We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 270 San Diego hotels

Pacific Shores Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4802 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109 (Pacific Beach)
Hotel packages
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Pacific Shores Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Shores Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #172 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Laura B Santa Clarita, California
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    137
    74
    29
    21
See reviews for
118
105
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (341)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (100)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Santa Clarita, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We found a 2 night Groupon special for a room with 2 queen beds. The room was as expected, nothing fancy. This place was a block from the beach. The room keys had the name of a bike rental company which we had deliver bikes for a morning ride along the boardwalk. The location is just a few blocks from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You could clearly see the ocean from the room. Walking distance was very close. The rooms were nice and had a fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, and TV (a big one). We arrived a few hours early, but they let us check in anyway. The person at the front desk (I don't recall her name) was very nice and helpful. We hope... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roseville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was a bit reserved when my boyfriend booked this room for me and then we started reading the reviews. I can say I was a little freaked out to say the least when I kept reading about cockroaches and strange smells in the rooms. I can say most positively that my stay was pleasant and I didn't have any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Perhaps because I purchased through a third party, I was given room 52, most likely the worst room on the property. Check in was fine and friendly, as was checking out. In between, I got: 1. no housekeeping after my first night 2. Gardeners chain sawing the palm tree outside my door for hours 3. no one answering the lobby... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

I really dislike that you felt you had to leave to enjoy your stay in PB. We attempted to cut the tree at a reasonable time, and it was only done because it was more of an emergency. Unfortunately, one of the thick branches broke off, and I felt it was much too risky to allow any more time to... More

Phoenix
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

My husband and I arrived around 4pm and stood in a line of 10 people to check in that led out the door. Without asking we were told we were getting one of their best rooms. Room 35 was upstairs with a view of the ocean. The view was nice and the room was just ok. This was not an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

Room 35 has the best location on our property in regards to the view of the ocean. It has not been renovated yet, but there are plans to make this very nice soon. I will show housekeeping your comments regarding the issues you had. I hope you will reconsider your choice in properties and stay with us again in the... More

San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

I reserved rooms for a family reunion. Total of 11 rooms occupied, 6 of which were the remodeled rooms. Check in took an average of 30 minutes per guest room. 1 person at counter and 1 watching over his shoulder. The 6 remodeled rooms were generally good except for 1 room had a huge stain that they brought in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and yes, I remember we had a guest service agent training when your group checked in. Normally, it only takes approximately maybe five minutes to get checked in. You did say you liked the location, and we are scheduled for renovations, so with that, I hope you will stay with us again in the future! More

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We have been staying at this hotel one block east of the beach and about 1/4 mile north of Crystal Pier in Pacific Beach every other year for the past ten years. This was by far the worst experience customer service and room wise. First room was clearly in the middle of a remodel and only cleaned up and passed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

Actually, I am at the properties seven days a week, but my hours do vary depending on many factors. I do have my guest service manager on duty almost any time I am not here, and she is really good at resolving any issues you may have. I am glad we were able to finally give you the room you... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night for a family reunion. Our group all together had around 8 rooms. Some of them were remodeled rooms (for the same price as non-remodeled) but those rooms were super nice! And had I stayed in a remodeled room, I'd probably give this hotel 4 stars versus my generous 2. Check in was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

I do wish every room was new and remodeled and that every guest could have that experience. I think I met you, and I also think I may have showed you an alternative, but you are correct, there was no new rooms available. I do hope you will come again, and thank you for your comments. More

Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We had a horrible experience here and ended up leaving and finding a different hotel. Microwave didn't work, hair dryer didn't work, carpet raggedy, air conditioning unit blasted loudly a foot away from my husbands ear, door to bathroom had to be pushed on really hard to get it to shut. Coffee makers in the room but no coffee for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

I am very surprised at your description of your stay with us, because renovated or not, we want everything to work properly. I do wish we could give each guest a new room, but when we are full, that's just not a possibility. I am hopeful for a complete renovation of the unrenovated rooms this winter. Thank you for staying... More

San Bernardino, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

My husband and I were looking forward to a nice and relaxing time away on the beach. Most of the reviews we read were not honest or they did not experience the issues we had. We pulled in at check in time and there were 7 people ahead of us who we thought were also checking in. Not so! They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay with us. There certainly are times when it seems like everything is a mess, but we are almost always able to make things right with our guests. Nate, as well as the entire staff only want you and everyone else to feel at home and relaxed while staying with... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Pacific Shores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Shores Inn

Address: 4802 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Shores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Shores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Shores Hotel San Diego
Pacific Shores San Diego
Pacific Shores Inn Of Pacific Beach

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay