We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elizabethan Inn

814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elizabethan Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Elizabethan Inn
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    41
    18
    29
    28
See reviews for
47
42
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
There are newer reviews for Elizabethan Inn
See the most recent reviews
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

While this hotel is older and outdated, it was a clean and mostly quiet place to sleep. We had a queen room and it was small. If you are looking to hang out in a hotel room, this would not be the place. If you are looking for a good place to be a base to explore the Outer Banks,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree that the five one queen bed rooms we have are small and better suited to one person, particularly if you will be here for more than one night. The majority of our rooms are much larger and have either one king bed or two queen beds. The next time... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We stayed here for two nights last week. The rooms are pretty much as other have described. They were adequately clean but not as good as my wife would have liked. We slept directly under the gymnasium and even though the gym closes at 9PM, the noise of falling weights we very loud. We also tried the indoor pool which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

We here at the Elizabethan Inn pride ourselves on giving our guests a clean comfortable place to stay. If there was a problem with your room, you should have reported it immediately. Either it would have been taken care of or you would have been moved to a room that was more satisfactory. Not only is the pool cleaned and... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

You will read a lot of negative reviews of this hotel on this site. While many of the claims of outdated rooms are valid, I found it to be adequate for what we needed: a place to sleep and clean up while exploring the Outer Banks. If you want a swanky, luxury hotel, this is not it. If you want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We want everyone who stays with us to feel this is their home away from home. We look forward to having you stay with us again! More 

Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

The outside looks like a chalet in Europe. The antique furniture is a nice touch. However the $150 for a regular room is pretty expensive. The room was clean, A/C was cold and quiet, and the swimming pools were great. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments! We do our best to provide clean comfortable rooms for our guests at a competitive price and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. More 

Laurinburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The room was poor and dated. I could tolerate it for one night but the services was extremely poor. The front desk people were extremely rude. I would not advise anyone one to stay here unless it was absolutely necessary.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not like the newly installed granite counter tops, ceramic tile and mahogany furniture in your room. Our goal is to preserve the historic charm that our guests keep returning for while maintaining modern convenience.That is why we are constantly updating our property. I am sorry you were not pleased with the results.Both of the clerks... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I did not stay at this hotel. There was a hurricane in the area the Thursday evening before July 4, 2014 celebrations and we decided to cancel our trip. We heard news of flooding and the bridge to Cape Hatteras was out. When I called to cancel they told me they were open and did not offer free cancellation. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

You CHOSE not to come because the Town of Manteo postponed the fireworks from Friday night to Sunday night. That is in no way the fault of the hotel. We had guests arrive from all over the country and Canada. We had other guests who came from the Raleigh area, where you are from, who had no problem getting here.... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel charged us full price when we cancelled due to Hurricane Arthur. The hotel informed us we needed to cancel 7 days in advance to avoid charges. I would not recommend for anyone to stay here. A hurricane, flooding, road closings, and business closings in Manteo did not override their cancellation policy. This business has no compassion or customer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Dear Melanie D., Ocracoke was evacuated because the only way off the island is by ferry. Hatteras Island was evacuated because there is only one road off the island which tends to flood everytime we have a storm of ANY kind. The rest of Dare County was not evacuated because there was no need. The hurricane passed through about 6... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

This motel has not been updated in at least 40 years, has stains and snags in the carpet and ceilings, isn't particularly clean, and is ridiculously overpriced -- $160 something for two people? Really. Keep driving.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry our motel was not what you were expecting. However, I would like to address a few of your comments. We are constantly updating and renovating this property, and we maintain a 97% cleanliness rating from the local health department. If you had a problem with your room, you should have let us know. We would have done... More 

Lexington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Prior to our trip, my family was very excited at the prospect of staying at the Elizabethan Inn and it looks very neat from the pictures. We did realize that it was somewhat dated, and we were prepared for that. The front check in was seamless, with everyone being friendly. The rooms were clean, but did need some repairs work.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We go to the outer banks every easter and this was the first bad experience. I found this hotel online and liked what I saw. The age and layout were nice. This is the type of hotel we normally like a little elderly and interesting. The problem wasn't the room but the assistant manager, the hotel was undergoing major renovations... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question