We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chelsea International Hostel

251 West 20th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Chelsea International Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

455 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    46
    169
    128
    62
    50
See reviews for
8
66
173
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (455)
  • Mar-May only
    (100)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (148)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (108)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (99)
All months
There are newer reviews for Chelsea International Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Sweden
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

I and a friend stayed at Chelsea International Hostel in February of 2007. We placed an online-booking through their website, which we thought were a bit poorly structured. At check in it work out just fine though. The guy in the reception could’ve had shown a bit more courtesy. We stayed in a bunk bed room. The room weren´t bigger... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, Scotland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

Not a bad hostel, stayed here for my first trip to NYC with a friend. We were two girls, early 20s, got got a private room with two bunk beds. Had a window, which was a lifesaver as no aircon that I remember, but window opened up fully. Beds clean, sheets and towels etc. Room was very basic but did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

Ok, so, we're talking about a hostel, that implies that there is no deluxe accommodation, but, I've been in 2 bunk bed dorms (4 people) and had enough space to circulate, and that is good enough! (First stay:2/28-3/4 Second stay: 3/11-3/14, both 2009). For me, staying at a hostel means I just need a place to crash at night. Tidiness... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

Rooms were extremely basic, beds were very unstable and not in a usable condition. no duvets just old blankets with drawings on them. bathroom was flooded constantly, water was either too hot or too cold. room was cold at night. the worst thing of all is we were bitten all over, still being bitten now we have returned to england.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NYCHostelConnection, public relations manager at Chelsea International Hostel, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy our hostel. We have an exterminator coming every month and it is rare that we spot bugs, especially bed bugs! We have not had problems with that in years. I wish you had told us while you were here so we could address your problems right away. -Chelsea International Hostel Staff More 

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

pakistan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

this place was absolutely awful, we do not recommend it even if you have no money. its cheap and i dont wonder why. cockroaches in the bath and toilets that dont even work. that place made us feel sick. we have bites all over and the rooms were cold at night. we got one blanket each no duvet and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

this was about my fourth visit and would definately go back. Cheap and comfortable for couple nights stay, nice rooms but some quite squashed with no air conditioning but i just like it for the fact that you meet so many nice travellers, lovely lay out and murials on walls, good shared kitchen and nice centre garden meeting area and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

the rooms were tiny.. that is true, but if you're not planning on spending much time in there (which was our case) then everything else was very good. the bathrooms were clean, the sheets were clean and the patio was fun to be in. we met all sorts of people and had a really fun international dinner. I was really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

I've been staying there with a friend just before Christmas. We had a double room with two bunk beds and a sink tube, shared bathroom (1 door away). The room was really tiny but it is sufficient if one only wants a place to sleep, quite clean and really affordable for the location (80 US$/night for two people). I definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

I stayed here in a double room over christmas, it was only $80 per night between two for a private room which was great for the location. Near the subway and easy walking to plenty of moderately priced restaurants and some touristy places. It consists of 5 separate buildings joined by walkways and basements which can be confusing but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin,
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Chelsea International Hostel for 9 nights in October, 2008. Because we wanted to have a long spell in NYC (it was our first time travelling there from Ireland) we decided to spend the first 9 nights in the Hostel and to spend another 4 nights in the Inn On 23rd for a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (57)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#343 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#375 of 468 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Jazz on the Park
Jazz on the Park
#36 of 190 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#34 of 190 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 892 reviews
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#30 of 190 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chelsea

Neighborhood Profile
Chelsea
Home to hundreds of art galleries, beautiful brownstones, and one of New York’s newest and most popular attractions, Chelsea is one of the city’s jewels when it comes to neighborhood life. The contemporary art scene is an integral part of the neighborhood’s identity, with gallery openings almost every night of the week and countless exhibits to explore. As a longtime hub of gay culture in New York City, it’s also a diverse district with a vibrant nightlife scene. The opening of the High Line, an abandoned elevated train track transformed into a world-class pedestrian park, gave this neighborhood new life as a tourist destination. The High Line provides visitors with a tranquil, elevated space with incomparable views, providing an unparalleled way to experience the city.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay