We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlewood Suites

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1335 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham San Diego)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Candlewood Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #181 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jerry E South Pole
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
24
13
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
South Pole
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was an affordable and practical place to spend the night before heading to Sea World the next morning. The price was a little better than the other places on Hotel Circle, with comparable rooms. The rooms, although nothing exciting, were adequately furnished and clean. The main issue was the TV. When we checked in, the hostess gave us a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Redmond WA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

real gem for a long family staying. clean. 2 bathrooms. fully equipped. kitchen and dining in room. grill. hottub. gym. will look for hotels of this net in the future. really enjoyed staying there for 10 days. happy to find it occassionally.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
axay s, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review

Dear someone_from_redmond: We very much appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. At Candlewood Suites San Diego, we strive to provide a "home away from home" atmosphere, and I am pleased that it seems we met the mark with you. From free parking, to our spacious suites and our Cupboard, we... More 

Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

I am on the road about 250 years and I am an IHG PLATINUM (Holiday Inn/Candlewood) and HILTON DIAMOND Member. I am sorry to say this is the WORST Candlewood I have ever stayed in. Maybe the worst hotel in my 15 years of business travel. The hotel probably wasn't a Candlewood at the onset (probably a Hawthorne Suite) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
axay s, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review

Dear Kirby B: I am sorry that your stay at our Candlewood property did not meet your expectations. The issues that you have noted are of great concern. We strive to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guests, as well as maintain the high level of quality of the Candlewood brand. As you mentioned, we have recently undergone... More 

San Diego, CA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

It's a shame that I have to write a bad review for this hotel because the front desk staff was so friendly and accommodating. Hopefully they will all move on to help guests at nicer hotels in the future... Now, for the Candlewood. This place looked like it was going to fall down around our ears while we slept. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
axay s, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review

Dear CiaoBionda: I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time at our Candlewood property. We take concerns such as the ones you've mentioned very seriously, and we will be taking all necessary measures to take care of the issues you've noted. The comfort of our guests is our top priority, and I regret that we... More 

Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We have stayed 10 nights. The suites are large enough to accommodate five people. The kitchen is also well equipped and practical enough to prepare breakfasts and reheat meals purchased. The hotel is well located and easy to access. It is just minutes from all the tourist attractions and the airport. There are many restaurants and grocery stores within 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
axay s, General Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review

Dear MagDen007 from Trois Rivieres, Canada: Thank you for posting your Great Review about Candlewood Suites, and mentioning our central location, kitchen facilities in all rooms, BBQ Area, FREE Parking, and friendly staff. Sorry to hear about the ants(they also seem to think we are an excellent property, no matter how often we spray/poison them) Remember to empty trash daily... More 

Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I never slept in a hotel with no housekeeping at sight. at first it was very odd. the whole hotel "atmosphere" is more like a regular apartment building and less a hotel. there is a gym right at the entrance and a self-operated laundry room. there is a "shop" with some toiletries, washing powder, some sodas/juices, small snacks and so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
axay s, Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review

Dear Ustern (Ramat Gan, Israel), Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Candlewood Suites. It was Michelle (Front Desk) and Ken (Maintainance) that helped you. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Sincerely, More 

Northumberland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed for 12 nights in a 2 bed room suite. Rate at $149 plus local taxes was amazing. Room had a king and a queen bed, 2 bathrooms, 3 TVs, living room and kitchen area. It was a great base for all the tourist attractions and close to Riverwalk Golf Course.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
axay s, Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review

Dear Emma G of Northumberland: We appreciate that you took the time to rave about your recent stay in one of 2-bedroom suites and were able to get a discounted rate due to the length of your stay(over 7 nights). We do have a great central location, near most local attractions. Sincerely, More 

Northern California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Pro's: The woman at the front desk who checked us in -- Tammy. She was friendly and professional. The room was clean, well-equipped and had a good view. Kitchenette was great. Con's: Air conditioner was quite loud. I could hear trucks/traffic on Hwy 8 in the middle of the night. Our room was directly off of the lobby outside the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
axay s, General Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review

Dear BeachBum512 from Northern Ca: Thank you for giving us a chance and for mentioning how much Tammy helped you. Wish we had continued to meet your needs throughout your stay. Our property is quiet 95% of the time, as we have many business guests staying here for months at a time. I appreciate you letting us know about the... More 

Tucson
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed a week at this extended stay hotel, in Room 301. Very large 2 bedroom suite. The first bedroom has a king bed with TV and a bathroom right next to the room. The second bedroom has a queen bed with a separate bathroom, but this room isn't closed off, it's just an open area just off the living... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
axay s, General Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review

Dear Gdreams from Tuscon, AZ: Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us at Candlewood Suites in San Diego. Our two bedrooms suites are over 1,000 sqft, larger than most local apartments. We do provide only basic cookware/utensils/pots due to most guests not using kitchen at all. There is Complimentry coffee for all guests in the Cupboard... More 

Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed four nights at this property and were very happy with the location. We rented a car, and had great access to Mission Beach, San Diego Zoo, shops and restaurants. It seemed everything we needed was within a 10 minute drive or less. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and polite. They gave us directions to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
axay s, Manager at Candlewood Suites, responded to this review

Dear MrsHall2006 from Illinois, Thank you for taking the time to share how you enjoyed your recent stay with us, here at Candlewood Suites San Diego. We are centrally located in Mission Valley(10min or less) from the majority of local attractions and are location up on the hill usually ensures it is nice and quiet. I am delighted to hear... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question