We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Manteo hotels

Elizabethan Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, NC 27954
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Elizabethan Inn to your Saves list
Elizabethan Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
51%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Manteo
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Clifford R Williamsburg, Virginia
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    38
    13
    26
    27
See reviews for
45
34
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The outside looks like a chalet in Europe. The antique furniture is a nice touch. However the $150 for a regular room is pretty expensive. The room was clean, A/C was cold and quiet, and the swimming pools were great. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurinburg
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was poor and dated. I could tolerate it for one night but the services was extremely poor. The front desk people were extremely rude. I would not advise anyone one to stay here unless it was absolutely necessary.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not like the newly installed granite counter tops, ceramic tile and mahogany furniture in your room. Our goal is to preserve the historic charm that our guests keep returning for while maintaining modern convenience.That is why we are constantly updating our property. I am sorry you were not pleased with the results.Both of the clerks... More

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I did not stay at this hotel. There was a hurricane in the area the Thursday evening before July 4, 2014 celebrations and we decided to cancel our trip. We heard news of flooding and the bridge to Cape Hatteras was out. When I called to cancel they told me they were open and did not offer free cancellation. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

You CHOSE not to come because the Town of Manteo postponed the fireworks from Friday night to Sunday night. That is in no way the fault of the hotel. We had guests arrive from all over the country and Canada. We had other guests who came from the Raleigh area, where you are from, who had no problem getting here.... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel charged us full price when we cancelled due to Hurricane Arthur. The hotel informed us we needed to cancel 7 days in advance to avoid charges. I would not recommend for anyone to stay here. A hurricane, flooding, road closings, and business closings in Manteo did not override their cancellation policy. This business has no compassion or customer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Dear Melanie D., Ocracoke was evacuated because the only way off the island is by ferry. Hatteras Island was evacuated because there is only one road off the island which tends to flood everytime we have a storm of ANY kind. The rest of Dare County was not evacuated because there was no need. The hurricane passed through about 6... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This motel has not been updated in at least 40 years, has stains and snags in the carpet and ceilings, isn't particularly clean, and is ridiculously overpriced -- $160 something for two people? Really. Keep driving.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry our motel was not what you were expecting. However, I would like to address a few of your comments. We are constantly updating and renovating this property, and we maintain a 97% cleanliness rating from the local health department. If you had a problem with your room, you should have let us know. We would have done... More

Lexington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Prior to our trip, my family was very excited at the prospect of staying at the Elizabethan Inn and it looks very neat from the pictures. We did realize that it was somewhat dated, and we were prepared for that. The front check in was seamless, with everyone being friendly. The rooms were clean, but did need some repairs work.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We go to the outer banks every easter and this was the first bad experience. I found this hotel online and liked what I saw. The age and layout were nice. This is the type of hotel we normally like a little elderly and interesting. The problem wasn't the room but the assistant manager, the hotel was undergoing major renovations... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I know this place has been around since the 70's, so when everything else on the beach was booked, I had no choice. I was actually pleasantly surprised. Nice big new bed, good water pressure in the shower, nice flat screen tv, internet access, large room with a sitting area, all was above average. I have stayed at a lot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Elizabethan Inn! Manteo has a charm all its own, and has a lot to offer whether you are vacationing for a week or a weekend. And, as you discovered, just because a hotel isn't new doesn't mean it can't be clean and comfortable. That is why we have guests who... More

Keller, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Cozy and convienient. Friendly staff and all you need for a relaxing stay. They went out of their way to accomodate us with late arrival. We were there to repair an EMS helicopter that was out of service due to the bridge crisis. We were able to fix the helicopter in our first day there and then get some much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are very fortunate to have Suriksha with us. She makes sure everyone is comfortable and happy. Thanks again! More

Olney, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked this inn for 4 nights while attending a wedding in Manteo, NC. Surishka and Virginia at the front desk were helpful and warm. We settled into our cozy, clean room, which was perfect for a launching point to explore Manteo Island, the Outer Banks and vicinity. We hang glided at Jockey's Ridge, walked the beach at Jeannette's Pier,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your high praise of our hotel! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. It was certainly a great pleasure having you as our guest. We are amazed that you manage to pack so many things into 4 days and go to the wedding too. We miss your bubbly personality already and we look forward... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Elizabethan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Elizabethan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Inn

Address: 814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, NC 27954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elizabethan Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Elizabethan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabethan Hotel Manteo

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Manteo with
any amenities