We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   3706 National Parks Highway, Carlsbad, NM 88220 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn - Carlsbad)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Carlsbad
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    12
    11
    20
    53
See reviews for
36
20
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (96)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When the lobby is dirtier than a railroad locomotive cab floor, you know you're in trouble. When the desk clerk has no clue about the room inventory, that's another Big Trouble sign. I never entered my first assigned room...two "ladies" looked out when they heard me attempt to enter. So, back to the front desk for a second room. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated, though it is very disappointing to learn of the bad impression we made with the state of our accommodations. We are deeply distressed to discover the lapse in service you experienced during your recent stay. I assure you that each issue mentioned is being investigated and addressed and we thank you for taking the time... More 

Farmington, New Mexico
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

Because of all the oil field workers staying in the area, they priced a $40 room at $124. The room was not only expensive, but the bathroom was not well cleaned, and the room was generally shabby. Anything but economical. I will never stay in an Econo Lodge again and probably not stay in Carlsbad again. Jerry Hoffer

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry to hear of your disappointment with our hotel. We appreciate you giving your feedback about your recent experience in our hotel and we thank you for bringing a number of important matters to our attention such as the price of the room and unclean bathroom. We hope to see you again someday and to transform your... More 

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Saint Anthony, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We were redeeming Choice privileges points, so the room would have been free--and we left as soon as we found a room somewhere else in Carlsbad. A dead cockroach, some else's trash in the room, a broken security lock which has been either cut or forced, plaster crumbling in the bathroom, a dirty sink in the kitchenette area, dirty and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. It is of the highest importance that things like this are not missed by our staff and mistakes like this should never be overlooked. We... More 

Eagle Nest, New Mexico
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

This econo lodge was real nice. The fount desk made me fell like they appreciated my business. the room was very nice and clean. The breakfast was enjoyable. There is a bar & grill in the same building. I had a great 6 oz steak & fries For $7.00.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

It is great to hear from you and I am so glad that you enjoyed our staff courtesy and have taken the time to recognize the hospitality and care that we aim to provide for each and every guest. It means a lot to hear from guests who are satisfied with all of our services and amenities. Thank you for... More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We went to the McDonald observatory the morning we left alpine tx for Carlsbad I called ahead and got the econo lodge . We arrived and the desk clerk immediately told me that she didn't know how I got the room booked cause they were overbooked but gave is a key for rm 244. We walked into the room to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you encountered such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent experience with us. It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. Our housekeeping staff is... More 

Conroe
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

room booked by co-worker only because of the bar, room was shabby and dimly lit. room looked clean but hard to tell with bad lighting. furniture was broken and sparse. only good thing about this room was that I did not pay for it my co-worker did. breakfast started with weak coffee which made me go out to eat. overpriced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I regret to discover that you weren't thoroughly impressed with us during your most recent stay. Your comments are important to us as we continuously seek ways to improve upon the guest experience in our hotel. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention so that we can make sure no future guest experiences the same inconvenience. More 

Amarillo, Texas, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Where do I begin? In any other town it would have been a $40.00 dollar dive room, and still not worth the price. Because of oil field workers needing lodging the prices in Carlsbad are doubled. I was there for a funeral, so I didn't need more negativity, but that's what I got. Room was unclean, bugs on the floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent stay with us, especially that we were not able to address the issues right away. It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the... More 

Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Well, the pool is great. But that's it. Don't look at the whirl pool, though. Yuck. We paid about 130$ for: - a cockroach - a loose ventilation grille - a light without cover (dead anyway the following morning) - a missing security lock - a table with a lame leg - a drawer that didn't fit and hung loose... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I regret to discover that you weren't thoroughly impressed with us during your most recent stay. I am so sorry for the unfortunate incident that you experienced regarding the visit of unwelcome pests in your guest room. I do thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and I assure you that we are correcting this issue for improved... More 

West Covina, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We booked this on the Choice Hotels app. I should have looked at Trip advisor . A previous review mentioned understanding carlsbad . She explains the culture well. Lots of guys also bring working girls. They are present but discrete. The hotel is very run down. I needs renovation. The room was clean but their was some mold in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are very sorry for failing to meet your expectations regarding the appearance and maintenance of our property. The comments we received from our guests are very much appreciated and these will be useful in improving the quality of accommodations we provide to our guests. Rest assured that your feedback will be highly considered and we hope that we’ll have... More 

Liberty, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

First let me say, the review below titled, "clean Free Wifi", is my review of another hotel I stayed at two days ago (rhymes with “Milton”). I accidently transmitted it here. So, now I’ll re-write my review from yesterday at this hotel. This Econolodge hotel sucks. Although the lobby was clean and cool, I was told to begin with that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

It is extremely disheartening to hear that your stay was not satisfactory. Your comfort and convenience is our hotel’s top priority. Rest assured that your comments will be valuable in evaluating what we need to improve more in order to exceed our guest’s expectations. Feel free to advise us of your next trip and we’ll do our best to ensure... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3706 National Parks Highway, Carlsbad, NM 88220 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn - Carlsbad)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay