We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elizabethan Inn

2.5 of 5 814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, NC 27954
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elizabethan Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Elizabethan Inn
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    17
    27
    28
See reviews for
46
37
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I read all the reviews before booking and decided to take my chances and I am glad I did. It was very easy to get to and in a great location for getting to food. I was greeted when I first walked in even though she was in the middle of a check in. She know who I was right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words! We are very glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We feel privileged that for your "bucketlist" first visit to the Outer Banks, you decided to spend it with us! We hope you will come and visit us again soon! More 

FREDERICKSBURG, VA.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Came down here for a one-nighter on a Saturday. I sing. Therefore I am up late...and wake - by most peoples' standards - late. Found out that the checkout time was 11 am. Begrudgingly I said OK...I guess that will work. By the way the checkin lady was quite nice and helpful to me on the phone about getting to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr B, I am glad you liked your room and the service at check in. However, I would like to address the issues you did have and some discrepancies. First, each and every hotel on the Outer Banks has the same 11 am checkout time as the Elizabethan Inn. Not only that, but it is a standard checkout time... More 

Georgia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Last on the outer bank nearly 40 years ago and this hotel was mature then. However one does not come here to spend time in a room and this will nicely meet the need for a place to clean up and sleep. Clean rooms large w/ comfortable bed/bedding, far enough from the road so there was no noise issue. Lobby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Our goal is to provide our guests with a clean comfortable place to stay. We are glad you enjoyed the time you spent at the Elizabethan Inn, and hope you will come again soon. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

In traveling across the state of North Carolina this past week, it is apparent some business owners LOVE their business and their clients and others are just making a living. Our stay in Manteo was the fourth hotel we visited. The Elizabethan Inn is a “just making a living” business. There was not much care or interest in the details... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

While this hotel is older and outdated, it was a clean and mostly quiet place to sleep. We had a queen room and it was small. If you are looking to hang out in a hotel room, this would not be the place. If you are looking for a good place to be a base to explore the Outer Banks,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree that the five one queen bed rooms we have are small and better suited to one person, particularly if you will be here for more than one night. The majority of our rooms are much larger and have either one king bed or two queen beds. The next time... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We stayed here for two nights last week. The rooms are pretty much as other have described. They were adequately clean but not as good as my wife would have liked. We slept directly under the gymnasium and even though the gym closes at 9PM, the noise of falling weights we very loud. We also tried the indoor pool which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

We here at the Elizabethan Inn pride ourselves on giving our guests a clean comfortable place to stay. If there was a problem with your room, you should have reported it immediately. Either it would have been taken care of or you would have been moved to a room that was more satisfactory. Not only is the pool cleaned and... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

You will read a lot of negative reviews of this hotel on this site. While many of the claims of outdated rooms are valid, I found it to be adequate for what we needed: a place to sleep and clean up while exploring the Outer Banks. If you want a swanky, luxury hotel, this is not it. If you want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We want everyone who stays with us to feel this is their home away from home. We look forward to having you stay with us again! More 

Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

The outside looks like a chalet in Europe. The antique furniture is a nice touch. However the $150 for a regular room is pretty expensive. The room was clean, A/C was cold and quiet, and the swimming pools were great. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments! We do our best to provide clean comfortable rooms for our guests at a competitive price and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. More 

Laurinburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The room was poor and dated. I could tolerate it for one night but the services was extremely poor. The front desk people were extremely rude. I would not advise anyone one to stay here unless it was absolutely necessary.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not like the newly installed granite counter tops, ceramic tile and mahogany furniture in your room. Our goal is to preserve the historic charm that our guests keep returning for while maintaining modern convenience.That is why we are constantly updating our property. I am sorry you were not pleased with the results.Both of the clerks... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I did not stay at this hotel. There was a hurricane in the area the Thursday evening before July 4, 2014 celebrations and we decided to cancel our trip. We heard news of flooding and the bridge to Cape Hatteras was out. When I called to cancel they told me they were open and did not offer free cancellation. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review

You CHOSE not to come because the Town of Manteo postponed the fireworks from Friday night to Sunday night. That is in no way the fault of the hotel. We had guests arrive from all over the country and Canada. We had other guests who came from the Raleigh area, where you are from, who had no problem getting here.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Elizabethan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Inn

Address: 814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, NC 27954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elizabethan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Elizabethan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabethan Hotel Manteo

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay