We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel 309

Hotel website
309 W 14th St, New York City, NY 10014
Special Price
7 night stay or more
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 309
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel 309
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    112
    66
    33
    62
See reviews for
35
111
35
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (310)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is unbeatable. The room is quite complete, with mini fridge, Microwave, sink and basic kitchen appliances. TV, Street view window, very comfortable bed. Safe & Closet. Common Areas: there's a back yard available, and also a mini-cuisine for breakfast, where the computer's are located. Fair price overall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Very poor standard of cleanliness. The bedding provided at the start of our stay was stained, and though our beds were made twice during a five night stay the bedding was never changed. Our room was never cleaned, and not enough linen or towels were provided at the start of our stay. Towels were provided after asking, but we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
hotel309, General Manager at Hotel 309, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this thoughtful review. This is a review that I have printed and shared with all my staff because of its thoroughness and I appreciate feedback like this so we can improve as a hotel. I hope those reading our reviews can see that while we have had set backs, we are... More 

Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Having read previous reviews I was prepared for a hostel setting, which was fine. The room was dirty, but adequate for my short stay. The front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. But when it comes to safety that where I draw the line....upon returning to our room (in the middle of the day) an inebriated elderly man, hanging over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
hotel309, Owner at Hotel 309, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, Thank you for taking the time to post this response. I appreciate that you were involved in a situation which you did not like, but I would like to add a few clarifications as I was the manager who assisted you. We do have an elderly gentleman who is disabled who lives in our building who is only... More 

Dubai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

I would just like to avoid other people being mislead. This establishment is not a proper hotel, it should be classified as hostel! If you are expecting for a proper hotel (normal given the prices charged for the rooms), you will be highly desappointed as I was. To start with there is no lobby or reception area just a small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

There are not too many things to say about this "hotel". While the location might be okay, you can leave that glimmer of hope at the door. This place was truly awful. I've stayed in hostels better for 20 bucks a night. It was dirty (towels / bed linen), extremely noisy at night due to other guests and the bathrooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

So, this place is no Ritz Carlton or St.Regis but it is a great little hotel for the average traveler to NYC! I was with two friends so we booked a four person room which was more hostel style with bunk beds but it was perfect for us and it was still a private room. It was so cheap even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

I searched it on TripAdvisor and booked it directly, just for two nights.It has small rooms with sharing bathrooms, no elevators.But they gave us ground floor which was a great relief. Metro station was just near the corner. If you have courage you can walk up to central Manhattan on your own. Hop on hop off buses you can find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights and had fab time. The hotel offered us everything we needed. Nicely decorated room with kitchen, comfortable bed and although the bathroom was shared we did find it always clean. The location is perfect and everything you need you will find it literally at the door step. Staff was very helpful and nice specially Mallelyn.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

The pictures posted on their website do not reflect the rooms. I walked in to my room and I was afraid to even take off my jacket. The room smelled, cracked paint on the ceiling, folding chairs and a plastic couch. To top it off, roaches!!! I could not stay the night and will have to battle to get my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

This hotel is very near the subway station. It is also in the Chelsea area which is accessible to different types of bar and restaurants. The hotel is near CVS pharmacy and convenience store wherein you can just buy anything you need during your trip. If I'm tired to eat out, I just grab a packed salad or sandwich or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotel309, General Manager at Hotel 309, responded to this review

Hello Christiane, Thank you for writing us this nice review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied. It's true our rooms are bigger than the average Manhattan hotel rooms as they used to function as apartments. As such, you get more space, a kitchenette and a larger than average bathroom. As far as security,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

170 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (92)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (4)
Viewed
Standard Room with Private Bathroom (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Chelsea

Neighborhood Profile
Chelsea
Home to hundreds of art galleries, beautiful brownstones, and one of New York’s newest and most popular attractions, Chelsea is one of the city’s jewels when it comes to neighborhood life. The contemporary art scene is an integral part of the neighborhood’s identity, with gallery openings almost every night of the week and countless exhibits to explore. As a longtime hub of gay culture in New York City, it’s also a diverse district with a vibrant nightlife scene. The opening of the High Line, an abandoned elevated train track transformed into a world-class pedestrian park, gave this neighborhood new life as a tourist destination. The High Line provides visitors with a tranquil, elevated space with incomparable views, providing an unparalleled way to experience the city.
Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question