We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

3 West Club

3 West 51st St, New York City, NY 10019
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
3 West Club
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
3 West Club
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
20
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This little gem is tucked behind a small door across the street from Rockerfeller Center. Nice price, nice size room, great staff and perfect location between 5th and 6th, blocks from central park. The only negative was that we couldn't control the temperture in the room, which was too warm for us even though we had them disconnect the radiator.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Omaha
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015 via mobile

We have been staying at this hotel ever since we discovered it back in the mid 1990s. The location is THE BEST and within walking distance to everything in midtown. As other reviewers have noted, the facility is historic but we have found the rooms to be comfortable, extremely clean and the staff very responsive to our needs. If you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Location good. Room good. Cleanliness good. Customer service RUBBISH. Do not expect warm, friendly, can I help you with anything? service from this hotel. They watch you come and go with barely a hello. On checking in the evening girl wouldnt even look at us. The room heater was off and after asking twice for it to be looked at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise S, Public Relations Manager at 3 West Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the 3 West Club. I'm very sorry to learn of your disappointment with the level of customer service you received. I can assure you the experience you had is not the norm and your comments and stay are being evaluated so we can learn from the process and correct the... More 

Nottingham, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

We originally booked to stay here for 3 nights at the beginning of our new england trip, but also stayed the two days we had at the end too. This hotel really does have an old style elegance and charm to it. On our first stay we had a huge room and although there was a wedding one night, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise S, Public Relations Manager at 3 West Club, responded to this review

Thank you for much for your review of the 3 West Club. We are delighted you had a nice stay and that you enjoyed our location, hotel and staff. You will be interested to note that we have just started testing WIFI in some of our hotel rooms which we hope to roll out to all of the rooms by... More 

Jamaica, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

I was here for a morning conference. I thought the building was classic/vintage which was kind of nice. They were working on replacing the fire alarms, so there were some wires and boxes sticking out of multiple walls. It was disappointing that there were no restrooms offered on the floor of the ballroom, I made multiple trips up backstairs in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise S, Public Relations Manager at 3 West Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on the 3 West Club. We appreciate hearing from our guests. We are in the final stages of a fire alarm installation which is mandated by the NYFD thus there are 1-2 small 3 x 3 wall boxes without their covers on them in some of our conference space; I'm sorry to learn that this... More 

Killeen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014 via mobile

I phoned ahead to ask for the check in time and was informed it was 3 pm. I knew I'd arrive a bit earlier than 3 pm, so I specifically asked if there was a business center where I could work until my room was ready. I was told "absolutely". Upon arrival at 2:30 not only was my room not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise S, Public Relations Manager at 3 West Club, responded to this review

Dear Sandi, I am so sorry you experienced awful service at our hotel. I can reassure you it is not what we expect of our staff and I am reviewing the situation to find out exactly what happened at our end. I am also sorry this wasn't brought to management's attention at the time you arrived so we could have... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We stayed in the 3 West Club Hotel via our trip booked by Thomas Cook. Having read the reviews prior to staying, we had been informed that this was an historic building with traditional decoration to match. This hotel has a great location, only 2 avenues from Times Square and a 5 minute walk to Central Park & Subway. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise S, Public Relations Manager at 3 West Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the 3 West Club. We are happy you stayed with us and you were happy with the location, the cleanliness of the rooms and the staff. We were sorry to learn that you were unable to utilize our bar and restaurant due to the dress code restrictions. As we are housed in the... More 

Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel is still part of the National Republican Women's club and literature in the room informs you about their stated purpose to support the Republican party. Also in the rooms is a rule book allowing women to wear pantsuits and requiring men to wear jackets. Very strange. Purely as a hotel, it's a little run down and old fashioned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise S, Public Relations Manager at 3 West Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property at the 3 West Club/WNRC. I am so sorry to have learned that your stay was not up to par. I was hoping you would have elaborated a bit on the "the property is a bit run down portion" so that I could respond properly as this comment has me a bit... More 

East Sussex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We travelled from the UK for our sons wedding.All the staff here are wonderful they could not do enough to make the day the success it was.The food was excellent. It was 2 weeks before Christmas the decorations in the photos are 1st class with a magical look. The rooms are a little tried but for the price you pay,good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Louise S, Public Relations Manager at 3 West Club, responded to this review

Janet, We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and the wedding went well and you enjoyed it. We appreciate the wonderful review and that your expectations were met. We hope to see you again in NYC at the 3 West Club. We are working hard to continue to improve our services especially within the hotel. As always, we appreciate... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Fabulous location at budget rate for those travellers astute enough to value friendly and warm staff and clean comfotable ( if quirky ¡) accommodation above glossy but clinical 'posh' hotels. Central park, broadway , times square all within 15mins walk. This lovely colonial residence is well worth considering.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Midtown

Neighborhood Profile
Midtown
This is the iconic New York that so many visitors imagine before they visit - spectacular skyscrapers like the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building, iconic public buildings like Grand Central Terminal and the New York Public Library, and the non-stop hustle and bustle of the city streets. Fifth Avenue is a shopper's paradise where you can find every kind of store imaginable, with fashion brands ranging from the affordable to the ultra-fancy. Visit Rockefeller Center to experience towering Art Deco grandeur, and foodies will love the busy restaurants that stay open late in Koreatown. After dark, Midtown calms down a bit, but at any time of day or night it still feels 100% New York.
Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question