We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 268 San Diego hotels

Pacific Shores Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4802 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)
Hotel packages
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Pacific Shores Inn to your Saves list
Pacific Shores Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
70%
Ranked #156 of 268 hotels in San Diego
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
KIKISTARPSL PSL, FL
  • Overview
  • Reviews (344)
  • Photos (60)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (51)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    139
    70
    28
    17
See reviews for
106
96
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PSL, FL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Let's take an excellent location with a newly renovated room a few hundred yards from the Pacific and make it average. Here's how: do not replace the old A/C unit which is not just a noise-maker but a wall shaker! Then add a host of loud, perhaps intoxicated, patrons and a mgt. staff that cares little about noise. Finally, mix... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sun City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I just got back from my stay there. The room was clean and roomy. It's a two minute walk to the beach and close to lots of restaurants that are within walking distance. The pool is well maintained and crystal clear. I will definitely go back. This motel was recommended by a coworker and I would recommend it. Hopefully this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

The property has been around since 1947, and there are still guests that come back from the beginning, or their relatives who have continued their tradition! I originally placed coffee makers in the rooms to accommodate those guests as they kept requesting coffee makers for the coffee they would bring with them. I think I will improve this aspect of... More

Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

ROOM: My family and I stayed here in late september 2014 and we were fortunate enough to get one of the newly renovated rooms on the 2nd floor with the white plantation shutters and the wood/ laminate flooring at the entryway. The decor was beachy and light, very welcoming and spacious for our family. We arrived in the evening but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

I tried to convince the owners of a Jacuzzi when we redid our pool four years ago. That would have been a nice touch, and maybe something we will do sometime. I just had a meeting with the ownership this past week, and I was informed that we will be renovating the remainder of the rooms this winter. I really... More

Issaquah, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

If you're looking for a budget-friendly place just steps from the beach, this place is the way to go. However, it is not the most comfortable room I've ever stayed in. We were there during an unusually hot week in May, so after hoping to chill out for a bit in an air-conditioned room, we were disappointed to find out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

We are definitely sorry about the a/c. It seems that about every month, one goes out. The salt air really affects the lifespan of our compressors. I hope we were able to do something for you to help you want to stay with us again. We just ordered all new tables and chairs for every location at the property, so... More

Palm Springs, California, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The hotel is only a short walk to the beach. Free parking in this crowded area is a terrific plus. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast is meager and they should not charge for wifi. Lots of places to eat nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

I completely agree about the charge for WiFi, and that will be going away very soon. Thank you for your review!!! More

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Me and my husband spent there 2 nights. Rooms look old and need renovation, furniture are outdated. Also the liquid they use to clean the room is so smelly. We had to open doors wide for hours to breath. Unfortunately, you cannot get rid of this smell totally. WiFi is not for free ($10 a day). At least parking is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't like us. Yes, the location is fantastic! But, the new rooms are just that, very nice, and modern. We are scheduled to renovate some more rooms this winter. This should make all of the rooms new then. I hope you will stay with us again. More

Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I compared pricing for many hotels in the Pacific Beach area and you can tell the prices reflect the proximity to the ocean. I really wanted to stay along the beach for my first night in San Diego. We were just steps away from the sandy shores, however it was much farther to get all the way down to Mission... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! If you decide to stay with us again, the rooms with two queen beds are much larger than our singles. I think you find the experience to be much more pleasurable. Thank you for your comments! More

Des Moines, IA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I read the reviews and knew what to expect, and really for the price, you can't complain! We actually stayed in a recently remodeled room that was super nice. It was so newly renovated that they didn't even have the hanging rack up! Within a few hours of us calling about that, the maintenance man was there installing it. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

The location so close to everything, including the ocean is really nice! I'm glad you were able to enjoy a new room, and that you were surprised, especially after reading the reviews about your stay with us. I hope we will see you again soon! More

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Don't be fooled by the exterior of this hotel. Looks can be deceiving. The rooms are spacious and clean. Tastefully decorated and the beds are comfortable. We stayed for 2 nights and though it was a bit pricey the close proximity to the beach was great. Service was adequate. Nearby shopping and public transport access is very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We are working on the exterior all the time, and I wish we had a answer to the look that I could resolve in-house. Right now we are redoing the walkways, and that alone should do a lot to help with the general appearance. Thank you for staying with us! More

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in April. Hotel has great location in Pacific Beach, walking distance to so many things and right off the boardwalk and beach. They did a small face lift to the rooms but wish they did a little bit more. Room is average, nothing special. Bathroom was the worst part of the visit, soooo small! I'm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry for the noise. I have no idea why so many guests feel it is fine to yell at 2 am. I know it's right after the bars close and since many people stay in Pacific Beach for the night life, it's not really surprising that many guests return very late. Of course, the only problem is... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Pacific Shores Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Pacific Shores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Shores Inn

Address: 4802 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Shores Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pacific Shores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Shores Hotel San Diego
Pacific Shores San Diego
Pacific Shores Inn Of Pacific Beach

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pacific Shores Inn is a quaint inn located at the north end of Pacific Beach. Many of the rooms offer some views of the ocean, and restaurants and shops are just a couple of blocks away. The boardwalk is a 2.5 mile stretch that will take you from the north end of Pacific Beach all the way to the south end of Mission Beach. As you stroll down the boardwalk, you will find ocean front shops and restaurants as well as the famous Belmont Park in Mission Beach. Bike, and surfboard rentals are located within two blocks so there is no reason to pack those items when visiting us. And, every room has a microwave oven, refrigerator, and a coffee maker for your convenience. Some rooms also have full kitchens for those who require that. Parking, and a continental breakfast which includes juice, coffee, and danish are always free. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
56

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer