We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 268 San Diego hotels

Declan Suites San Diego

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 A. Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Sheraton Suites San Diego) (Downtown)
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay More, Save More!
Save Saved
You added Declan Suites San Diego to your Saves list
Declan Suites San Diego
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
58%
Ranked #185 of 268 hotels in San Diego
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Danette S Elk Grove, California
  • Overview
  • Reviews (676)
  • Photos (131)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (106)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

676 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    237
    145
    90
    58
See reviews for
185
156
50
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

1) The hotel website advertised an indoor heated pool; but the pool was closed "for renovation." That was a terrible disappointment to our kids. 2) The room layout was absolutely bizarre: The TV was facing the door, so that you could barely see it from the couch. 3) The service was awful: There was no refrigerator in the room; and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The list is long but let's just start with the cleanliness, or lack thereof in the halls and rooms. I'm going to be generous and give them a rating of "disgusting". Stains everywhere on the carpet in the rooms and hallways, Stains on the walls, mold and mildew on the ceiling in the bathroom, scuff marks on the bathroom door... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just got off the phone with the hotel ONCE AGAIN! We stayed at this hotel on June 28th, 2014 for just one night. I realized when we arrived home that I left two blouses in the hotel closet. (We live in LA so we were not going to drive back 2 hours to pick them up.) We had some friends... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elk Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a great downtown hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are nice and very clean. Parking is pricey, but it's just a few minutes walk from the Gaslamp District. Will definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My partner and I are on a magnificent month-long road trip around the states from Australia. We needed a place to stay for one night in SD so I could fulfill my life-long desire to visit the famous Zoo (on a side note, Singapore and Taronga Zoo are better, but I digress). The location was ideal: $10 cab ride to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rancho Cucamonga, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here on July 19, 2014. The hotel is under construction, but it should be no excuse for the bad service they provided to us. Nothing on the lobby informed the guests that the hotel was under renovations. I am not hard to please when it comes to lodging, but this was one of my worst experiences at a hotel.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barstow, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

So, I was super excited to stay at this place . The room's on the web sight looked nice and the reviews were pretty much all good. The staff of the hotel were nice and very professional , the parking was outrageously priced at $35 a night. The lobby was updated and looked very nice and modern. The check in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ventura, Ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here in June. It was under construction and the pool and restaurant were closed. Our room was not clean as there was a dried on substance on the carpet and a dirty rag in the nightstand left by the cleaning crew. The ice machine on our floor was broken. The hotel felt dated and not well cared for. On... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lauren G, Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review

Hi SaraLovesCupcakes, Thank you for being our guest and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We apologize that we were unable to meet your needs throughout your stay and that we were currently wrapping up our renovation during your stay in June. We apologize that your car battery died in the parking garage but are glad that our team was attentive... More

Medina, Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I've stayed here a couple of times now. Nice overall. Some rooms have been remodeled, so obviously those are better. Lot's of room. Real suites almost like an urban apartment. I found a very good little Vietnamese Restaurant only a couple blocks down the hill.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lauren G, Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review

Hello OrygunDuck, Thank you for your recent stay at the Declan Suites and for sharing your positive experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the size of our suite style guest rooms met your expectations. We look forward to hosting you during your next trip to San Diego. More

Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a perfect stay at Declan Suites San Diego. The hotel was centrally located - just a few blocks from downtown and the Gaslamp Quarter. Our apartment was very nice, well appointed, with panoramic city view out of the bedroom window. The staff at the reception was polite and helpful - when we told them that our fridge was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lauren G, Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review

Hi EvgenyNN, Thank you for your recent stay at the Declan Suites and for sharing your positive experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed one of our spectacular views of San Diego, convenient location, and that our team met all of your needs. We look forward to hosting you during your next trip to San Diego. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Declan Suites San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Declan Suites San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Declan Suites San Diego

Address: 701 A. Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Sheraton Suites San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Declan Suites San Diego 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Declan Suites San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites San Diego Hotel San Diego
Sheraton Hotel San Diego
Sheraton San Diego
San Diego Sheraton

131 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (120)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Declan Suites San Diego offers a warm welcome on your next visit to San Diego. Our all-suite downtown San Diego hotel features all two room suites with some of the largest hotel rooms in the area. All of the two room suites feature a separate living area and pull out sofa. Our San Diego hotel is built around the San Diego Symphony Hall and is within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter, known for 16 blocks of amazing dining, shopping and entertainment. The Declan Suites San Diego is located minutes from the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Little Italy, Old Town, Petco Park and Sea World. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
264

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer