so I booked a cheap hotel. I didn't expect it to be pretty, just warm. But is was freezing. Unbearable. Even after the front desk gave me an extra blanket and opened the radiator valve some more. Turns out they're renovating, too. I don't know if that's why it was so awfully drafty but... More 

Helpful?
Thank susan w
Sammy R, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea Inn - 17th Street, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your stay. I am truly sorry to hear that your room was having heating issues. We realize you live in the area and would like to offer you or a family member a special discounted to come back. Please contact the property directly to further discuss the matter. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

charged my bank card twice no refund and now ignoring email pure conmen are you reading this vanessa? if so wheres my refund it was being refurbished by cowboys r us to be fair whilst i was there and the toilet was blocked for 2 days

Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
Sammy R, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea Inn - 17th Street, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a comment. Our booking procedure requires a first night deposit, and upon arrival we would charge the remaining balance before check in. A refundable deposit is also required and will take 5-10 business days to return to your card. Our records show that all deposits have been returned. We do apologize for the confusion and we... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

We stayed here for a long weekend getaway and could not get over how perfect this choice was for us. We stumbled upon the hotel randomly, and were so happy with our decision. They're fixing up and remodeling each of the rooms, and we stayed in one of the new rooms. It was clean (so important for NYC hotels!), comfortable,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine387
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Chelsea Inn during the holiday season. They were fixing up and remodeling all the rooms. We stayed on the 2nd floor and although the hotel is a walk up they had extremely helpful staff to carry our luggage. The room was clean, white with a really nice glass shower door bathroom. The housekeeping... More 

Helpful?
Thank jillytemp
Sammy R, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea Inn - 17th Street, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us at the Chelsea Inn 17th street. I am happy to hear our staff lived up to your expectations. Thank you for sharing your positive feedback about our newly renovated rooms. All our staff work hard in ensuring that our guest have a positive and comfortable stay with us. We hope to see you again in... More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

The Inn is being remodeled and thus every morning we were awoken by hammers, drills, and various other loud noises. Also there is no elevator in the hotel and we were on the 5th floor...needless to say we got our exercise walking up and down the steps. We stayed in a remodeled room that was very clean and neat. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank frimdogg
Sammy R, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea Inn - 17th Street, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review about your stay with us. We do apologize at the time of your stay renovations where being done. We are remodeling all our rooms to better serve our guest for the future. Thank you for the positive comment about our new rooms being clean and neat. Glad you found our location to be convenient... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

287 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (146)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (90)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (119)
Viewed
Standard King Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (21)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room with Shared Bath (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Triple Room with Shared Bath (15)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#303 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#389 of 466 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#264 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,316 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#322 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#340 of 466 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Flatiron District

Neighborhood Profile
Flatiron District
Offering many of the city’s best restaurants and shops set amid classic New York architecture, the Flatiron District is no longer under the tourist radar. At 23rd Street is the famous triangular Flatiron Building, which makes a good picture no matter what angle you photograph it from. Be sure to look up at the elegant architecture as you stroll the streets - much of this neighborhood is part of a historic district that was home to many of the city’s most famous department stores at the turn of the century. At the northern end of the neighborhood, Madison Square Park is best known for being home to a famous burger shack, but it can also be a quiet refuge to spend an afternoon, and it frequently hosts interesting public art exhibits. In the lower part of the Flatiron District you'll find Union Square, a bustling crossroads at all times of day and night.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay