We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elizabethan Inn

814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elizabethan Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Elizabethan Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    28
    45
    18
    29
    30
See reviews for
50
43
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (150)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
81 hotel reviews
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After reading the entertaining reviews on Trip Advisor, we had to stay here to experience it for ourselves. It was a wonderful "old school" hotel priced very fairly for the area. Four separate buildings to choose from with both a nice looking outdoor pool as well as a large indoor heated pool. Rooms were fairly big, quiet, and everything worked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Me and my wife took a weekend trip to the Outer Banks, and stayed at the Elizabethan Inn. This hotel is by no means "up-to-date", but I believe it adds to the charm. The rooms are comfortable (honestly, how often are you in your room at the Outer Banks!!!). They do not offer breakfast or most things from your standard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Wow this hotel completely sucked. We left before even staying. Trashy girl with cornrows and old lady at front desk were Extremely rude ( shouldn't expect anything more from people without an education). From the responses above, appears as if the manager is a dick as well. Do not go to this "inn"

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Manteo hotels

Mays Landing, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I had the opportunity to stay at the Elizabethan inn in Manteo, NC while visiting our family. I first want to say that the location was excellent as it was in close proximity to our relatives. I must say that we were very happy with our stay at the hotel. The rooms were very clean and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you and your family were able to spend the beautiful Memorial weekend with us! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

1. I paid way too much for an outdated room. 2. There was a plumbing leak causing a soaked floor, it even got to the hallway carpet. 3. No breakfast 4. No jacuzzi 5. Guests are frowned upon 6. Walls were paper thin

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr Z., 1. This is a historic hotel in a historic area. Our website has pictures of our rooms taken recently. You made your reservation through Expedia and knew what you were paying before you arrived. Our rooms are clean and constantly being updated. 2. Your “plumbing leak” was caused because you decided to fill the tub with the... More 

Cocoa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We weren't quite sure what to expect since this isn't a chain hotel, but we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very clean and the water was very hot in athe shower, which I really needed. The restaurant was excellent. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Ms M., It was such a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would not recommend this hotel. It was really outdated to the point of being dressing. I paid WAY too much for my room and they had the nerve to charge me a resort fee even though the indoor pool was closed. Toiletries were soap and a combination of shampoo and conditioner. Even though it was unseasonably frigidly cold they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, but some of your statements were a little confusing. First, we do not charge a "resort fee" of any kind, so we don't know to what you were referring. The indoor pool was open for regular hours 7 days a week in April, when you said you stayed. Our... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

There is not a continental breakfast, but the resturant more than makes up for it ! The best Sicilian food I've had since Grandmama past away. Must try the canolli's !!! The ambience is wonderful, the staff just makes you feel like your at home. This is a thouroughly wonderful place. The restaurant "La Dolce Vita Manteo" more than makes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you back! More 

North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We loved the one night we stayed. Check in was terrific as was check out. The room was very comfortable and we just spent the evening relaxing. The staff was excellent and gave us some great tips on local activities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a pleasure to have you with us. We hope you will visit us again the next time you come to the Outer Banks. More 

Venice, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Disappointed. We were here off season so there were plenty of vacancies in nicer places around the water or with a view. We found iour room was old, musty, dark, dingy despite some efforts to paint and fix up the bathroom. We had to change rooms. Basic room, sparse amenities. No breakfast service. No view. On main road but back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr O., I am sorry you were not happy with your stay, and I would like to address some of your issues. The room you were in is rented almost daily even at this time of year, so it was not musty. Nor is it dark and dingy. All of our rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, and coffeemakers with unlimited... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay