We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 West 31st St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Urban Oasis to your Saves list
Urban Oasis
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
100%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
37
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Urban Oasis for a week and loved our stay. It was the cheapest we could find in Manhattan that would give us our own room, in a good location with a nice modern feel & it didn't disappoint. If this is what you are looking for - BOOK! We researched for months &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't be turned off by the unconventional "buzz to get in, to check in" and the terrifying elevator experience, because once you are actually introduced to the hostel ( more like luxury apartment ), you cannot go wrong. First time in the big city, and we were a little terrified at what entrance, but what was so nicely ( and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
uonyc, Owner at Urban Oasis, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were woken up at night because of the slamming door. We have replaced the door closure with a more advanced one that allows smooth closure. Thanks for choosing Urban Oasis and we hope to see you again on your next visit to NYC! The Staff at Urban Oasis More

Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

pros: super clean and very cute, perfect central location, super friendly staff, extremely safe (aside from security cameras and elevator key, I appreciated the strict guest-only entry policy), i appreciated that there were plenty of hair dryers and flat irons to borrow (and plenty of toiletries). i was worried about staying in one of the rooms w/o no windows (we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is an old building but when you get upstairs to the hostel itself, it looks brand new. Fresh paint and urban IKEA furnishings. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You meet people stay in here from several other countries. They allow you your own refrigerator and pantry space. It is very secure, as you have to have a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I spent 10 days here and loved it. For those who don't need their own private bathroom, this is perfect. Great location just outside of the main Midtown hustle but close to subways and shopping. Staff are lovely, always smiling and are happy to tend to any needs. It was a pleasant stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Lovely alternative to a hotel in New York City.Perfect location! We stayed at 9th floor and 10th floor. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly. We would certainly stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cordoba, Argentina
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We were there for christmas 2013, it was awesome. The place is clean, in an EXCELLENT location, the staff was really helpful and always ready (special thanks to Lisa). At first we were concern about sharing a bathroom, but I must say that the cleaning service was constantly cleaning it so it was always in perfect conditions. Rooms are small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
uk
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

So we have stayed there three times and this time around we had a couple of grumbles. We stayed on the 7th floor and as usual its very clean indeed, and we like the general feel of the place and its chilled nature. That said, the 7th floor feels a bit crammed. It feels like there are maybe a couple... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
uonyc, Manager at Urban Oasis, responded to this review

We are sorry that our property did not live up to your expectations this time. We would like to point out, however, that the floor you stayed on has one room, thus two ppl less than the other one you stayed on before, with all rooms recently redecorated. Usually there is little or no wait for the bathrooms but it... More

Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is hostel is a masterpiece in NY. Perfect location, staff very friendly and all the time I found the restroom clean and never I needed to wait for use. When I arrived I found my room clean and organized. The rules of this hostel are clear and if you prefere you can use the kitchen for prepare you breakfast,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nis, Serbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed on the 7th floor. Room and everything else was really clean. Girls who work there were very friendly, helpful and polite. We were one of the first people stayed on this floor. Prices are great, it was more then we expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Been to Urban Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Oasis

Also Known As:
Urban Oasis Hostel & Guest House Hotel
Urban Oasis Hostel & Guest House Hotel New York City
Urban Oasis Hostel And Guest House
Address: 5 West 31st St, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic NYC guest house with private rooms and shared facilities in the center of Manhattan for those seeking a real New York experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Urban Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.