We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge

Hotel website
Hotel deals
3706 National Parks Highway, Carlsbad, NM 88220 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn - Carlsbad)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Econo Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1
    14
    12
    20
    57
See reviews for
39
22
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (104)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Bernalillo, New Mexico
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This review is for Econo Lodge In Carlsbad, New Mexico. This was the worst motel I've ever been in. Even the continental breakfast was pretty disgusting. The room should have been condemned !! The bathrooms were both very disgusting. The T.V. service was the only good thing about a very bad situation

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chino, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is beyond belief !! Dog poop in the laundry room, on the lawn, the windows were filthy, not just the room we had but the windows in all the rooms. The only semi clean area was the lobby. The staff didn't have a clue as how to bill, we were three (3) couples on a road trip, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was the worst I've ever been to! Very dirty swimming pool was closed I got over charged! Never again will I stay there! Breakfast was also very bad for the prices that they have there I think it could have been a little bit better they never seemed to have management around to help solve the problem they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear of the difficulties you experienced during your recent stay with us. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We hope to see you again someday and to transform your opinion... More 

Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

So after reading the reviews, I was leery... HOWEVER, I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, the price is high, but if you take the time to price everywhere, they ALL are. The room had exactly what it advertises, the furniture is all new, and it is obvious that they are remodeling (saw a guy painting.) The front desk was impressive every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with our hotel and services. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have rated our hospitality and accommodations so highly! We happily look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in the area. More 

Featherston, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Really can't beat the price. Rooms were nice enough, well equipped with a microwave, fridge and large television. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel is a short drive to legoland and the Carlsbad flower fields. Cost us $14 by taxi. $7 taxi to the train station or a 15 minute walk, so very convenient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I am happy to learn that you enjoyed the value and the amenities of our hotel such as our microwave, fridge, and large television. It is so rewarding to hear that we were able to provide a hospitable (friendly and helpful staff) and convenient experience to LegoLand and Carlsbad Flower Fields. We hope you're looking forward to your next stay... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

This was a decent hotel. A lot of oil field workers and construction workers stay at this hotel. It's older, but was quiet. Probably wouldn't stay here alone unless I was a man or where there wasn't anything else available in town. Location is kinda creepy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear that you did not feel safe during your most recent stay with us, and I want to assure you that we take the security of our guests very seriously. We want you to feel at home, welcomed and safe within a clean environment. We can't wait to show you how we continue to improve... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

had to make reservations unseen because the town is full on the weekends for going to Carlsbad Caverns. This motel is so bad, if defies description. I could write a book on the number of the things wrong, but will try and keep in short. One nite: $100. The first room I was given smelled like a mix of smells... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay. Your voice is very important to us and that we are working hard to address these issues that you have mentioned and improve upon the guest experience. I do hope you'll return and let us show you a far better experience. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015 via mobile

The only problems I had there was the sink wasn't attached to the counter and the drain in the tub was not glued down it. The service was good and breakfast some some stuff could be fixed. And on there sign said special deal but we asked about it they had no idea what I was talking about. And you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate your high rating of our hotel, though I do apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced and I hope that your next visit will be even better. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and we sincerely apologize for the problems that you encountered with housekeeping and maintenance. We are working to take care of all of the issues that... More 

Carlsbad, New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

When the lobby is dirtier than a railroad locomotive cab floor, you know you're in trouble. When the desk clerk has no clue about the room inventory, that's another Big Trouble sign. I never entered my first assigned room...two "ladies" looked out when they heard me attempt to enter. So, back to the front desk for a second room. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated, though it is very disappointing to learn of the bad impression we made with the state of our accommodations. We are deeply distressed to discover the lapse in service you experienced during your recent stay. I assure you that each issue mentioned is being investigated and addressed and we thank you for taking the time... More 

Farmington, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

Because of all the oil field workers staying in the area, they priced a $40 room at $124. The room was not only expensive, but the bathroom was not well cleaned, and the room was generally shabby. Anything but economical. I will never stay in an Econo Lodge again and probably not stay in Carlsbad again. Jerry Hoffer

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry to hear of your disappointment with our hotel. We appreciate you giving your feedback about your recent experience in our hotel and we thank you for bringing a number of important matters to our attention such as the price of the room and unclean bathroom. We hope to see you again someday and to transform your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay