We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elizabethan Inn

2.5 of 5
814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elizabethan Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Elizabethan Inn
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    40
    18
    28
    28
See reviews for
47
40
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
FLORIDA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We loved the one night we stayed. Check in was terrific as was check out. The room was very comfortable and we just spent the evening relaxing. The staff was excellent and gave us some great tips on local activities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Venice, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Disappointed. We were here off season so there were plenty of vacancies in nicer places around the water or with a view. We found iour room was old, musty, dark, dingy despite some efforts to paint and fix up the bathroom. We had to change rooms. Basic room, sparse amenities. No breakfast service. No view. On main road but back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr O., I am sorry you were not happy with your stay, and I would like to address some of your issues. The room you were in is rented almost daily even at this time of year, so it was not musty. Nor is it dark and dingy. All of our rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, and coffeemakers with unlimited... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Travelling with a pet. Were placed in the rear-most building on the property. Room was exterior entrance, pretty typical, pretty clean, but very dark. Staff very friendly. Exercise facilities on site are available by membership to the local community but were never crowded during our stay. The sauna was very nice; much equipment for aerobic and strength training; did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed the staff and amenities at our hotel. Our pet rooms are placed as far from the noise of the highway as possible for the benefit of the pets, some of whom are disturbed by unfamiliar sounds in an environment that is new to them. The chemicals in our pool are tested daily. I am sorry... More 

Benson, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Stayed for one night as part of a short weekend getaway. An older hotel but we were pleasantly surprised. Staff very nice. The bed was very comfortable, big "clean" room with fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Great location. Quiet room, Italian food at the restaurant was good. Very affordable which I did not expect. I will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We do our best to please every guest and we are glad it shows. We enjoyed having you with us and hope you will make the trip from Benson and stay with us again soon. More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I read all the reviews before booking and decided to take my chances and I am glad I did. It was very easy to get to and in a great location for getting to food. I was greeted when I first walked in even though she was in the middle of a check in. She know who I was right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words! We are very glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We feel privileged that for your "bucketlist" first visit to the Outer Banks, you decided to spend it with us! We hope you will come and visit us again soon! More 

FREDERICKSBURG, VA.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Came down here for a one-nighter on a Saturday. I sing. Therefore I am up late...and wake - by most peoples' standards - late. Found out that the checkout time was 11 am. Begrudgingly I said OK...I guess that will work. By the way the checkin lady was quite nice and helpful to me on the phone about getting to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr B, I am glad you liked your room and the service at check in. However, I would like to address the issues you did have and some discrepancies. First, each and every hotel on the Outer Banks has the same 11 am checkout time as the Elizabethan Inn. Not only that, but it is a standard checkout time... More 

Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Last on the outer bank nearly 40 years ago and this hotel was mature then. However one does not come here to spend time in a room and this will nicely meet the need for a place to clean up and sleep. Clean rooms large w/ comfortable bed/bedding, far enough from the road so there was no noise issue. Lobby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Our goal is to provide our guests with a clean comfortable place to stay. We are glad you enjoyed the time you spent at the Elizabethan Inn, and hope you will come again soon. More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

In traveling across the state of North Carolina this past week, it is apparent some business owners LOVE their business and their clients and others are just making a living. Our stay in Manteo was the fourth hotel we visited. The Elizabethan Inn is a “just making a living” business. There was not much care or interest in the details... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

While this hotel is older and outdated, it was a clean and mostly quiet place to sleep. We had a queen room and it was small. If you are looking to hang out in a hotel room, this would not be the place. If you are looking for a good place to be a base to explore the Outer Banks,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree that the five one queen bed rooms we have are small and better suited to one person, particularly if you will be here for more than one night. The majority of our rooms are much larger and have either one king bed or two queen beds. The next time... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We stayed here for two nights last week. The rooms are pretty much as other have described. They were adequately clean but not as good as my wife would have liked. We slept directly under the gymnasium and even though the gym closes at 9PM, the noise of falling weights we very loud. We also tried the indoor pool which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

We here at the Elizabethan Inn pride ourselves on giving our guests a clean comfortable place to stay. If there was a problem with your room, you should have reported it immediately. Either it would have been taken care of or you would have been moved to a room that was more satisfactory. Not only is the pool cleaned and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question