We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows

#39 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
Hotel packages
2223 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92104
Offers & Announcements
Free Meatballs!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Add Photo Write a Review

601 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    318
    185
    47
    28
    23
See reviews for
197
125
34
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (601)
  • Mar-May only
    (150)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (210)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (143)
All months
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Rented the penthouse as a surprise for my girlfriends 30th Birthday, Nick and Meme were terrific in helping me set everything up. They participated and even gave me a blindfold so that that Nick the bell hop put on my girlfriend upon her arrival and escorted her to the room. I could have not asked for a better overall experience!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I chose to take a stay-cation here with my family on Sunday 7/26/2015…First off let me say Thank You to MeMe over at the front desk, she was amazing and her customer service was impeccable…The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows are very very lucky to have her on board with them! Don't be fooled by the location and outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gig Harbor, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visiting San Diego while getting my daughter ready for college - this seemed to be a fun place to stay. Very bad part of town. The room was on a very noisy street with screaming yelling all night on the street. The "pool" the supposedly highlight was a huge disappointment - open to the public the one day we went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David C, Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review

Hi Debra, Thanks for giving us a shot. We're truly disappointed to hear your feedback and wish your experience was a lot better. The neighborhood has experienced a tremendous improvement over the last 10 years and the surrounding areas continue to see gentrification. While some parts look like they could use some immediate renovation, we've had plenty of guests feel... More 

BURBANK
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I got a poolside cabin, which was lovely. Only problem was, it was at the head of the pool, where you get no outdoor patio area with chairs and a table. A minor setback, but still I was looking forward to opening the doors every morning and sitting directly outside of my room. Will specify a cabin to the side... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at this hotel the weekend of July 24-26, 2015 in a double queen size room. We had no idea what to expect....the reservations were made for us by a friend. The room itself was fine....nothing fancy but comfortable and clean, though the sheets kept gathering up! What we loved most was the energy of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David C, Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review

Dear Beverly, Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. We are happy that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the rich history of the Lafayette going back to the glory days of Hollywood. Speaking of glory days, thanks for mentioning our Weissmuller Pool. Many people don't know that... More 

Orange County, California
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Hotel has lots of history displayed at every turn. The Staff was always friendly and helpful. It's also very close to shopping, restaurants and beaches. The only disappointment was the service at the restaurant inside the Hotel. Also, the parking can be a challenge if the Hotel is at capacity. Overall, we had a fantastic vacation and are very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David C, Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review

Dear Julie, Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and our location was close enough for everything you wanted to do. We appreciate you recognizing our staff as well. Sorry we had a service lapse at our restaurant when you were there, there is no excuse for that,... More 

Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Really disappointed in our experience with the Lafayette. So much so that we checked out without staying. We reserved 4 nights in one of the "penthouses". After a long day of traveling, my husband and I waited until the 3pm check in time to ask for our room. We were told the room wasn't available yet - no problem, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David C, Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review

Hello Suzanne, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I apologize about your first experience with us. You bring up some very important points that I will share with the rest of the management team. We could have communicated these issues better so that there wasn't a big discrepancy between the hotel and your expectations. We're going... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is not near downtown, but the bus to downtown is right across the street. There are great places to eat within walking distance and it is close to the zoo. The pool is wonderful and the neighborhood is great for walking or running. The staff are exceptional in giving directions, helping suggest places to go and things to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David C, Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review

Dear Patricia Thanks for posting your review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, which included a swim in our famous Weissmuller Pool. In addition, you recognize that we are outside of downtown but close enough to the action; a bus of short taxi ride away. Also, we appreciate your shout-out for Meme! Our staff sincerely... More 

Somonauk, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I initially booked a Suze suite so my teenage son could have his own room. I quickly learned the room wasn't for me because I wanted a bigger room for my husband and me near the pool. When we told this to the front desk (thank you Meme) they IMMEDIATELY put us in a balcony room by the pool. It... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
David C, Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay, and thanks for the shout out for Meme. Our staff takes a lot of pride in their work and we appreciate you recognizing them. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Whittier, California
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second visit and it truly was great as the first visit was. We stayed in the penthouse suite and it was wonderful. My wife loved it as did my 1.5 year old who had plenty of room to run around. We will continue to stay at The Lafayette for our future visits.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David C, Manager at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your second stay with us; this time in our spacious and well appointed Penthouse Suites, with room for the little one to play :-) We look forward to seeing you and your family again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

804 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (179)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (49)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (23)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (15)
Viewed
Other (37)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (471)
Viewed
Amenities (70)
Viewed
Executive Double Queen Patio Suite (41)
Viewed
Manor Double Queen Room (21)
Viewed
Manor King ADA Room (21)
Viewed
Penthouse (44)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Poolside Double Queen Room (31)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)
Viewed
The Suze Suites (38)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Bungalow (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (154)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (73)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn Hotel
Kings Inn Hotel
#54 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,171 reviews
Sommerset Suites Hotel
#27 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
The Pearl Hotel
#12 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay