We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wyndham Midtown 45

Hotel website
Hotel deals
205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wyndham Midtown 45
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Wyndham Midtown 45
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    169
    104
    52
    44
See reviews for
121
145
14
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (467)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (113)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (158)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (100)
All months
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this through Shell Vacations. It cost me 33,000 points which computes to $6,600 for 2 weeks or $470 per night. When checking out the hotel's website, they showed their 1 & 2 room suites. All looked fantastic. Being Manhattan, Wyndham was going to charge me THREE TIMES THE POINTS. Okay, I figure, it IS Manhattan, and it looks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Dear John M: Thank you for your very informative review. I am very disappointed to hear of the issues that you experienced during your visit and most importantly they weren’t resolved prior to your check-out. Please accept our apologies. I would like for you to contact me at 212-867-5100 to review further. Thank You, John Lewis Resort General Manager More 

Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms are merely functional, certainly not worth the price! Furnishings are dated and not well maintained. Not even a glass in the bathroom. No clock. Even the cheapest motel has more immenities. No attention to detail.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Dear SunnyKobeCook: Thank you for your feedback. We are definitely concerned about your mentions and ask that you accept our sincere apologies, We are in the process of not only renovating our rooms but working on our service. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to prove that we are worthy of your business. Thank you again, John... More 

Clemmons, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently spent a week at the Midtown 45 in a renovated studio. We were very pleased! Our room was on the 14th floor with a beautiful view of the Chrysler Building. The room was cleverly designed to maximize space, and the furniture looked fresh and modern. Our room had a comfortable king bed, small couch, 2 flat screen televisions... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Dear DebfromNC: Thank you for your awesome review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your room and our location. Your comments are like music to our ears. But, I do need to apologize for the air not being on in the hotel. As the weather starts to change from snow to rain and shine, it may be a little... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. It is perfect! 2 minutes walking to Grand Central Terminal. That is the biggest perk of all. I called for some information ahead of time asking if they had a luggage service since Check-in is at 4:00 P.M and we were arriving early, the person on the phone was also having a conversation with someone else which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Dear Jastine D: Thank you for your review. I deeply apologize that your stay was not satisfactory and you experienced several issues with customer service. I know there is a certain level of satisfaction expected when staying at our properties and you did not receive this. Please be assured we will have our operations manager address these concerns to avoid... More 

Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here as a guest of an owner. Very clean, very nice. Had a 1 bed room which was spacious. Didn't use the kitchen we were only there for 2 nights, but would have been nice if we were staying longer. Lobby very small, said that they were expanding it. Top floor had a nice room/terrace, would have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Dear Beth R: Thank you so much for your review of the hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your very nice clean room, and found our location very accommodating to the subway. We hope to see you again soon for another weekend trip. Warm Regards, John Lewis Resort General Manager More 

Norwalk, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Positives- not many. Hotel is clearly pocketing every penny and not putting anything back into it. Location is good because it is steps away from Grand Central so you can arrive and immediately drop off your luggage. But, poor value and you can get something better at the same or lower rate. It was clean and the beds were comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Dear Sarah B: Thank you for your very informative feedback. We are happy to hear that you liked the cleanliness of your room and the professionalism of our doormen, but it seems that we have a lot to work to do on our overall standards and appearance. The incidents you describe and the quality of your room is in no... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As long as you're not spending any time at the hotel, it's a great home base. Our 1 bedroom renovated deluxe suite was below average (not enough towels, hard lumpy mattress, no hotel/area info. booklet in the room, stains on carpets); we were constantly having to call down for things like toilet paper, coffee filters, etc. Everything was poorly stocked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
JJLewis14, Resort General Managers at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Dear Jenn J: Thank you for your review. We are very concerned that you encountered several issues during your stay. Our apologies that your room was not thoroughly clean, that you were waken up by one of our Sales Manager, and that your room was not properly stocked with room amenities. The type of service you experienced is unacceptable and... More 

Chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Okay, so you won't have your breath taken away by the lobby - it's very small! Well, more like any entry way, but the room was clean, well taken car of, and spacious by Zmanhattan standards - enough room for my yoga mat! Great location - close to everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Dear ladydocinchitown: Thank you so much for your review of the hotel. We like to hear how you loved your room and our location. We look forward to a future visit from you. Thank you again, John Lewis Resort General Manager More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We stayed here to attend the St. Patrick's day parade in NYC. We had a large renovated studio overlooking 45th street. We are Wyndham owners, so we knew to expect the timeshare presentation. The unit was very clean and well-laid out. The staff was friendly and helpful with our various questions. It is nice having the kitchen for sodas, making... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Dear Erinpyr: On behalf of Midtown 45, we appreciate your loyalty to Wyndham and your review. It is great to know you enjoyed your room and our location made it easy to explore Manhattan. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff. They will be very happy to hear this positive feedback. We look forward to your... More 

Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

This used to be the Hotel Alex which was lovely and stylish. The Wyndham took over and made the lobby a little cheap looking with the bright blue logo rugs ect. I think the service was better when it was Hotel Alex. This is a great location and there is a rooftop lounge area. We never ate at the hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review

Dear Travchargia: Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay. We appreciate all of the feedback we receive, as it helps us to improve as a brand. We are always looking for new ways to enhance our service. Thank you again and we do hope you will visit us again. Warm Regards, John Lewis Resort General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

357 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (271)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (41)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (10)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Suite (New) (115)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (19)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Midtown

Neighborhood Profile
Midtown
This is the iconic New York that so many visitors imagine before they visit - spectacular skyscrapers like the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building, iconic public buildings like Grand Central Terminal and the New York Public Library, and the non-stop hustle and bustle of the city streets. Fifth Avenue is a shopper's paradise where you can find every kind of store imaginable, with fashion brands ranging from the affordable to the ultra-fancy. Visit Rockefeller Center to experience towering Art Deco grandeur, and foodies will love the busy restaurants that stay open late in Koreatown. After dark, Midtown calms down a bit, but at any time of day or night it still feels 100% New York.
Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question