We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostelling International - New York

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
891 Amsterdam Ave., New York City, NY 10025
Special Price
10% off room rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostelling International - New York
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    478
    459
    127
    38
    27
See reviews for
36
30
604
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1129)
  • Mar-May only
    (257)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (322)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (300)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (250)
All months
Grand Anse, Saint George, Grenada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed in HI hostel as was at the end of my trip around the world, was running out of cash and it was the best I could afford. It was a great hostel, the facilities were awesome compared to most hostels-very modern and stylish chill out areas, lovely clean kitchen and great reasonably priced cafe open long hours. Rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hostel rocks. Great place for meeting new people and having a safe and affordable stay in NYC. I loved it. Special hanks to David at the front desk, who worked on the 22d of August:) Anytime I travel-I`ll be staying at Hostelling International. I wish you guys expand more and more across the ocean as well. Yulia.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The beds and showers are great and while they don't provide a free breakfast, there is a place to buy breakfast on-site which is good and relatively cheap. Also Broadway Bagel is nearby which I would highly recommend. I don't know if I'd recommend it if you're travelling alone as my brother and me didn't get to know anyone else... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent ten days there during Chritmas Time at this place. It's a really good hostel with plenty of activities and most of them are free so when you travel by yourself it's just amazing. Friendly staff and atmosphere. However, according the number of persons during this period, there wasn't hot water for several days it was just awful in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatrickHINYC, Manager at Hostelling International - New York, responded to this review

We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your feedback about your stay at our NYC location. Thank you for mentioning the stolen food issue, as well as the concern with the warm water. Since the holiday season, we have done a lot to improve our facilities (including the heating units) and we hope you will have an... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for 3 nights in one of the 4-bed rooms. The room and bathrooms were very clean, air-conditioning was good, and the included breakfast was functional (if fairly unexciting). Really big lockers to put all your stuff and they sell padlocks fairly cheaply. The lift is pretty slow, and they could do with another bathroom (at times when you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PatrickHINYC, Manager at Hostelling International - New York, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your feedback! We are currently in the process of adding even more bathrooms that should help relieve the congestion you mentioned. We appreciate hearing your thoughts and our staff encourages you to visit us again soon or check out our other locations around the world. More 

Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was my first time travelling along in NY and the staff were aware of this, and were extremely helpful in allowing me to have a room with friendly people. The staff were really helpful in my departure, giving me a map to my final destination and a number incase i became lost. Overall, a pleasant stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PatrickHINYC, Manager at Hostelling International - New York, responded to this review

That sounds like a wonderful experience as a solo traveler visiting NYC for the first time. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that our staff was helpful every step of the way. Now you are an expert and we hope you will plan to stay with us again someday. You are always welcome back!... More 

Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was fully aware this was Manhatton, and prepared to get along with hostel living conditions, but man, the moment I open the door of the dorm, I felt like it's a refugee camp. ( I started to feel it when I stepped into shaking elevator.) BAD BAD smell of the room, it's more like from the carpet or building... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PatrickHINYC, Manager at Hostelling International - New York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your disappointment with us. Our staff is very sorry to hear that you were displeased with our facility. We understand that you were dissatisfied and we encourage you to reach out to our management team directly if you would like to discuss your stay in more detail. We never like... More 

Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having travelled through Europe staying in hostels, I was expecting bare bones accomodations. I was so surprised to stay in SUPER clean rooms, use a super clean bathroom and shower, and super clean community rooms. Not only that, but the staff is so friendly it is ridiculous...we were greeted by a "professional conversationalist". HA! There were parties and activities every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Hostel is perfectly located. Rooms are clean and quiet. Air conditioning is working good. Bathrooms are clean even the hostel was crowded when I stayed there. They provide you with body wash and shampoo. There is laundry room as well. The staff is very helpfull and friendly. You have to pay for the breakfast, but it was still fair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PatrickHINYC, Manager at Hostelling International - New York, responded to this review

Great feedback! Thank you for choosing our NYC hostel and for sharing your kind words and advice for others to read. Our staff would like you to know that you are always welcome to visit us again. Take care! More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night before heading to Pennsylvania the next day to work at camp, lots of people going to other camps and the same camp to meet up with. A range of things to do, but not a lot of food options.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Central park(12)
  • Very clean(7)
  • Great location(6)
  • Subways stations(6)
  • Times Square(5)
  • Free breakfast(4)
  • Friendly staff(3)
  • Little bit(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

626 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (393)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (80)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Family/play areas (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (73)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (215)
Viewed
Amenities (79)
Viewed
Green Private Room (35)
Viewed
Premium Four Bed Dorm (15)
Viewed
Premium Six Bed Dorm (21)
Viewed
Red Private Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#343 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#208 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,677 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#263 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#297 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#380 of 468 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Upper West Side

Neighborhood Profile
Upper West Side
Nestled between Central Park and the Hudson River, the Upper West Side offers iconic architecture and a quiet, residential respite from the buzzing energy of downtown. Along Central Park West are many of the city’s most iconic apartment buildings, as well as the American Museum of Natural History, which has been welcoming visitors to its historic exhibit halls for over 140 years. Culture fans will love Lincoln Center, home to some of the world’s best opera, dance, film, and theater performances, all centrally located around a beautiful fountain. Spanning the entire length of the Upper West Side, Riverside Park is ideal for a long, leisurely stroll in a quiet green space.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay