We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 270 San Diego hotels

Residence Inn San Diego Downtown

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1747 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
75%
Ranked #96 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Mavis E New Orleans, Louisiana
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    80
    38
    12
    6
See reviews for
74
37
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We visited San Diego area last weekend for a family wedding. We stayed at the Residence Inn for two nights. I highly recommend this hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful and gracious. Our suite and adjoining room were spacious and very comfortable. We slept very well. And, it was great to have a kitchen. How convenient! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barrie Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location for hotel. Close to waterfront. Rooms were comfortable clean and quiet. Hotel is located within an easy block walking distance to the waterfront. Breakfast was provided in the morning with ample fare to choose from. They maintain a pool on the property as well as rear patio area with outdoor fireplace were you can sit and relax. Free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mexicali mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, comfy suite, with a view to embarcadero waterfront, includes kitchen, free wifi, breakfast... a $13 fee parking !!! Excellent for a Labor Day weekend, gaslamp walking distance 15 min, no need to drive, attractions are just around the corner !!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Downtown. We are truly in an ideal location and in close proximity of everything our great city has to offer. Please think of us again if you ever return to sunny San Diego. Thank you! More

Topeka, Indiana
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Like so many Marriott properties, this one needs a remodel. The carpet and floors look old. The place was crawling with pets. If you get a room on the back wall you will face the train tracks and have a full night of no sleep. There are lots of these rooms. You also want to be sure you are not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

We are sorry you had such a poor experience at our hotel. It appears we failed you in multiple items. If you would be willing to discuss this in further detail please give me a call at your convenience. I can be reached at 619-338-8200. Again, we are sorry for your poor experience at our property. More

Moreno Valley, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I made a trip to sea world and stayed here. When I booked the room I asked how far it was to Sea World and was told 1 mile, this was a lie. I asked for a private room, did not get it. When I arrived I was told my reservations were canceled but they would reinstate me for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Greetings ALLATHA F, We greatly apologize about your negative experience you had at our hotel. We take this feedback very seriously and need to learn from what our guest tell us. I do have some questions if you have a convenient moment to follow up with me. I would like to better understand how we went wrong in order to... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We travel infrequently, and always have our choice of hotels, regardless of expense. This is our 5th or 6th year coming to San Diego and we ALWAYS stay at this particular hotel for the quality and value it offers. I own a real estate company with 30 agents, and was in the hotel and restaurant business for 10 years prior-... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

We cant thank you enough for your amazing review of Residence Inn San Diego Downtown. Our team are the true heroes that deliver service so memorable, guest such as yourself tell stories about them. We are very proud of our hotel and look forward you and your family returning to Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Downtown hotel. More

Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here three nights in a suite. Saved money by enjoying their great breakfasts and free shuttle service. Room faced train track in back, but it wasn't noisy. Walking distance to wharf attractions and restaurants. Best part was the amazing staff. Everyone (maids, drivers, reception, food servers) treated my family like their family. Manager should really reward such excellent staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Greetings Diane S, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Downtown. We are happy you enjoyed our property and it many amazing amenities but more so, thank you for your great comments about our team members. We are truly lucky to have such a wonderful bunch of people taking care of our... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The parking lot was difficult to get into. July is a very busy month. The staff are very friendly. The family suites are very cozy and comfortable. It could use a remodel the floors in the shower are very slippery I almost got my head the times with athletic shoes on even. There is old looking carpet everywhere. The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Greetings Kourtney Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. It appears some inconveniences occurred during your stay and we greatly apologize about that. Rest assured, our hotel was renovated in late 2012 and we strive to keep all of our hallways immaculate. Thank you for bringing all of your observations to our attention as we... More

Rutland, Vermont
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I was only here for a one-night stay, but thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Very close to the airport, with shuttle service. Lovely outdoor heated pool and hot tub; a few blocks from the Little Italy area that offered many dining choices to fit any budget. Also there was a park across the street with water views. I'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Greetings desertqueen39: Thank you so much for your great review of our home away from home, namely Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Downtown. We are so very proud of our new park across the street. Our guest simply love to take walks near the water and enjoy the San Diego weather. Please think of us the next time you... More

Sacramento
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at the Residence Inn Downtown for a long weekend and it was wonderful! The facility is very clean and the staff extremely helpful. The location could not be better right across the street form the harbor, two blocks from Little Italy and a mile form Seaport Village. The breakfast was surprisingly varied and good. The rooms are studios... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Greetings DrDianaSacramento, We couldn't agree more with all of your positive feedback about your stay at Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Downtown. Our location is ideal for when visiting San Diego. Thank you so much for your nice comment about our staff. We appreciate it. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown

Address: 1747 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in San Diego with
any amenities