We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wyndham Midtown 45

Hotel website
Hotel deals
205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Wyndham Midtown 45
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Wyndham Midtown 45
Add Photo

489 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    100
    175
    108
    56
    50
See reviews for
129
157
14
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (489)
  • Mar-May only
    (119)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (113)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (158)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (99)
All months
Casablanca, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a small suite. It was a tired, dated layout though the kitchen was quite well setup. The bathroom had mould up the tiling and in the silicon edging and was of a functionally poor design. A laundry downstairs, near the fitness room, was excellent. The hotel I believe is in the process of a slow renovation so you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Karen L: Thank you for your feedback. We are very disappointed to hear that you did not receive great vibes during your stay. Our goals is to have every guest leave with a positive memorable experience. Our apologies that this was not the case in your situation. I will be reviewing your comments with my staff so we... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Staff was not responsive to requests. Towels skimpy, amenities looked partially used, bath sink and toilet had crack lines and chipped. Refrigerator did not work. When maintenance brought a replacement, the broken one was left in the room, diminishing the already inadequate space. The replacement refrigerator was very dirty, and was not cleaned during our stay. Wake-up call came at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Dear Sulu18: Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. I apologize that you did not receive the highest quality of customer service during your stay. Please be assured that we have addressed this matter with the staff. We are in the process of another phase of our renovation, and if... More 

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Pasadena, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great spot to be close but jo so close to the city. Short walk to central park and time square. Also close to the subway. All the staff were very helpful. Suite itself was very modern and nice space even for NYC. Hope to be back again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie S: Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We pride ourselves on our location and providing excellent customer service to all of our guests. We look forward to having you back to stay with us soon. Warm Regards, John Lewis Resort General Manager More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are large, but dated. The furniture is scratched. The front desk was notified twice that the toilet didn't flush and promised someone would be up to fix it, as well as two broken lights. When we checked out the next day, nothing had been fixed. Yuck! The internet never worked. Also, they charged us twice- once through hotels.com... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Dear Kfarell52: It was unfortunate to read you did not enjoy your recent stay. The service you described certainly isn't the level we aim to provide for our guests It is unfortunate however to see that the room was too dated for you. We are in the process of renovating our rooms and we would love to have you back... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our family attempted to check in the hotel and were told our room wasn't ready. We left our phone number and our luggage and decided to venture out into the city. We returned over 6 hours later and our luggage had not been stored, but left out in the open. I was mortified!!! We were the pit into rooms below... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Dear Warrensdaughter: Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay as this helps us to improve the experience for all of our guests. I was very disappointed to hear about your experienced at our property. The issues you encountered are not only unacceptable but embarrassing. I have reviewed your experience with our staff and I want... More 

Bonita Springs, Florida
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 3 days. Room was very average. Location was good. Waling distance to grand central. Beer house across the street was a lot of fun. House keeping forgot to clean our room one day. Staff was accomodating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Dear Bill B: Thank you for your review of your stay. We appreciate hearing that we were part of your visit and apologize for not servicing your room on one of your days. We do hope this does not deter you from visiting us again. Thank you again, John Lewis Resort General Manager More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a fantastic location for a tourist trip to the big apple. You can see the the Chrysler building from your room and its a stones throw from Grand Central Station. 5th Avenue and Times Square are a nice walk from here as is the empire state! No one goes to a city like this to hang about in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Dear Tom H: Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed our centralized location. We appreciate this feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Thank You John Lewis Resort General Manager More 

Toms River, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have recently returned from a trip from California to NYC and Jersey. The start of the trip was in NYC. We stayed at the Wyndham Midtown. NYC is all about location and it was great. Walking is easy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Dear Carlg317: Thank you for your review and the five stars. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and our location. We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards, John Lewis Resort General Manager More 

Hanover, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a double room through orbitz for about $300 for one night. The room was dated but very comfortable and a decent size for new york. There is a rooftop lounge on the 33rd floor you can visit which is just a cool place to hang out, it has a balcony with lots of seating and an inside sitting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Dear mrsblizz: Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you found our 33rd Floor Lounge a cool place to hang out. We appreciate this feedback and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Warm Regards, John Lewis Resort General Manager More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found the room clean and we had a small kitchen with a fridge and dishwasher. We were very happy with our room and the staff was helpful. The bed was a king. The bathroom was beautiful. It was bigger than the rooms we had in London and Paris.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Dear David G H: Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted you found our hotel to your liking and our staff helpful. Our staff will be happy to know they had such a positive impact on your stay. We look forward to having back with us in the near future.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

359 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (271)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (41)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (10)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Suite (New) (115)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (19)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Midtown

Neighborhood Profile
Midtown
This is the iconic New York that so many visitors imagine before they visit - spectacular skyscrapers like the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building, iconic public buildings like Grand Central Terminal and the New York Public Library, and the non-stop hustle and bustle of the city streets. Fifth Avenue is a shopper's paradise where you can find every kind of store imaginable, with fashion brands ranging from the affordable to the ultra-fancy. Visit Rockefeller Center to experience towering Art Deco grandeur, and foodies will love the busy restaurants that stay open late in Koreatown. After dark, Midtown calms down a bit, but at any time of day or night it still feels 100% New York.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay