We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1829 South Canal Street, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6517
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

434 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    58
    128
    120
    69
    59
See reviews for
166
116
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (434)
  • Mar-May only
    (105)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (178)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
waco, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Over priced average hotel. I liked the large room but there wasn't anything outstanding about it to warrant over $100.00 a night. The wi fi was so poor I was unable to use my tablet. The food in the restaurant was below average and the breakfast was set up to force you to ask for coffee so you would have... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
NEW MEXICO
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am in Carlsbad at least once a year...and I always stay at the Stevens Inn. It is he best in Carlsbad. Rooms are clean and large. Front desk staff is always helpful. The full breakfast is always awesome!! I highly recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brenham, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's not the Hilton and its not a dive. Right in between. This hotel has good points and bad. The ice machines are unreliable and after my ice once had orange chunks of something mixed in it I just started buying my own ice for my cooler. The television channels are very limited compared to all other hotels I stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Levelland, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wish they would've told me in advance that they were a no cash hotel it was very inconvenient for us as we were on vacation to have a hold on our card for 2 nights when I did specify to the clerk I only needed it for 1. I was told breakfast was till 10am which was not true. But... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bobby F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry about the credit card confusion. I will speak to our front desk staff about communicating with our customers the policy we have on accepting cash. Thanks for the business you gave us. Bobby Forrest G/M More 

Lubbock, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Room wouldn't cool below about 78 degrees. I was told as long as compressor and fan were running then the a/c was working properly. They didn't offer a change in rooms or an apology. Clerk was very rude when I asked to check out and wanted a receipt showing that my credit card would not be charged.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bobby F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry about your experience at the hotel. The front desk should have given you another room to move to. I will get the A/C inspected and see what is wrong. I will also speak with the front desk attendant and see why she did not offer you another room. You were not billed for the room. Compensation was... More 

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

The Caverns brought me to the Sevens Inn and to Carlsbad. The Caverns are AMAZING the city of Carlsbad is not. During our Southwest road trip we stayed at 5 Best Westerns - this one was OK (but it also was the worst and by far the most expensive). Perhaps it doesn't deserve the worst rating but combined with this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bobby F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor. The hotel is working on improving the issues you brought up. The property is under one of the largest improvement plans in the Best Western system. The oilfield boom has been good for business but creates other areas that need attention. Hopefully when all the remodeling is finished the hotel will have corrected the... More 

Cabot
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

room ok. a little pricey. hotel front desk no very friendly. no military discount. good location for nearby resturants and to the caverns. gas stations and the like. Walmart just down the road. restaurant and lounge wasn't open. probablt due to a sunday arrival

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bobby F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. The hotel likes to you use all of our customer feedback to improve our guest experience. Your business is greatly appreciated . Bobby Forrest G/M More 

Albuquerque, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

VERY clean location with an excellent breakfast bar. My only complaints is the lack of outlets around desks in rooms making it difficult to use both PC and printer. Additionally, every time I stay here I have to call the internet support number as the internet stops working midway through my one night stays. Shower could be more consistent with... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bobby F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate your review on TripAdvisor. The hotel has spent $250,000 on upgrading our internet to meet the new standards.i am the G/M and would like to discuss with you any problems that need to be addressed. Bobby Forrest G/M More 

Albuquerque, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

We travelled with 2 boys 11 and 9. They loved the pool. The spa was very little but did not stop us from enjoying it. BW has great breakfasts. All in all, we were very satisfied with the facility and its location.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bobby F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your response on TripAdvisor. it is pleasant to hear about a guest stay that was enjoyable. Bobby Forrest G/M More 

San Antonio, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Clean, friendly staff that made our 1st night with pet away from home before visiting the Carlsbad Caverns a no hassle stay. It is oil country, thus the hotel is mainly taken by workers - but that carries no value itself nor good / nor bad

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bobby F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Stevens Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate your response on TripAdvisor. The Best Western Stevens Inn is pet friendly and tries to meet all the needs of all our different customers. Thanks Bobby Forrest G/M More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 19 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
18.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#2 of 3 in Whites City
3.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#1 of 19 in Carlsbad
5.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay