We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 270 San Diego hotels

Declan Suites San Diego

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 A. Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Sheraton Suites San Diego) (Downtown)
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 20% + Free WIFI !
Save Saved
You added Declan Suites San Diego to your Saves list
Declan Suites San Diego
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
56%
Ranked #200 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
roadwarar Winter Springs, Florida
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    246
    154
    102
    70
See reviews for
195
165
53
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel could be good but all the little issues we had here really added up quick. They fall short in every way! First of all the whole hotel had NO A/C!! The hallways and elevators were like 100 degrees and the lobby was just as bad. All our rooms stayed at 78-82 degrees the entire stay even when we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Bernardino, California, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

90 degrees in the hall; 90 degrees in the elevator; room AC output dropped temp to 80. Ick. We were given a suite with no doors. In a connecting room - but the lock on the connecting door is BROKEN & won't lock. Trying to go have dinner, but can't leave because "we can't move you, we"ll send maintenance." Maintenance... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hanover, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After initially seeing the room, we thought this was going to be a nice quick visit to San Diego, However the A/C was inadequate for the entire stay and was never addressed after several complaints. Restaurant Bar/Waitress service was awful, we left twice after not being acknowledged or served. Average wait for breakfast was 45 minutes. Eat/drink in the Gas... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winter Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Declan Suites during a business trip to San Diego. Hotel lobby is on the 12th floor (above the parking garage), requiring 1 set of elevators for street level and guest rooms and another for the parking garage. Strange. The lobby is very nice with new age amenities such as iPods docked on the desk of each registration... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
John A, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad that you enjoyed the offerings on our menu as it was recently redesigned to encompass the spirit of our remodeled lounge, we will be addressing the staffing concerns that you brought up as well. Have safe travels and that you again for posting here on Trip Advisor. More

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Love San Diego! But his hotel is a joke. The carpet is stained and disgusting. The staff has no idea what is going on. There are much nicer hotels in the area. As I plugged in my phone next to the bed I pulled the dresser out a little to access the plug and a huge ball of hair and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
John A, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review

We strive to provide to clean, comfortable and safe and you can look forward to that during your next visit to San Diego. We appreciate you taking the time to post about your experience, it is obvious we fell short of meeting your expectations and for that I apologize. If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail,... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I would NEVER stay here again. Showers were dirty, and poorly caulked. Looked very amateur. My room AC did not work and when I complained to front desk they tried to make me feel it was my fault that after three hours set on 60 it was 78 in the room. Couch in suite was broken and fridge was in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
John A, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I would welcome the opportunity to address your concerns as well as get further information regarding what room you were in so that I can immediately address the concern with our team. You can contact me directly at 619.819.6600 More

Spokane, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

messed up reservations 3 times, we were to get 3 rooms together, we were there for a wedding. we get checked in, parents get checked in and my sister inlaw, not on the same floor as promised. sister opens her door, the room is a mess, hadnt been cleaned from last guest, i went to lobby got another room.. same... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
John A, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review

Thank you for posting about your experience, it appears that that we have fallen short of delivering on the expectation and for that I am truly sorry. Feel free to contact me personally at 619.696.9800 if you would like to discuss you stay in further detail. We appreciate the time you have taken to alert us of this opportunity. More

Cleburne, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I thought I got a great deal, half off for two nights $179 was the price quoted. I got there and the first insult was $29 for self-parking. Then I get to the 12th floor for registration and was told my card would be run for almost $350, room plus tax plus $100 for "incidentals." I told them that wasn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
John A, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post about your experience, it is obvious we fell short of meeting your expectations and for that I apologize. We strive to provide to clean, comfortable and safe and you can look forward to that during your next visit to San Diego. If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail,... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My check in experience was great Torrie checked us in she was superb. She seemed to really care about the guest. However I went to the room it was filthy! Towels and trash all over the place. I had to move rooms twice.which made me question the cleanliness of the hotel. My husband and I went to the bar and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
John A, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased to hear that there were a few Associates who enhanced your time with us and I will be sure to provide the feedback to our housekeeping about the cleanliness of the room as well as the food & beverage team. We appreciate the great feedback and look forward to... More

Mokena, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights to attend a wedding. Mini-bar/fridge doesn't work. Hotel is in need of some updating. Room furnishings are outdated but adequate. Great view from our room. Within walking distance to Gaslamp District. Went to front desk to get a bottle of water & was told there wasn't any place to get one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
John A, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the great feedback. The views an definitely very good from our tower and you can see many of the great things to do in San Diego. Next time you visit San Diego, we are also very close to Balboa Park which is a wonderful place to see as well. Thank... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Declan Suites San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Declan Suites San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Declan Suites San Diego

Address: 701 A. Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Sheraton Suites San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Declan Suites San Diego 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Declan Suites San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites San Diego Hotel San Diego
Sheraton Hotel San Diego
Sheraton San Diego
San Diego Sheraton

131 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (122)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in San Diego with
any amenities