We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 269 San Diego hotels

Marina Inn and Suites

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1943 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Marina Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Marina Inn and  Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
  • Reviews (284)
  • Photos (34)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (39)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    107
    54
    14
    36
See reviews for
46
96
36
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I decided to book here after reading the good reviews other customers left about this place on tripadvisor but for the first them, TripAdvisor has let me down: check in July 27th 2014, check out July 28th 2014. 1. booking:I booked Queen room for 1 night 2 days prior to my trip using their official website. the price was $99/night.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room was clean and the place was not not so bad, good location too. BUT they take my 50$ deposit on my credit card even we left the room perfectly clean ! Really disappointing , even after talking with the manager by email , nothing !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 2 nights after the 4th of July weekend.Room was dirty, we had to run the maid down the next day to get our room cleaned.This was at 2:30 PM. Nowhere to park, people park in front of other people's cars, just a mess.Location is great, however that is all you get here ,location

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We love all feedback because it means an opportunity to grow. I am a little bit concerned about the comment you made about your room being dirty. We provide a welcome call to all of our guests, why when we called did you not mention... More

Las vegas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is always a nice and a comfy place to go stay in SD, the staff is GREAT!! Always very pleasant and willing to help with your needs and interests..i wish could have stay one day longer! But I will definetely recommend it and I will comeback on my next trip to SD!! Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It was so nice to see you again and thank you so much for taking the time to acknowledge us on TripAdvisor! Our staff really appreciate the compliment as they work so hard to provide the best customer service around. We love trying to cater to our every guest need and we love repeat guests. We can’t... More

Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Definitely value for money. Our flight was delayed from Honolulu so we didn't arrive at the motel till midnight. The staff at the front desk were really friendly and helped with directions to late night cafes and restaurants. This hotel is so close to the airport with free parking I would definitely recommend it for a 1 or 2 night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest. Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to write such a positive review. We love knowing our guests had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for mentioning how wonderful out staff is. I personally think they are the best around! Great customer service is a standard at all of our hotels. Thank... More

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

LISTEN AND LISTEN GOOD. There are only two kinds of people who stay at the Marina Inn and Suites: those who don't know any better and those who've been tricked by sites like Travelocity. I fell in the latter category. This past Fourth of July weekend, my husband and I booked a two-night stay at a hotel through Travelocity's mystery... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, First of all I would like to take this moment to thank you for writing your review. We appreciate any and all opportunity for growth within our company and hospitality service. I would like to also take this time to address some of your concerns. As an extra precaution for our guests we pay $400.00 a month... More

San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, great price. Super friendly service by Monica at the front desk! I had very specific needs and she was able to accommodate everything needed with a great smile Clean room with Bay \view. Definitely worth every penny

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We love knowing we make our guests happy. Thank you for pointing out the wonderful service provided by out staff member Monica, all of our staff are held to the highest standards when it comes to customer service. We try to accommodate all... More

Fullerton, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is excellent. Near the marina, two blocks from Little Italy and walking distance to the Gaslamp District. Free parking is a bonus! Older property but is very well maintained. I stayed on the 2nd story and the floor did creak so I don't know if the people staying below were disturbed or not. Refrigerators are only in some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We really appreciate the time you took out of your day to write this review. Thank you for mentioning our great location. We are located in the heart of Downtown which has access to so many wonderful things. If you bring your kids they would love Sea World or the San Diego Zoo. If you are traveling... More

Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Wonderful and relaxing place to get away for a few days. Staff was great, again. Room is comfortable, clean and surprisingly low noise level. Not much of a view to the back but the front window view is OK. Easy to get to waterfront & Little Italy. Price was very reasonable for being so close to the bay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear AS, First, we would like to thank you for taking time out of your day to come to Trip Advisor and write a review about our Marina Inn and Suites location. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much and appreciate that you recognize the hard work, effort and wonderful customer service that is provided by... More

Topeka, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I booked a night because of the loction and proximity to Hornblower's Harbor cruise. Less than 5 minute walk. Also short walking distance to Little Italy and waterfront sites. Our room (216) was clean and fresh the bed was firm and to be honest the only thing I would say one could complain about was the shower stall was somewhat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Marina Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Mr. MarkSolie, Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to write a review about our Marina Inn and Suites hotel. We are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the effort you took in noticing how clean our housekeeping staff keep the rooms at all times... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Marina Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Marina Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn and Suites

Address: 1943 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn and Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Marina Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn And Hotel San Diego
Marina Hotel San Diego
Marina Motel San Diego

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#86 Business Hotel in San Diego
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great location and friendly service! Just blocks from the Gaslamp, shopping, and San Diego Airport. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Free Breakfast, In-room coffee, Microwave and Refrigerator available, and Swimming Pool. Sea World and Zoo Savings Packages are available. Great value visit us soon! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
29

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer