We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elizabethan Inn

814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elizabethan Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Elizabethan Inn
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    42
    18
    29
    29
See reviews for
49
42
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (146)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

1. I paid way too much for an outdated room. 2. There was a plumbing leak causing a soaked floor, it even got to the hallway carpet. 3. No breakfast 4. No jacuzzi 5. Guests are frowned upon 6. Walls were paper thin

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cocoa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We weren't quite sure what to expect since this isn't a chain hotel, but we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very clean and the water was very hot in athe shower, which I really needed. The restaurant was excellent. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Ms M., It was such a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would not recommend this hotel. It was really outdated to the point of being dressing. I paid WAY too much for my room and they had the nerve to charge me a resort fee even though the indoor pool was closed. Toiletries were soap and a combination of shampoo and conditioner. Even though it was unseasonably frigidly cold they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, but some of your statements were a little confusing. First, we do not charge a "resort fee" of any kind, so we don't know to what you were referring. The indoor pool was open for regular hours 7 days a week in April, when you said you stayed. Our... More 

Travelers are raving about these Manteo hotels

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is not a continental breakfast, but the resturant more than makes up for it ! The best Sicilian food I've had since Grandmama past away. Must try the canolli's !!! The ambience is wonderful, the staff just makes you feel like your at home. This is a thouroughly wonderful place. The restaurant "La Dolce Vita Manteo" more than makes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you back! More 

North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We loved the one night we stayed. Check in was terrific as was check out. The room was very comfortable and we just spent the evening relaxing. The staff was excellent and gave us some great tips on local activities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a pleasure to have you with us. We hope you will visit us again the next time you come to the Outer Banks. More 

Venice, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Disappointed. We were here off season so there were plenty of vacancies in nicer places around the water or with a view. We found iour room was old, musty, dark, dingy despite some efforts to paint and fix up the bathroom. We had to change rooms. Basic room, sparse amenities. No breakfast service. No view. On main road but back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr O., I am sorry you were not happy with your stay, and I would like to address some of your issues. The room you were in is rented almost daily even at this time of year, so it was not musty. Nor is it dark and dingy. All of our rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, and coffeemakers with unlimited... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Travelling with a pet. Were placed in the rear-most building on the property. Room was exterior entrance, pretty typical, pretty clean, but very dark. Staff very friendly. Exercise facilities on site are available by membership to the local community but were never crowded during our stay. The sauna was very nice; much equipment for aerobic and strength training; did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed the staff and amenities at our hotel. Our pet rooms are placed as far from the noise of the highway as possible for the benefit of the pets, some of whom are disturbed by unfamiliar sounds in an environment that is new to them. The chemicals in our pool are tested daily. I am sorry... More 

Benson, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Stayed for one night as part of a short weekend getaway. An older hotel but we were pleasantly surprised. Staff very nice. The bed was very comfortable, big "clean" room with fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Great location. Quiet room, Italian food at the restaurant was good. Very affordable which I did not expect. I will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We do our best to please every guest and we are glad it shows. We enjoyed having you with us and hope you will make the trip from Benson and stay with us again soon. More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I read all the reviews before booking and decided to take my chances and I am glad I did. It was very easy to get to and in a great location for getting to food. I was greeted when I first walked in even though she was in the middle of a check in. She know who I was right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words! We are very glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We feel privileged that for your "bucketlist" first visit to the Outer Banks, you decided to spend it with us! We hope you will come and visit us again soon! More 

FREDERICKSBURG, VA.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Came down here for a one-nighter on a Saturday. I sing. Therefore I am up late...and wake - by most peoples' standards - late. Found out that the checkout time was 11 am. Begrudgingly I said OK...I guess that will work. By the way the checkin lady was quite nice and helpful to me on the phone about getting to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr B, I am glad you liked your room and the service at check in. However, I would like to address the issues you did have and some discrepancies. First, each and every hotel on the Outer Banks has the same 11 am checkout time as the Elizabethan Inn. Not only that, but it is a standard checkout time... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities