We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Manteo hotels

Elizabethan Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, NC 27954
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Elizabethan Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Elizabethan Inn to your Saves list
50%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Manteo
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013
sthoff Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    38
    15
    26
    27
See reviews for
45
36
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
There are newer reviews for Elizabethan Inn
See the most recent reviews
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I made a last minute reservation for this hotel through priceline/booking. Upon arrival at the motel, (in a not too nice neighborhood) the nice older desk clerk tried to check me in. After some difficulties with the equipment and about 20 minutes of waiting in a very odd lobby I was told my room was just 3 doors down. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Holly Springs, North Carolina
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The female desk clerk was very polite and accommodating when we checked in at approximately 5:00 pm following an afternoon at the beach and driving in the hot weather after the malfunctioning of our car air-conditioning. As you can imagine, we were hot and sweaty and wanted to take a shower and cool down in our room. My wife went... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry for any problems you experienced while you were here, but I feel the need to reply to some of your comments. First of all, we inspected the first room you were in and found a couple of small hard-water stains, but no urine. Unlike many motels who change shower curtains only when they get "dirty", our shower... More

Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We decided to head tovthe obx a day early and found a room here. We were arriving late, after midnight, and the hotel called us to confirm we were still planning on showing up. They gave us a few instuctions and were very helpful. Check in was a breeze and the room was clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here even though it was very brief. We hope you will come visit us again. More

New Bern, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I chose this hotel for two reasons: First, it was centrally located to the areas I wanted to visit. Second, it was one of the few places that would accommodate 5 adults per room. The person who checked us in was very friendly and gave us excellent directions both to our room (we booked an efficiency located in a back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Elizabethan Inn. The efficiency you stayed in with its pots, pans, dishes and silverware is a great way to save money on meals. It is very kind of you to be concerned about the rates that someone else may pay. Please let me ease your mind. The rates for our... More

Horse Shoe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Suriksha and Virginia were extremely nice and friendly to me and really made me feel at home. The room was very nice, large, and clean. Two very large and nice Pools, one indoors. It is an ideal location to tour the whole Outer Banks region. My stay there was one of my best ever at a travel spot! I highly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Elizabethan Inn. Suriksha and Virginia thoroughly enjoyed having you and your family here and considered you a part of OUR family. Your visit really made their day! We hope you will come back again soon and hopefully stay longer next time. Thanks again! More

Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My family and I stayed here one night on July 10. The staff members at this hotel were very friendly! Despite the power going off on the whole island and the majority of Dare County, we enjoyed ourselves. We were here to see the play, which was unfortunately canceled due to the power outage. We booked the apartment, located in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! You certainly made us all smile! Power outages here are extremely rare, fortunately, and we are happy you didn't let it spoil your trip. We are glad you enjoyed the efficiency. We are constantly updating and replacing as much as possible and will keep your comments in mind when we are ready to work... More

North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is a treat in itself but staying there over the 4th of July in Manteo really made the experience special. Clean large rooms with an indoor health club with a really large pool. Also an outdoor pool that was nice when the wind and sand got to be too much for the kids at the beach. Manteo has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your nice review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We agree with you that Manteo is a fun place with a lot to offer. The next time you come to visit, be sure to check out the Elizabethan Gardens, Festival Park with its Indian village and settlement, the Island Farm and Fort... More

Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Accommodations in the tiny and historic town of Manteo, NC are dear. The Elizabethan Inn played to the town's exotic history as the location of Sir Walter Raleigh's Lost Colony and cleverly made a modest and run-down motel look Elizabethan with a period facade and some pretty light fixtures. Our room was clean and spacious, and our stay would have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are glad you found your room clean and spacious. We are also glad you enjoyed our decor, location and that you slept well. We are happy that we were able to accommodate you in our most expensive room on the busiest weekend of the year. More

New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We do not recommend this place. The sheets had faded brown stains on it. The place was musty and outdated. The lights are dim in the rooms. It's expensive ($200/night with tax) and not worth it at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you were not happy with your room. Had you let us know, we would have gladly moved you to a different room. However, you never let us know there were any problems. To address the issues you mentioned: There are no "brown stains" on our sheets. What you saw was a "watermark" with the design of an... More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This inn is actually very motel-ish. You can see the pictures for yourself. The place isn't even that close to the beach, and you're still charged $180 a night. One of our lights didn't work, the carpet was worn down, and the water from the shower/tub has a strange green tint to it. In addition, the wall mounted AC units... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

It is our aim to please everyone and we are sorry that you were not happy here. Our hotel is located on Roanoke Island. That is why you were able to get a room for $180 instead of the $249 to $360 the motels on the beach were charging 4th of July weekend. If you had let us know about... More

Do you own or manage Elizabethan Inn?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Elizabethan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Inn

Address: 814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, NC 27954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elizabethan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Elizabethan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabethan Hotel Manteo

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay