We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Super 8 Carlsbad

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3817 National Parks Highway, Route 62/180 South, Carlsbad, NM 88220
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Super 8 Carlsbad
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
El Segundo, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dingy hotel which needs updating. Wifi never worked, bathrooms were patched up, shower made noises, toilet paper was left on the floor, and the ironing board pad had a huge greasy stain on it. Worse, there was a huge gap (1/4") between the door and the door frame - anyone could look in or out of the room by peeking... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Y8234SRsergiol
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry to hear of your disappointment with our hotel. Know that your voice is important to us and that we are working hard to address these issues and improve upon the guest experience. We hope to see you again someday and to transform your opinion of our hotel and service. More 

Grover Beach, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms are in severe need of maintenance: the drywall tape in the corner of the room was peeling; the wainscot molding was missing behind the headboard (it looked like it had deliberately been cut that way), the tub was rusty, the shower curtain moldy, the outlet by the sink didn't work at all and the outlet by the desk... More 

Helpful?
Thank K S
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review

I regret to hear that you weren't thoroughly impressed with our accommodations and services, though it is good to hear that you found the majority of your experience to be satisfactory. We appreciate the compliments and the comments regarding areas where can improve. We hope that during your next stay, your expectations will be far surpassed! More 

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015

The hotel stunk like curry even in the rooms. Cigarette smoke from other rooms and the hallway would come into the room. We had items stolen from our vehical and the manager said we could not see the security video and there was nothing he could do. We had to go buy raid to spray the rooms from the cock-roaches.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank eatamus
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had items stolen from your vehicle. We sincerely apologize for the unsatisfactory experience that you had with the cleanliness of our hotel. Thank you for bringing this up to our attention, as we will have this looked into and resolve immediately. We hope that you can still give us another chance to prove... More 

El Paso, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

I was not happy with this place at all. First, I received a call right before I got there that they had overbooked and that I was going to be moved to an Econolodge. Then they said, never mind we have a room for you. Got there, got the keys to my room, only to find that they had given... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank April B
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for the unsatisfactory experience that you had with reservations and the cleanliness of our hotel. Thank you for your feedback as we will have this looked into and resolve immediately. We hope that you can still give us another chance on your next visit in the area. More 

Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015 via mobile

Worst Super 8 ever. Dingy small rooms. Filthy stinky bathroom. Stained towels and wash cloth. The worst thing is no electricity in the hotel in the morning. My family had to take shower and get ready in the dark. Can you imagine !! Staff not concerned about this issue but replied that she was new here and had informed the... More 

Helpful?
Thank genuinlyreviewed
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for the unsatisfactory experience that you had in our hotel specifically with our facilities and staff. Thank you for your feedback as this is being escalated to our management to have them look into it and resolve immediately. We hope that you could give us another chance to prove how much we value your business. More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015

I knew when I stayed here that it wasn't going to be the Ritz-Carlton! But it is such a shame to pay so much for so little. The only reason we stayed here was because this is the most reasonable of the surrounding hotels...if 112.00 is to be considered reasonable! To give credit, the interior of the room was okay.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry to hear of your disappointment with our hotel. We value your opinion and suggestions for improvement as these comments help us to improve upon the guest experience at our hotel. We hope to see you again someday and to transform your opinion of our hotel and service. More 

Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015 via mobile

Stayed two nights ago for work and it was comfy. Place needs a little updating and Breakfast was decent. Was quiet a place. The night clerk was lazy and rude. But the one in the morning was very nice! I believe her name was Mariah I would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank wonderman12
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review

We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Thank you for appreciating our efforts in providing you an excellent customer experience. We apologize for the night staff, I'll forward this to our management to have them reminded of their duties. We would like to thank you for your business and have a nice day! More 

Seattle
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

i reserved a smoking room and they didn't have it. no breakfast whatsoever in the morning. no coffee in the lobby. nothing

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank BluesSeeker
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for the unsatisfactory experience that you had with our hotel. I will surely forward this to our management to have them look into it and resolve immediately. We are still hoping that you can still give us a chance to prove how much we value your business. More 

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

After driving all day and then staying a bit late at the Caverns for the bat flight, the Super 8 was a sight for...sore butts. Easy to find, the hotel staff was very nice. Check in and out were super quick! The room was clean and comfortable. It's a pretty short drive from the busy parts of Carlsbad, so we... More 

Helpful?
Thank chromachord
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review

Hello chromachord, Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased that we were able to accommodate your lodging needs after your long travels. I hope you truly enjoyed the accommodations and services that we had given you and we truly look forward for your next stay with us. Thank you very much for your recommendation! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
5.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
16.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 3 in Whites City
3.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#3 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
4.8 mi away
U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay