We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 96 New York City B&Bs / inns

The Bowery House

2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   220 Bowery, New York City, NY (Manhattan)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Roof Top Movie Nights
Save Saved
You added The Bowery House to your Saves list
The Bowery House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com Travelocity
and 9 more sites!
47%
A recent review
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    63
    46
    27
    31
See reviews for
2
15
131
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ignore the bad reviews, i loved this place, stayed for 5 nights, super friendly and helpful staff, clean, compact a total change from a boring hotel, yeah the cabins are a bit wee but the beds are comfy the location is fantastic, the rooftop garden is cool, all in all a great place to base yourself and take in New... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear Johnstone818, Thank you for your stay and FIVE STAR REVIEW! Our staff, location, roof top and value are a rare and amazing combination to offer the traveler to New York City. I hope you will stay with us again when visiting. Safe travels! Regards, Matthew Dempsey/General Manager More

Bridgewater, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

All this grousing about this place - really, people should grow up. I'm an older gentlemen who has stayed in places ranging from Scout tents to 5 star hotels. Although I normally commute in from NJ, I had to stay late one night and be in the office early the next day, so I looked around for the cheapest place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear ehoerl, Thank you for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you will visit again the next time you need accommodations in NYC. It was a pleasure having you stay with us! Regards, Matthew Dempsey/General Manager More

Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is worst than a hostel as there is no privacy whatsoever. The small cabins are covered by a lattice ceiling. So even with sleeping pills, you can barely sleep. The owner prides himself with the fact that lots of care went into recreating the original cabins and they have such an extraordinary garden roof. But to me, this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear christin77, Thank you for your stay and review! We are proud of our historical cabins. They are very clean and fitted with high thread count sheets and blankets. Our guests love the roof top with the amazing views and space to enjoy themselves. Staff is dedicated to providing our guests with directions to their destination and insight to local... More

Rishon Lezion, Israel
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you look for a new concept of a hostel, go there. You will get your own privet space, very small but nice and clean. It is very close to China town and Little Italy where you can find the best food for almost no money. There, you can live (as a tourist) for 100$ a day - all included.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear Anatmo54, Thank you for your stay and review! The Bowery House is a classic accommodation for the New York Traveler. We offer a location that puts the best of NYC within walking distance - amazing dining, shopping and night life. I'm glad you pointed out how affordable NYC can be. We offer a true value to those visiting NYC.... More

Ensenada, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Terrible, noisy, small and much too expensive for what they offer. There is bar below and you can hear the music until 4:00 am. The reception is only seperated from the dorm by a swing door and all the guest conversation can be heard in the cabins (or better said boxes).

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear Gabriele R, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you were unhappy with your stay. The Bowery House is a historic property that offers guests very affordable cabins in one of the best neighborhoods of the city. Beds have high thread count sheets, the property is very clean as you noticed and we offer a great value to the... More

New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Where do I start? I wasn't expecting much; I've stayed in several hostels. You get what you pay for. Not here. The single cabins are tiny. The beds won't accommodate you if you're over five and a half feet tall. I spent three semi sleepless nights in this hostel ($84.97/night) and might have gotten nine hours of sleep. As an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear jpcongle, Thank you for your stay and review! I'm sorry to hear about the problems during your visit. We can solve any problem and I'm sorry you didn't speak to me or my staff. Our number one goal is for each of our guests to have a great stay. We love to hear from our guests and answer many... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed back in September 2013, and it was my first time in New York - I was on a budget and wanted to spend the least on accommodation but wanted something close where everything was going on in New York - and this is where the Bowery House came in. You get a single room with a shared bathroom.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear Imran C, Thank you for your stay and FIVE STAR REVIEW! We are dedicated to providing our guests a great experience. Insights into local places to eat, see and visit are important to fully enjoy NYC. Our location is perfect. Guest love being able to go anywhere any time with easy connection via subway or short walk. We want... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

to begin i stayed in newyork from the end of febuary to the beginning of march and yeh the weather in new york wasnt nice but my stay here was absolutely one of my highlights of my stay. The entrance to the hotel is vintage and the decor itself is beautiful .This is definately boutique style , from the bathrooms... More

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear Ikram A, Thank you for your stay and FIVE STAR REVIEW! We enjoyed having you stay with us. The Cabins are comfortable and our staff really care about guests as you experienced. We have an international clientele and they are quick to make new friends. Your experience at The Bowery House is part of the magic we are able... More

Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Although the room was quite small overall I had a great stay, first time in New York City and I will definitely be back as well as recommend my friends to stay here. Was checked in by Tiffany who was extremely sweet, proficient and professional, not to mention a stunner! She was very patient with me and answered all my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear Wferin, Thank you for your stay and review! Our cabins offer a traditional and very affordable way to visit New York City. As you experienced, our staff want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Staff can help with maps, subway information, directions and tickets to the best of the city. Please stay with us again! Regards, Matthew... More

Been to The Bowery House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery House

Also Known As:
The Bowery House Hotel New York City
The Bowery House Hotel
Address: 220 Bowery, New York City, NY
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoLita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bowery House 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property, 220 Bowery, was built in 1927 as a manufacturing building. It operated in this capacity until it was reborn as The Prince Hotel in the 1940’s to serve as temporary lodging for soldiers returning home from World War II. All floors of The Prince Hotel were rebuilt with single room cabins that were just large enough for a bed and storage of essential items. The bathrooms were made communal so that the hotel operators could maximize its occupancy and house as many soldiers as possible. With its prime location and easy access to vices such as gambling, prostitution and saloons - some of the soldiers never left and decided to make the majority of the 200 cabins their long-term homes. It was in these single rooms that many of the Bowery’s most eccentric characters lived for decades adding to the lore and drama of New York’s former skid row. At The Bowery House, we have decided to preserve and restore every detail of the remarkable 1940’s cabin craftsmanship and in turn provide unique, authentic and historic accommodations to travelers from around the world. Part museum and part hotel, we hope you enjoy not only the neighborhood but also the living history that is The Bowery House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Bowery House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bowery House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.