We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 270 San Diego hotels

Pacific Shores Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4802 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)
Hotel packages
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Pacific Shores Inn to your Saves list
Pacific Shores Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
69%
Ranked #158 of 270 hotels in San Diego
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Mojogrande Phoenix, Arizona
  • Overview
  • Reviews (322)
  • Photos (60)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (57)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    131
    68
    26
    19
See reviews for
111
97
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This motel is in the midst of a transition of sorts. We were placed in a very nice recently remodeled room that fit our needs for lodging. However, the room's location was on the first floor of the south building. Consequently, to reach the room door, you walk through the adjacent parking space. Not too bad, but this also means... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

This was a tough decision for us before we remodeled the room type you stayed in. I didn't want to lose the kitchenette, as many of my winter guests stay with us due to that amenity. So, in doing so, we had to remove the second door leading to the street side. But, the reason we were forced to do... More

Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nothing but kind words to say about our stay at Pac Shores Inn this past week in PB. Highly recommend to anyone looking to experience an off the beaten path weekend or short getaway on San Diego, while avoiding the touristy sides of San Diego's La Jolla and downtown areas late at night. Looking forward to coming back! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stay every August. The staff is great - early check in, best available room, daily housekeeping. Location and quality cannot be beat for the price. Rooms aren't fancy but they are perfectly functional and reasonably roomy. Parking is ample. This year we were upgraded to an extra-large room with a kitchen, and a view of the beach. We wouldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This motel doesn't look the greatest from the outside, but the rooms were pretty good. We stayed in the junior suites (I think), so I would recomend those ones. Pros: - spacious rooms - kitchen with microwave, stove, sink, fridge - bathroom was good, really big shower! - AC!!! - really close to the beach - staff were nice -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

Yes!! Everyone requests the junior suites, and I wish every room was a junior suite sometimes. They look great, have a kitchen, extra couch, two queen beds, and a really large shower! We are really happy you enjoyed your stay, and as for the smell, I am hoping that has been removed. We'll see you again! More

Jacksonville
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had three rooms here and stayed 3-nights. Good - literally steps from the beach, sitting outside second floor room you have a great ocean view. They have renovated about 10 rooms here, which we had one. Renovated rooms are completely updated and beautiful. Very friendly staff. Lots of eating and drinking establishments in walking distance. Not-so-good - rooms that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Milford, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed there a few times. It's 1/2 block to boardwalk and ocean, close enough to walk to nice restaurants and fast food place, close to gracy store and drugstore. Not exactly 5 star but still great for the location. Full kitchen or kitchenette made it nice if you were staying a week or longer. No wifi when we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

Sometimes the a/c units go bad and stop working. About the fan noise you had, it was repaired, and was not an issue before your arrival as far as we know. We are in the process of making everything newer, and that should be very good with the excellent location we have. I hope you will come back to stay... More

Gilbert
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay was enjoyable. We will definitely stay here again.We were able to sit on the patio and enjoy the ocean view. Our room was in the middle building on the 2nd floor. We rented bikes from Cheap Rentals for 4 days and rode the boardwalk. Great location!! Amar and Tess were very pleasant and accommodating to deal with in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We reported our A/C was not working the first two days were there. The second day maintenance man finally came and told us there was something wrong with unit. (We figured that out ourselves.) He said he would call repairman. No repairman came and no one offered to move us to another room. When we told desk clerk at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

Any time we have an issue with a room, our normal procedure is to respond within 20 minutes. If it turns out that it's beyond something we can repair, we call in a specialist to inform us what to do. And, I can't think of a time we haven't offered a room change and a discount. It's very standard for... More

Pasadena, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stay away from this hotel! My husband recently stayed there for two nights during Comic Con 2014. He was moved 3 times within the 2 days. Room 1: No working A/C and room was super hot with no opening windows. He was moved at 1:00am and then room #2 had roaches! Room #3 had roaches AND a dirty bathroom. Manager... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

Actually, we did refund his money for this and apologized for the situation. We called the exterminator right away and have checked and double checked to make certain this situation was not repeated. As for the a/c, that is something we are always working on. Generally, we are able to repair a unit within a day or two, and we... More

Tucson
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

As a longtime "Zonie," I've visited Pacific Beach almost every August for 25+ years. Pacific Shores is simply the best value for the buck. Quiet, helpful staff, wonderful location. This August will be at least 4 straight years in a row. Just wish I'd reserved early enough to get Saturday night....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Pacific Shores Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Pacific Shores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Shores Inn

Address: 4802 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Shores Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pacific Shores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Shores Hotel San Diego
Pacific Shores San Diego
Pacific Shores Inn Of Pacific Beach

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in San Diego with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pacific Shores Inn is a quaint inn located at the north end of Pacific Beach. Many of the rooms offer some views of the ocean, and restaurants and shops are just a couple of blocks away. The boardwalk is a 2.5 mile stretch that will take you from the north end of Pacific Beach all the way to the south end of Mission Beach. As you stroll down the boardwalk, you will find ocean front shops and restaurants as well as the famous Belmont Park in Mission Beach. Bike, and surfboard rentals are located within two blocks so there is no reason to pack those items when visiting us. And, every room has a microwave oven, refrigerator, and a coffee maker for your convenience. Some rooms also have full kitchens for those who require that. Parking, and a continental breakfast which includes juice, coffee, and danish are always free. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
56

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pacific Shores Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer