We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Broken Spur Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
955 E SR-24, PO Box 750355, Torrey, UT 84775
Broken Spur Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Linda W Golden Valley, Minnesota
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    81
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
60
96
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (218)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We loved this place. My husband and I stayed only one night. We happened upon the Boroken Spur as it was getting dark and we didn't want to drive in the dark. We got lucky. The owners were very hospitable and friendly. The room was basic yet very clean. The beds were very comfortable. If we had had more time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is my third stay (and review) of this fine Inn. Spacious room and comfortable bed. The manager was (and has been in the past) very flexible in ensuring I could use the indoor pool outside of posted hours. The included breakfast was tasty and filling. All the little things were complete. Genuine hospitality - not the phoniness of 4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingsport, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I really enjoyed our stay. Room was very clean and quiet. Internet was good. Breakfast was buffet, serve yourself. We were the only ones in the restaurant for it. Real oatmeal, 2 kinds of eggs, pancakes, biscuits and gravy, and lots of homemade pastries. A great way to start the day. Ate at the restaurant for dinner and it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand Junction, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We spent two nights at the Broken Spur while exploring the Capitol Reef area. The room was clean and comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was excellent. Staff members from check-in to check-out were friendly and helpful. Our room was on the second floor at the end of the hallway so we pulled a couple chairs out on the balcony and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We happened upon the Broken Spur Inn and were surprised and delighted. The room was clean and comfortable, the beds good quality and the owners and staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfast with real scrambled eggs, cooked oatmeal, fried potatoes, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit and pastries and more and more was far beyond what one has come to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent two very comfortable nights at the Broken Spur. Holly, the co-owner was especially helpful with the little things that make a stay comfortable. Breakfast was generous with real scrambled eggs, cooked oatmeal and home baked coffee cakes and biscuits. We asked for some special needs that were cheerfully accommodated. Good restaurant for big time beef eater. Great place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We appreciate feedback from our guests. We are glad we were able to accommodate you with your special needs. We are also glad the steakhouse was open so you could enjoy that as well. We also try to make our hot breakfast one that will help you start the day right. Please feel free to... More 

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for one night at the Broken Spur during an American Road Trip holiday as a base for exploring Capitol Reef National Park. We stayed in their suite which was excellent value for money, the inn also had a pool and jacuzzi facilities and the onsite restaraunt was of a good standard. Capitol Reef National Park is well worth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Capitol Reef is a great place to visit and we hope to add to that when you stay with us. We want out guests to enjoy their stay in this beautiful part of the world. We would love to have you stay with us again.... More 

Pleasant Grove
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We stayed at the Broken Spur in Oct. Since it was during the off season it wasn't very crowed at all. The park was great hardly any traffic with tons of beautiful things to explore and see. The room was large and more importantly very clean. The food on site was good, the breakfast was one of the best we've... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. October is a perfect time to visit Capitol Reef. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Most importantly I am glad your room was clean. We just opened up our steakhouse again for the 2015 season. Thank you and please visit us again sometime soon. More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

This was probably my favorite place to stay during my Utah trip. The rooms were decent sized and clean as expected, but the service was truly spectacular! The owners are right there at the desk when you check in and they are just very accommodating and friendly. It is a good price, very nice location as it is not quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a kind review about your stay. We did redo all the rooms and put new carpet in them. So glad that you liked it. Our breakfast is baked fresh daily and we are glad you enjoyed it. We are so happy that you are willing to stay with us again! Thank you, Broken Spur Inn More 

Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Let me begin with the fact that I visited in January. Capitol Reef National Park was cold, empty and fabulous, I have never been to a National Park where I encountered NO other hikers on trail. That being said the selection of accommodations is limited. The staff at the Broken Spur was professional and helpful, however there information was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Yes, January is during the off season and there aren't very many people that travel through here. We do not have a Capitol Reef information channel. We would have been able to answer any questions you have had since both visitors centers are closed also during the off season. We are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question