We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dana on Mission Bay

3.5 of 5 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
#92 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
1,407 Reviews 4 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dana on Mission Bay
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Dana on Mission Bay
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    446
    172
    111
    65
See reviews for
590
365
44
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1407)
  • Mar-May only
    (348)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (435)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (345)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (279)
All months
Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My family and I stayed for three nights, we were extremely impressed by the property and could not seem to get our kids out of the pool! Parking is a bit steep at $20 a day in addition to that $14 fee for internet and coupon book. Everyone we encountered was extremely helpful and you could tell they all love... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Would stay here again. Great location and view of the bay. Didn't like the $20/night parking fee since it's not even like the hotel is in a prime spot (aka limited parking due to restaurants bars etc). Pool was nice. Gents driving around on golf carts in parking lot don't pay attention and almost hit my car twice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDana, Guest Relations Manager at The Dana on Mission Bay, responded to this review

Dear 1951merc, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay here. Management has been made aware of the golf cart issue and we have taken the steps to make sure this will not happen again with our valued guests. Thank you again for staying at The Dana Hotel. More

San Diego
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked one suite and a block of about 25 rooms for ourselves and guests at our wedding. Working with Rachel in Catering and Sales for our large booking was a complete delight. They offered great group pricing that made it possible for us to book such a nice place. Rachel was very patient with all of our questions and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheDana, Guest Relations Manager at The Dana on Mission Bay, responded to this review

Dear Jef N, Thank you for the comments. It is such a pleasure to hear that Rachel was able to help make your special occasion one to remember. Again, thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again soon! More

Bolton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Dana for 4 nights as our final stop from travelling the California Coast. We stayed in a Park View Room overlooking the Marina and were more than happy with our room choice. We were on the ground floor and had a large terrace with a gate out onto the front. The room itself was very large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheDana, Guest Relations Manager at The Dana on Mission Bay, responded to this review

Dear fieldj, We greatly appreciate the awesome review! Thank you again. More

Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel, grounds, and pool are incredibly beautiful. The bay views were amazing. Nothing to say but wonderful things about the staff, everyone is so pleasant and helpful. Check-in with Marcus, a very pleasant and knowledgeable concierge, my room attendant (Clara) who took wonderful care of me. I also loved the atmosphere and enjoyed the food at The Firefly, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheDana, Guest Relations Manager at The Dana on Mission Bay, responded to this review

Dear CLGS0220, Thank you so much for the fantastic comments. We are all about creating memorable experiences and we are so pleased you chose The Dana, and allowed us to go above and beyond your expectations! Thank you and best wishes. More

Shellharbour, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is great. Lovely to have a nice sea breeze come off the bay and into your balcony room. While we were there it was extremely hot and humid, so that was so appreciated. Large bright room. Handy location to Sea World with a free shuttle bus. For ordinary families on an average budget you may want to eat elsewhere... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheDana, Guest Relations Manager at The Dana on Mission Bay, responded to this review

Dear Ozthunder, Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled you experienced a wonderful stay, and we're so happy that in your 21 days in the USA we were one of the best hotels! We look forward to having you back to our hotel in the near future. More

Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

ThePros: two great pools, two great restaurants on the property, the shuttle bus drivers, nice location The Cons: no towels at the pools, rooms were small, AC was too far away from the bed, too much light coming through the window coverings lighting up the room at night. The Worst thing about the Dana? The room was FILTHY! Our feet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheDana, Guest Relations Manager at The Dana on Mission Bay, responded to this review

Dear lemonid50, We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy our pools, restaurants, and terrific shuttle services. However, I am truly disappointed your room was not up to standard, and for this we apologize. Thank you for the feedback, as it is so important that we hear... More

Everett, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff and the location were the best part. Always looking to improve our experience and are the best example of great customer service. The decor of the exterior could use some work as well as parts of the room. I would come back here in a heart beat!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDana, Guest Relations Manager at The Dana on Mission Bay, responded to this review

Dear TrentNeilB, Thank you very much for the review. We all work so hard to go above and beyond standard customer service and it is so gratifying to know it is appreciated. We look forward to hosting you next time you are in San Diego! More

La Quinta, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Employees were very friendly. Grounds are beautiful and the bike paths excellent. Great location on the water. Phone didn't work when we checked in, could never fix the air conditioner, and they didn't make up the room with new towels till late in the day even though the room was vacant all day. Had to call each day for restocking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheDana, Guest Relations Manager at The Dana on Mission Bay, responded to this review

Dear Leonard S, Thank you for taking a moment to comment on our property. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful grounds, great location and our amazing staff! As per your comments regarding your room, we sincerely apologize everything was not in working order. I will personally look into the issues that you have outlined and meet... More

Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night for a wedding that was across the way. This is definitely motel quality. All rooms are supposedly non-smoking. We checked into our room and it smelled like tons of air freshmen piled on top of a smoky room. We called to have it changed and we were accommodated. Our next room was the exact... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheDana, Guest Relations Manager at The Dana on Mission Bay, responded to this review

Dear Sweetpeaks, We are so sorry that your stay was anything less than stellar. This is not an easy review to read, and we are disappointed to say the least. Your feedback is important to us and I want to thank you for writing this review. As for your comments regarding your room, we apologize and the necessary steps have... More

Do you own or manage The Dana on Mission Bay?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay

Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

885 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (414)
Viewed
Room/suite (86)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (54)
Viewed
View from room (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (96)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (429)
Viewed
Amenities (63)
Viewed
Pool (33)
Viewed
Premium Bay View Double Queen Room (95)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (54)
Viewed
Standard View Double Queen Room (74)
Viewed
The Hotel (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Dana on Mission Bay