We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elizabethan Inn

814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Elizabethan Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    30
    49
    19
    31
    30
See reviews for
52
47
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (159)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
There are newer reviews for Elizabethan Inn
See the most recent reviews
Benson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Stayed for one night as part of a short weekend getaway. An older hotel but we were pleasantly surprised. Staff very nice. The bed was very comfortable, big "clean" room with fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Great location. Quiet room, Italian food at the restaurant was good. Very affordable which I did not expect. I will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We do our best to please every guest and we are glad it shows. We enjoyed having you with us and hope you will make the trip from Benson and stay with us again soon. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I read all the reviews before booking and decided to take my chances and I am glad I did. It was very easy to get to and in a great location for getting to food. I was greeted when I first walked in even though she was in the middle of a check in. She know who I was right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words! We are very glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We feel privileged that for your "bucketlist" first visit to the Outer Banks, you decided to spend it with us! We hope you will come and visit us again soon! More 

FREDERICKSBURG, VA.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Came down here for a one-nighter on a Saturday. I sing. Therefore I am up late...and wake - by most peoples' standards - late. Found out that the checkout time was 11 am. Begrudgingly I said OK...I guess that will work. By the way the checkin lady was quite nice and helpful to me on the phone about getting to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr B, I am glad you liked your room and the service at check in. However, I would like to address the issues you did have and some discrepancies. First, each and every hotel on the Outer Banks has the same 11 am checkout time as the Elizabethan Inn. Not only that, but it is a standard checkout time... More 

Travelers are raving about these Manteo hotels

Georgia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Last on the outer bank nearly 40 years ago and this hotel was mature then. However one does not come here to spend time in a room and this will nicely meet the need for a place to clean up and sleep. Clean rooms large w/ comfortable bed/bedding, far enough from the road so there was no noise issue. Lobby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Our goal is to provide our guests with a clean comfortable place to stay. We are glad you enjoyed the time you spent at the Elizabethan Inn, and hope you will come again soon. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

In traveling across the state of North Carolina this past week, it is apparent some business owners LOVE their business and their clients and others are just making a living. Our stay in Manteo was the fourth hotel we visited. The Elizabethan Inn is a “just making a living” business. There was not much care or interest in the details... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

While this hotel is older and outdated, it was a clean and mostly quiet place to sleep. We had a queen room and it was small. If you are looking to hang out in a hotel room, this would not be the place. If you are looking for a good place to be a base to explore the Outer Banks,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree that the five one queen bed rooms we have are small and better suited to one person, particularly if you will be here for more than one night. The majority of our rooms are much larger and have either one king bed or two queen beds. The next time... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We stayed here for two nights last week. The rooms are pretty much as other have described. They were adequately clean but not as good as my wife would have liked. We slept directly under the gymnasium and even though the gym closes at 9PM, the noise of falling weights we very loud. We also tried the indoor pool which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

We here at the Elizabethan Inn pride ourselves on giving our guests a clean comfortable place to stay. If there was a problem with your room, you should have reported it immediately. Either it would have been taken care of or you would have been moved to a room that was more satisfactory. Not only is the pool cleaned and... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

You will read a lot of negative reviews of this hotel on this site. While many of the claims of outdated rooms are valid, I found it to be adequate for what we needed: a place to sleep and clean up while exploring the Outer Banks. If you want a swanky, luxury hotel, this is not it. If you want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We want everyone who stays with us to feel this is their home away from home. We look forward to having you stay with us again! More 

Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

The outside looks like a chalet in Europe. The antique furniture is a nice touch. However the $150 for a regular room is pretty expensive. The room was clean, A/C was cold and quiet, and the swimming pools were great. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments! We do our best to provide clean comfortable rooms for our guests at a competitive price and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. More 

Laurinburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The room was poor and dated. I could tolerate it for one night but the services was extremely poor. The front desk people were extremely rude. I would not advise anyone one to stay here unless it was absolutely necessary.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not like the newly installed granite counter tops, ceramic tile and mahogany furniture in your room. Our goal is to preserve the historic charm that our guests keep returning for while maintaining modern convenience.That is why we are constantly updating our property. I am sorry you were not pleased with the results.Both of the clerks... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
6.5 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#11 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Nags Head Inn
Nags Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay