We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peninsula New York

5.0 of 5 700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Peninsula New York
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Peninsula New York
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    132
    48
    16
    12
See reviews for
105
200
33
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (558)
  • Mar-May only
    (137)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (157)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (139)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (125)
All months
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife has lived and traveled extensively in NYC... specifically Manhattan. She always stays at The Peninsula. The staff is fantastic! Our Concierges, Victoria and Faisal got us what ever we wanted.....Tickets to sold out shows, reservations at hard to get into restaurants, they can do it all!! The rooms tend to be small but very comfortable. The rooftop bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review

Dear John C, Thank you for your specific mention of our Clefs D'or Concierge team on TripAdvisor. They work very hard to ensure our guests' seamless stay and to making the nearly impossible tasks happen. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager More

Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's difficult for a hotel of this stature to live up to its reputation, but The Peninsula New York most certainly did. While the rooms eschew the modern, trendy style that competitors like the Mandarin embrace, the result is a peaceful oasis in the heart of a vibrant, if at times chaotic, city. Our room was a Grand Luxe room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review

Dear PalmettoSon, "What a wonderful review". Those were the first words which came to mind when I read your comments. Thank you for taking a moment to write this thoughtful review of your experience to The Peninsula New York. We could not have wished for a better description of our hotel and the image we wish to portray. With regards... More

Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed in the Peninsula in Hong Kong and found it to be a wonderful hotel. Therefore when making a trip to New York to pick up my elderly parents disembarking from a cruise, I chose the Peninsula New York. In retrospect this was a fortuitous choice. The quiet, dignified welcome; the quick check-in was just what I expected.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review

Dear FrequentTraveller090, Firstly, I certainly hope your father has recovered and he is in good health since your last visit to New York. I am sincerely thankful that our staff including our Security Officer, Mr. Michael White were a great help to you and your family during this crisis. At the Peninsula, not only do we pride ourselves on the... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Though I live in DC, I have stayed at the Peninsula a number of times over the years - most recently twice in the last 2 months - (in fact my parents stayed at the Gotham Hotel in the same location back in the 50's!!) and am going back in December. I have never been disappointed. I have stayed at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review

Dear Francis R, Thank you for taking the time to share such a thoughtful and detailed review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you have taken up the tradition of staying at The Peninsula New York. Your kind comments regarding Taz will not only be shared with him but with our entire team. I sincerely look forward... More

Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Peninsula in New York for a week with my teenage daughter. The reason for choosing the Peninsula over and above any other hotels in New York was due to its location - which I think is perfect. My daughter and I had a great time walking everywhere from the hotel. We stayed at a standard double... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review

Dear Siamesekat, We appreciate your post review on TripAdvisor from your stay last May. We are delighted The Peninsula New York was the ideal location for you to explore New York with your daughter. It appears you may have stayed in our superior room which faces the interior and while having a large bathroom, it does not have a separate... More

Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed at the Peninsula New York. It's great. Nice, clean and classy. It's located at the most convenient location in NYC, just steps away from the Apple Store, FAO Schwartz, the 5th Avenue shopping area, Columbus circle and Central Park. The rooms are large and the amenities are readily available. But if there is one drawback, it's too expensive for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review

Dear Eugene Y, Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your visit to The Peninsula New York on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and value your patronage. Best regards, Jonathan H. Crook General Manager More

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
38 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Regis,Ritz they are all the same in NYC. I feel bad for tourist that come to NYC and save to stay in a $1200 a night hotel suite. First it's not a suite. It's a regular room that they call a suite. A tiny 400 square foot room. A suite would be $2500. So don't be fooled first timers. You... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review

Dear Sarasota69, We thank you for your review and based on your travel experience, we also appreciate your knowledge of and comparison of the luxury segment of hotels in New York City. We are sorry you were disappointed with the size of your suite and felt it did not exceed your expectations. I welcome the opportunity to discuss this further... More

Falkirk
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We booked afternoon tea here before going to New York as it was 'THE' place to have afternoon tea, in the Gotham Lounge. When we arrived no one had a note of our booking and the Gotham Lounge was shut for renovation??? Why not do this in the winter?? We were shown to a low table in the corner of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review

Dear Wendyian, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Although the renovation of Gotham Lounge was done in a timely manner to prepare for New York's busy fall and winter seasons, I am sorry this closure distracted from your stay with us. I am pleased to announce that Gotham Lounge has recently re-opened on Friday, September 19, 2014. I sincerely... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

The location it s excellent ,the hotel it s clean and nicely furnished ,the staff it s nice ,but not very efficient ,the food from room service it s very good but they bring the wrong orders,you have to call them 2 ,3 times to get it right . Comparing with other 5 star hotels it s not a bad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review

Dear alexandra p, I sincerely appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor and apologize that although you enjoyed your stay with us, your In-Room Dining experience was not as seamless as it should have been. I regret that you were left with a somewhat negative impression of our hotel. I certainly look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back and would... More

Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

It' s maybe the fifth time we stay at this hotel and for me it's the best ! Yes rooms are a little small but everything is so perfect that you can go over it ! We where with our small kids , 8 and 5 years old and we stayed in a excecutive suite . Kids slept in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review

Dear AngyHippo, It was truly a pleasure having you and your family as valued repeat guests.Thank you for your thoughtful comments and for sharing the details of your stay. Our only wish is to continue to be your home away from home and we sincerely look forward to receiving you for the sixth time at The Peninsula New York. Kind... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Peninsula New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula New York

Address: 700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula New York 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Amex, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula New York Hotel New York City
Peninsula New York City
New York City Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel New York

685 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (219)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (69)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
2:14
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (64)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (433)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (28)
Viewed
Executive Suite (23)
Viewed
Grand Luxe Room (14)
Viewed
Grand Suite (31)
Viewed
Junior Executive Suite (21)
Viewed
Junior Suite (22)
Viewed
Peninsula Suite (Pre-Renovation) (32)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (20)
Viewed
Superior Room - 2 (18)
Viewed
Superior Room (pre-renovation) (109)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay