We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel 309

2.0 of 5 309 W 14th St, New York City, NY 10014
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 309
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel 309
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    101
    58
    28
    58
See reviews for
34
100
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (282)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

On our last morning, we got woken up by rats eating our M&M chocolates. We warned the desk officer who told us the manager would arrive at 8. At noon, she finally told us the manager doesn't work on the week-end. Apparently the lady didn't care too much about the fact there were rats in her hotel, said she would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
france
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I just spend one night (and I left earlier , instead of 3 nights ) in this hotel. The price for a room with bathroom is super expensive , and finally you get a prison cell-like room, dirty and depressing. No elevator, homeless looking people in the stairs, dirty , bad smelling.. It's not just because is in Meatpacking that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
hotel309, General Manager at Hotel 309, responded to this review

I just spend one night (and I left earlier , instead of 3 nights ) in this hotel. The price for a room with bathroom is super expensive , and finally you get a prison cell-like room, dirty and depressing. No elevator, homeless looking people in the stairs, dirty , bad smelling.. It's not just because is in Meatpacking that... More

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No lift, hallway filthy and not mopped over 4 days we were there. Staff do not engage with clients. Cheap hostels are better all round. The hotel information book and website are out of date and misrepresent this hotel. It is cramped, poor ventilation in room and share bathroom. Sheets were clean and bed comfortable but that's all it has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
São Paulo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has an amazing location, but that's all it's got going for it. It's disgustingly dirty, dingy, dimly lit. The toilet constantly clogs. You can hear everything that goes on in the hotel. The "breakfast" is set out on a filthy, stained cloth, and consists of bad coffee and a few greasy danishes. The wi-fi, which you have to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

First of all, I wasn't offered a room with a bathroom, I didn't know you had to ask for it, I guess it is my fault to assume that a hotel will include a bathroom in the bedroom, I would have not minded if the not private bathroom had been cleaned regularly (as you would think since a lot of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

With those prices, it might be expected, but the experience was bad. There is no elevator, so if you have big bags and your room is on the last floor, then it's bad. The room is very small, and not very clean. The beds are old and noisy. The bathroom is one of the worst I've seen, and the water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. The rooms looked good on the website and we thought that the quality of the rooms would compensate for having to share a bathroom. We were wrong. The rooms were nice. Small, as they are in NYC, but well decorated and furnished with a mini kitchen too. The bathrooms were horrific. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I just wanted to visit new york city and this hotel gave somehow the chance.i didn't want to spend my money on expensive hotels,but i wanted to be in the heart of manhattan.i searched and i found this hotel.3 times and it was okay.its location is heaven.i liked it.and it's cheap. Next time i will go there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I recently stayed @ this hotel for a long weekend. The location is amazing! in the heart of meat packing district. Also close to Chelsea market. Subway on the corner, easy access.Loved having kitchen in room! They also have a wonderful continental breakfast, free of charge, and a Beautiful outside patio area you can sit in and enjoy your breakfast,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Vancouver, British Columbia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

For a Nofrills central location close to subway and highline park&greenwich village,this works very well.Shared bathrooms are decent&clean enough.Staff were awesome and helpful.GreatValue for location

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel 309? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 309

Address: 309 W 14th St, New York City, NY 10014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 309 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 309 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (61)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Economy Room with Shared Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay